We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Ranked #10 of 1,085 Hotels in Dongguan
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of November. Still very impressive since my stay a year ago. The staff lack English and would be the only downer. Coffee shop is one of the best. Variety of food is exceptional. The Hotel guest rooms and facilities are excellent and it is a well run hotel. Shall be back for sure

Room Tip: Lake facing gives you a great view- ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beijingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. As the Flagship Shop of the Sangem International Hotel Management Limited, to provide the attentive service for our guest always is the pursuit of our goal of all my companion. We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us. We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Goodview Tangxia,Dongguan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is out of this world and has to seen to be believed. It actually is more of a resort than your regular hotels. Firstly, the entrance is majestic, the staff always great you with a friendly "hello" and smile. When it come to getting your room, you can stay in the main block or you may want to stay at the on of the rooms that look out at the moat, thats right folks!!....there is a moat that surrounds most of different apartment style blocks. I cannot describe how big this place is...seeing is believing....

Now if thats not enough then a little nightly excursion to the hotel nightclub will have you gasping, its about the size of a cricket oval, its a bit expensive but certainly worth a look. And theres more.......
The pool, spa and sauna facilities are out of an old Roman movie, you feel like Caesar, all thats missing are the roman goddesses!!! Now if you dont like swimming then you may want, just lie in the massage pool or maybe the herbal pool, but if you really fancy something different then dip you toes into the flesh eating fish....its great...but not for the ticklish.

There is not much around, although you can pick up a great meal and cheap near where the staff hotel is. If you want more then just hop on the shuttle bus a go into the main township where you'll find just about everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan.. It’s delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We are always striving to provide our guests with a home away from home feeling. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have been to goodview for 3 times. The first two times gave me a good experience.

However, I went there again in 1Jul and it was super crowded (it is crowded everywhere in China though, but the previous two stays gave me a good impression). I went there at 1:00pm and I have got to wait for another 1.5 hours to check in although I have asked for early check in in advance.

The swimming pool was worse then it used to be. Got quite a lot of flies on the water and you would see trashes at the bottom of the sea.

The room was nice (as it used to be), but my girlfriend and I got bitten by flea!! My girlfriend was then sick in the next morning. What made her feel worse was the very "Chinese style breakfast buffet". It was like playing american football when you wanted to get some food.

Goodview shall spend more effort on facilities maintainace and cleaning in order to keep its reputation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. We are very sorry for the inconvenience which you had during your stay.
Your valuable comments are immediately reported and viewed with utmost importance by the hotel management and relevant department heads, the action had taken and look into this matter very seriously; the necessary communication has made with agreement with related departments and immediately will take action.Actually our check-in time is 14:00, but we do apologize, if you had to get your room. The hotel will pay more attention to swimming pool facility and will fix it. We will confirm to HSKP floor attendance to check room after make up and make sure are suitable. We have confirmed to F/B department head, and will pay attention during choose buffet selection. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss further.
We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Goodview Tangxia,Dongguan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Goodview hotel is a really nice big resort style hotel with nice facilities for the family. Staff are polite and the food is great. While not quite the international standard but generous with what the nitty gritty things it provides. Also, the hotel seems to think that as long as they throw all expensive looking materials together it would mean designer looking quality but alas not so.

But it is nice enough. I stayed at the main building which seems to be the older wing but it is still good. Wifi is free at the lobby and rooms are provided with ethernet. You can request for a wifi router for your room. Wing 5 will have balcony with gates that will allow you to jump straight into the pool. There are kids play rooms, recreation centres, different restaurants, ktv and others. It is all very nice indeed.

However, while I was wow-ed by the many things it provides the bed is rock hard and i mean it literally. An intended 5/5 rating from me dropped straight to 3/5.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, We would like to say thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. We truly value your comments as it is from guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. We take our guest’s feedback very seriously.
We have already added some baby beds, so please remark it on your next reservation, and then we could arrange it in advance for you. We would like confirm you as we always bring new facilities for guest ,so you can enjoy free Wi-Fi very guest room in hotel.
If there is any further request, please don't hesitate to contact with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Goodview hotel, Tangxia,Dongguan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is not a hotel, it's a resort! I have stayed at the Marriott Resort in Phuket and the Ritz Carlton (now Ayana) in Bali. This property is up nearly up there (except it's not a beach resort) with them and about 1/3 the price.

This resort is located next to a lake. It has a mixed of accommodation spread all across the huge property ranging from rooms to luxury Villas.

The room may be in need of a bit of makeover but bathroom was great and the facilities great. The pool stretches all over the resort and there are kilometres of it I would guess, There is even a shooting range, a basketball court, tennis court and water playground for the children. There is even a shoe shining machine outside the men's toilet in the lobby!

On the lake, you can hire a boathouse and it appears you can dine on board.

The resort has restaurants, a large Vegas styled entertainment complex and spa.

We asked one of the staff to take us on a tour of the resort on the golf buggy and it was impressive.

We had breakfast in a restaurant overlooking the lake. The buffet was adequate but quality was not something to write home about.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are connected to the pool. One type of room has the pool in front of the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan.. It’s delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We are always striving to provide our guests with a home away from home feeling. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Standing in long line for breakfast... Sitting in corridor provisional tables for dinner... Noisy, busy and stressed for eating there.... Worst, most tables are for smoking people (just a few tables at the back reserved for non-smokers).
Swimming pool is nice in shape, yet almost all of it is far too shallow - just 1.00-1.20m (to save water).
Bottom line - good for locals. Not good place for who cherishes International standards. Locals don't care for congestion, noise, standing in long lines and smoke. Most of them can't swim anyhow... And when there is sun outside - all hide in their rooms and ...sleep

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank now1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. we are very sorry for the inconvenience which you had during your stay.
We truly value your comments as it is from guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. We take our guest’s feedback very seriously.
We will transfer your valuable comment to department head and immediately they will take action. We have already open other restaurant on busy period, so next time you will face this problem and please while you making reservation for your meal please conform us in advance which kind of table your want. The hotel will pay more attention to the poolside building and to check the facilities and fix it.
If there is any further request, please don't hesitate to contact with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Goodview hotel, Tangxia,Dongguan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is amazing for the swimming - lover, except the swimming pool, there is a castle in the pool, kids will have much fun

Their rooms are nice, everything are prefect.... only disappointed thing is I can't have my room at 2:00pm since the room is not ready.. ppl was check-out already but less labour for cleaning up, they pass the key to us at 2pm, but we found the room was dirty until 4pm...

We haven't go anywhere after dinner since we don't know where should we go....

I think I will be there again if i have a kid

Room Tip: Pls be reminded to have the room which can be access to pool directly from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
6.8 mi away
Good View Hotel Sangem
Good View Hotel Sangem
#57 of 1,085 in Dongguan
173 reviews
14.2 mi away
Goodview Hotel Qiaotou
Goodview Hotel Qiaotou
#421 of 1,085 in Dongguan
95 reviews
21.6 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,085 in Dongguan
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,085 in Dongguan
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Metropolitan Yiking Hotel
Metropolitan Yiking Hotel
#69 of 1,085 in Dongguan
53 reviews
26.6 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,085 in Dongguan
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodview Hotel Tangxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodview Hotel Tangxia

Address: Entrance of Longlin Highway, Yingbin Avenue, Tangxia Zhen, Dongguan 523710, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dongguan
#5 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: £77 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodview Hotel Tangxia 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Goodview Hotel Tangxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodview Hotel Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing