We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the potential to be so much better”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #2 of 1,094 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The exterior can use a good cleaning or facelift. Expect lots of local riff-raff on the weekends in the facility and restaurants...it can be a zoo. The rooms are nice but the beds are very firm and the king size ones are basically 2 mattresses side-by-side...so you can't sleep in the middle. The business center is non-existent...there is one, but never open. You have to ask. The concierge is poor for any else other than routine stuff. I tried to get a domestic plane ticket...FAIL. Reserved a ride to the airport the day before...the next morning no one seemed to know and there wasn't even a record of the reservation.
The local is very nice with nice jogging trails and routes around the lake. The pool and exercise facility are also very good. In the general the staff are competent. But it needs some serious management TLC if they expect to compete with other 5-star establishments.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
First and foremost , we like to apologize for the shortcomings that you highlighted.
On the exterior, lately it has been a challenge to maintain as there is constant rain, follow by heat and humidity, and then the typhoon , resulting the walls staining. We already have a plan in waiting to repaint the hotel exterior.
For the weekends, we do have tour groups from Hong Kong, and we try to reduce the riff-raff where possible.
On the beds, we do have King size bed options , apart from the joint-twins merging 2 beds into one. Please request for a room change and the team will glad to arrange
Sometimes we do close the business centre during low periods , it is not manned, however, there is a phone placed in front of the door to call the Assitant Manager if you need the service.
On your ticket booking case, we checked that the Concierge did manage did call some local agents to provide the air ticket , however, they needed local credit cards. On the hind sight, they should have paid out from the Front desk and re-charge your credit card instead. We will retrain our concierges on the flexibility. On your ride to the airport, our records show you did manage to take the car at 7.30 am. Probably there was some misunderstanding in your communication with some of the new staff.
Thank you for mentioning the jogging trails around the lake is nice, and so was the large Swimming pool and the fitness centre and that the general staff is competent.
We will reinforce our training to ensure there is more TLC given to all our guests to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your feedback and ensuring actions will be taken to improve the shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

nice hotel for staying on business trips, I was amazed by the swimming pool where I finally could relax on weekends. I felt like in Phuket (well, a litlle bit exaggerated...). Rooms are nice and clean, service is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are happy to note that you have equate us with Phuket Island of Thailand, which is really a paradise to a lot of people. Besides 2 large olympic-size swimming pools (one outdoor and the other indoor), we have very spacious rooms with many of the rooms facing the beautiful lake right in front of us. It exudes a very serene and tranquil feeling when looking at the lake from the balconies. We look forward to your coming back soon to enjoy the paradise feeling of the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I brought my family to have a weekend holiday in Sofitel Dongguan, Royal Lagoon. The lobby staff are friendly and able to speak English, and there are lot of foreigner staying in this hotel, this place is quiet. There is a big park beside this hotel, I think the good view and nice surrounding make this a plus to the hotel. My son and daughter really like the hotel, as the bed is soft and comfort for them. Room is clean and comfort. The hotel facility is quite complete, but we only use the big swimming. The breakfast is nice, with lot of variety, and the bread is really good, same quality like Europe. The western restaurant salad and food also really good taste. We have a good time and will come back again.

Room Tip: Pool view room is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityangel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your weekend holiday with us. The big park , the lake , the 2 huge swimming pools, the spacious rooms and the nice surroundings are really a hit among our regular guests both local and foreign, besides the many top quality food and beverages offerred by our 5 signature restaurants on top of the many recreational facilities. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great hotel, good location, good staff as well as the bar, the singer is good. However, the wifi signal is very very poor. We have the group more than 200 pax, we work together during the stay. But it's very difficulty to receive the wi fi as well as we are all here. I think it must improve.

Room Tip: facing the green course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond_Choi1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad to note that you were happy with the hotel, location, staff , the bar and the singer. On the issue of the WIFI, we had a heavy thunderstorm 2 weeks ago that destroyed the original high-capacity receiver which we have to temporarily replace with a limited one. This new receiver should be in by next week. While in the mean time if you do face some WIFI problems, our Assistant Manager is able to help by adding a router in your room. We look forward to your return soon. Thank you very much for giving us full points for this assessment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had one stay at this hotel. Very pleased with the services provided from the Front Desk to the Housekeeping staff. Enjoyed the Chinese Restaurant meals in the hotel. Very good hospitality extended to us from the front desk to the housekeeping. Amenities provided were of such good quality - Occitane.

Room Tip: My suite room was facing the greenery and it was very refreshing to sit at the balcony and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are happy to note that you were very pleased with the services from the Front Desk , the Housekeeping and the Chinese restaurant. It reflects the success of our Sofitel motto of serving the guests with all our hearts. We are also glad to note that you were happy with our high quality amenities which reflects the Sofitel DNA in luxury. We look forward to your return soon to experience the many other aspects of the hotel such as the 4 other established well-known signature-restaurants within the compound serving very good tasty food, the park around the serene lake in front of the hotel, the large outdoor swimming pool, the spa, the golf course and so on. Thank you and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Superb staff attentiveness and responsiveness. Main restaurant could improve the biffet dinner food quality; breakfast is good. Other restaurant in the property are good; in particular the Japanese and Bistro. Common areas are pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank masiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. It is indeed great to hear from you about our staffs' superb attentiveness and responsiveness. It is truly a success in our efforts to train our staff following the Sofitel motto of Serving our Guests with all our hearts. On your suggestion, we will look into the buffet dinner food quality but it was good to know you mentioned that our Breakfasts is good , together with the Japanese restaurant and the Garden Bistro French/ Italian restaurant. Our resort is very convenient to food connoisiers who are looking for varieties as we have 5 signature restaurants to choose from, and many of our long-stay guests prefer to stay here due to the variety of food choices, besides the 3 mentioned earlier, we also have the Chinese and the reputable Brazilian BBQ restaurant. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Quiet place to stay but away from city centre. You need a taxi for your travels. Long walks inside the hotel.

When I was checking out and I was trying to extend it - it did not work - except for a triple rate.

I had my booking from US so I could not extend it due to time difference but for them it was a no no. Triple rate or nothing.

I chose to check out and spend the next 10 nights in another hotel. The reply I got to this was absurd. In their mathematics it is better to kick out the guest and keep the room empty instead of extending one night with the previous rate.

Really left me with a bad taste from this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaHLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. The hotel is a Resort which is just 15 minutes away from the city center, so close to the city, and yet it has all the qualities of a resort sitting on top a tree-covered hill facing the lake and a beautiful park surrounding it. We are sorry to hear about the rate dispute at the Front Desk. It is true we do have a special rate structure with certain overseas websites but with conditions of prepayment and inflexible dates guaranty. If flexible dates are requested the rate structure varies depending on the supply and demand of the day/ period. The Front desk staff , perhaps, have applied too firmly on the rate of the day due probably to some past abuses by other parties on the low-rate pricing scale. We definitely should be flexible on your case. Please do not hesitate to call the Assistant Manager or the Front Office Manager who will make a better decision should you have any pricing issues in future. We sincerely look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,094 in Dongguan
595 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,094 in Dongguan
99 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,094 in Dongguan
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#7 of 1,094 in Dongguan
106 reviews
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#10 of 1,094 in Dongguan
393 reviews
9.6 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#12 of 1,094 in Dongguan
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#5 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: £55 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing