We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price with excellent services”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #1 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good price with excellent services”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice atmosphere and v good services.
Plat. Member but as usual in china, doesn't offered a lot of privileges even top tier level.
Good for relax or for a weekend. Another Sofitel beside this hotel actually similar but cheaper... Not sure why.

Room Tip: Another Sofitel beside this hotel actually similar but cheaper... Not sure why
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syn8278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I’m pleased to learn about your positive experience with Sofitel Royal Lagoon Dongguan! Indeed, it’s a great getaway to relax after a week of hard work. I’m glad that you feel the same. The other Sofitel DG Golf Resort has only 133 well-appointed guestrooms. Some guests really love the guestrooms there, but Royal Lagoon has more facilities to offer as a whole. Nonetheless, both resorts are well connected by shuttles. Hopefully, you would find at least one of them closer to your heart.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    169
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
35
27
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

....amazing value for money, comfort and service form Sofitel Dongguan (recommend joining Le Club Accorhotels - good discounts!). My 3rd stay here and certainly won't be my last. Despite the hotel being fantastc on its own merits anyway, I especially recommend it to anyone travelling to Dongguan for business or lesuire who want away from the hotels with the large KTV's....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Richard,

I’m most delighted to have you back with us and learn that you had a wonderful time again! Thank you for the full score. Your kind compliments are great encouragement to my team. I can’t agree with you more that no matter it’s for business or leisure, many travellers would opt for our resort. Not only for the beautiful ambience but also safety especially for female travelers as we've never had those KTVs in our core business. As the relatively new General Manager here, I'm working closely with my team to fine tuning our products and services in hope the small touches would delight you further.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we are in Dongguan either on business or holidays, we always stay here (after having mixed results with other local hotels) & have never had even the slightest issue, it's always immaculately clean, accommodation if first class, food is amazing, 2 swimming pools the outdoor one is huge, all the staff are extremely accommodating & will always treat you with the upmost respect & a smile. The local golf courses are also fantastic & a great escape for when my wife & daughters want to pop into town to do some shopping, (I recommend you use either your own driver or the hotel booked taxis) over all this hotel offers fantastic service in every department, it's also fantastic value & after coming here regularly for nearly 5 years I would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: As in every hotel, you'll always get better service by asking the staff members name & using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asitis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Much appreciated the Magnifique sharing of your stay with us. It's with great honor to share your appreciation and compliments to my teams who have been serving you in the past five years. Such recognition is priceless and will continue to give us strength to carry on with our Sofitel Cousu Main Service, and create more Magnifique stays for you and other guests in time to come. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

after arriving at Dongguan station from HK late at high, the ride to the hotel was not helping in raising confidence in the place but when we arrived at the hotel I was very pleasantly suprised. it's a beautiful location among a forest and golf courses (and fresh air..).

Beautiful location, very luxury rooms (never had such a big bed in my life) and overall quality of the accomodation is super. Bath was fantastic,

Did have some issues with WiFi but all my collegues were OK so must have been my machine. They were not able to help me @ the hotel.

We had dinner at the brazillian restaurant and the food was OK, beer excellent and the staff very helpfull. Also had buffet one night and although not bad (and lot's of options) the taste was a bit bland.
Breakfast very good, lot of options and fresh stuff
Gym too small, had to queue for treadmill all days
Indoor Pool excellent (not clearly signposted but good facilities). Outdoor pool looked amazing but did not have time to try it..

The place is in the middle of a large park (where you can also walk around). I noticed peacocks around the place every morning which I thought was very relaxing..

I loved the bar and the band that was playing, those ladies rocked ! really; go there for a night of fun

Transfers seem a bit expensive but quality of cars and drivers was OK.

Would recommend and will visit again

Room Tip: for nice view, get room on golf course side of the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for recognizing Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon on this website! I’m most delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful trip with us in this “Jewel of Dongguan” with Sofitel’s most nostalgic French touches. The ambassadors on the bar are passionate hoteliers and I will ensure your feedback will reach them. I'm positive they will be very proud of hearing about your kind compliment as well as the band. We’ll work on those imperfections in time to come.
We look forward to serving you soon again!
Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is still of the same quality. However, the popularity is much less important since Dongguan has suffered from the last serious anti-vice operations by the police. It's bad news!!!

Poor Dongguan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ken113an201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your generous full score! I’m very glad that our hotel is always your first choice while you are in Dongguan City. As you mentioned the negative exposure about Dongguan, we are also studying the long term effects. However, the bright side of the story is that many travellers would still opt for our hotel not just because of the beautiful ambience but safety, since our resort has never had those notorious KTV attached. We look forward to serving you again whenever you are in the city.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,070 in Dongguan
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,070 in Dongguan
385 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
#17 of 1,070 in Dongguan
170 reviews
15.5 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Property: TANGLA Dongguan
Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#1 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing