We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #2 of 1,087 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is top notch. Our room was gigantic and completely luxurious, overlooking the gorgeous outdoor pool. The staff are insanely helpful and the hotel has tons of amenities (indoor/outdoor pool, games rooms, restaurants, lobby pianist, lake, work out room, etc.) The breakfast was impressive, although due to a lack of guests, lots of the food was cold. My one recommendation is that you think twice before eating at the Brazilian Restaurant because it is way over priced and the food is very mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank megan-woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for the generous high score on TripAdvisor. Indeed, there are plenty to do and relax for a weekend getaway here. I'm glad that you have enjoyed. Next time you visit, I hope that our new executive chef will be on board to add new life into our food offering to you and your friends.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I love this hotel. It is a really nice place to stay on business. the rooms are nice and colonial and the views are stunning. the breakfast is great. The only downside is the hotel is low-rise so everything is a little bit of a walk. The views are spectacular and the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts or you could find yourself walking a good 10 minutes to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tin_Tin_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for a great review and great score. Indeed, Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon is the Jewel of Dongguan. But I like the word "Oasis" you put it too! Indeed, we're surrounded by greenery, lake, garden, and even friendly peacocks roaming freely around the resort. If you didn't see them this time, ask for them in your next visit.

If you'd send me your room preference to be non-too-far from lobby, I could have it entered into your guest profile for closer room assignment in future.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Email: gm@rlagoon-dg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A good, modern and fresh hotel. I spent three nights here in December but didn't see a great deal of the hotel itself as we were out most the time. The room (ours was a suite) was lovely, big and with a great view of the pool, a bathroom and a guest toilet and a big - but unusually hard - bed. Having said that, I slept well in it, but that could be due to me a) being knackered and b) drinking quite a lot of red wine before I got into it. The lobby bar prices were not extreme and there was free wifi throughout. The spa and gym area looked lovely, but I did not have time to use it. I do know that they would have wanted me to pay about ¥100 to use the sauna or steam room though, which seemed a bit steep. There is also an indoor pool, but again no time...

Breakfast was the usual Chinese/Western mix but it was good. Geographically, it is out on a golf course with nothing else to speak of around. But, stuff is not far away in a taxi. The staff are polite and helpful and generally speak good English. It's a nice place to relax (if you have time) and feels like a good business hotel too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukicat5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear sukicat, thanks for staying with us and spending time to share your recent stay experience. We are glad that you have some positive comments about Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon and recommend for leisure travel and business trip.
Hotel spacious suite starts from 70 square meters offering nice bath amenities with the stunning lake view. All guest rooms provide signature Sofitel MyBed which is designed based on body mechanics to create the best condition for sleeping. However, if you still feel hard, our housekeeping is at your service to add the extra soft mattress for you.
As you mentioned, hotel public area including lobby bar offers free WiFi providing the exquisite simple meals and drinks for relaxing and social gathering. Meanwhile, our Royal Spa provides a series of treatments in order to let you get away from hustle and bustle and enjoy the extreme relax. But in-house guests can enjoy free access to sauna or steam in fitness center by their room keys. Please allow me to recommend all the above facilities and relaxing items which you do not have time to enjoy this time for your next visit. In addition, golfing would be a good choice for relaxing after busy life with advance reservation. Free shuttle bus will be available between Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon and Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort in the fixed schedule. On top of this, thank you for speaking highly of our ambassadors, which gives us great encouragement to move forward.
We look forward to welcoming you soon and we believe staying at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon will be the highlight of your Dongguan journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I feel a bit mean writing a negative review of this hotel but it really needs some TLC, such a shame as the setting is beautiful and building quite interesting.
There is so much in the way of facilities such as the 2 beautiful pools but it is so badly let down by the filthy windows in the main lobby, peeling paint and general decay beyond the main public areas.
The service is terrible, again I feel mean writing this but no one speaks English properly which is critical when servicing all the international business travelers that use it as a base.
You feel like they are trying so hard but you get the sense that no one working there has had any training in there hotel sector whatsoever. The pool attendant was spitting in the flower bushes, the luggage boy a vanishing act. Faulty Towers describes it quite accurately.
The bedroom was very nice, it felt like a bit of an oasis from the mess of the corridor, bed like a rock but it was acceptable. The room attendant knocked on the door to change a light bulb and let herself straight in without my reply, I could have been stark naked but it didn't seem to occur to them?
Internet is terrible be warned but I think it's just not great in China as a rule.
I won't go on but as you might be able to tell I was disappointed, perhaps Hong Kong has spoilt us but they could learn a lot from their neighbors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your comments of your recent stay with us.
First and foremost, with regards to the externals,we will be executing a repainting of the whole hotel facade soon, however, as it involves a major excercise that may interupt our hotel guests' comfort, we will do it during the low season to reduce complaints and inconveniences to our hotel guests. We are still in a very peak season currently with the International Canton Fair going-on.

English levels spoken in any foreign country will be different from the native United Kingdom , while some English speakers may be speaking in very strong accents that the staff may fail to understand, however, we will definitely increase our training to ensure our staff are able to reach an acceptable comprehensive level.We can assure you that most of our international guests, which is a very high content here at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, are regular visitors for the last 10 years , they are able to communicate and get what they need basically. We will continue to enhance their English training to cater to individual needs.

Of late, we have been very busy with high occupancies with large VIP groups coming at the same time, which, probably resulted in the "vanishing acts" of the luggage boys and we like to reassure you that these are one-off cases and despite the temporary absence of the bell-boys, our Chief Concierge will always be manning the Concierge table to assist the guests, and please be assured that Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon is no "Faulty Towers".

Thank you for mentioning that the bedroom was very nice. If you need to soften the bed, we can do so, and please do not hesitate to dial our housekeeping services.

We checked that the room attendant that she did knock on the door 3 times as per our standard procedure, however, there may be a possibility that the noise within the room may have drowned out the sound. We advise our guests to chain up their room if extremen privacy is required.

Once again, thank you for bringing these issues up to our attention and for the opportunity of addressing each area. While the Hong Kong and overseas hotel industry have been around for some time, given enough time, we are sure that the China hotels will be able to catch up and may surpass them soon like in the many other areas that China was lagging in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The exterior can use a good cleaning or facelift. Expect lots of local riff-raff on the weekends in the facility and restaurants...it can be a zoo. The rooms are nice but the beds are very firm and the king size ones are basically 2 mattresses side-by-side...so you can't sleep in the middle. The business center is non-existent...there is one, but never open. You have to ask. The concierge is poor for any else other than routine stuff. I tried to get a domestic plane ticket...FAIL. Reserved a ride to the airport the day before...the next morning no one seemed to know and there wasn't even a record of the reservation.
The local is very nice with nice jogging trails and routes around the lake. The pool and exercise facility are also very good. In the general the staff are competent. But it needs some serious management TLC if they expect to compete with other 5-star establishments.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
First and foremost , we like to apologize for the shortcomings that you highlighted.
On the exterior, lately it has been a challenge to maintain as there is constant rain, follow by heat and humidity, and then the typhoon , resulting the walls staining. We already have a plan in waiting to repaint the hotel exterior.
For the weekends, we do have tour groups from Hong Kong, and we try to reduce the riff-raff where possible.
On the beds, we do have King size bed options , apart from the joint-twins merging 2 beds into one. Please request for a room change and the team will glad to arrange
Sometimes we do close the business centre during low periods , it is not manned, however, there is a phone placed in front of the door to call the Assitant Manager if you need the service.
On your ticket booking case, we checked that the Concierge did manage did call some local agents to provide the air ticket , however, they needed local credit cards. On the hind sight, they should have paid out from the Front desk and re-charge your credit card instead. We will retrain our concierges on the flexibility. On your ride to the airport, our records show you did manage to take the car at 7.30 am. Probably there was some misunderstanding in your communication with some of the new staff.
Thank you for mentioning the jogging trails around the lake is nice, and so was the large Swimming pool and the fitness centre and that the general staff is competent.
We will reinforce our training to ensure there is more TLC given to all our guests to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your feedback and ensuring actions will be taken to improve the shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,087 in Dongguan
591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,087 in Dongguan
99 reviews
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,087 in Dongguan
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,087 in Dongguan
720 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#7 of 1,087 in Dongguan
104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: £57 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing