We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but the food is very expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Ranked #2 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
cjgator
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok but the food is very expensive!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

overall the hotel is nice. 3-4 star. The biggest issue i had was the cost of the food. Just double your room rate if you plan to eat at the hotel. Also the rooms are very far apart with a drafting smell in the hallways. Lastly it is somewhat far out of the downtown area in a high construction area.

Room Tip: The breakfast is 100rmb to add to your hotel room at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    221
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
24
14
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I organized a two days meeting at this property. Excellent service. The staff is very professional, good English and friendly. The location is very nice on the border if a lake. I enjoyed the pool and spa. Definitely a good address for a meeting. Just make sure your company is not too dat from the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCALA, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights , April 2014. Always very clean , good service, good food. The rooms on the executive floors include cooked breakfast, snacks and drinks in the afternoon, balconys overlooking the lake, etc. The indoor pool is very large, 25 meter with hot and cold plunge pools and I believe they also have a outdoor pool. They have a very good steak house [ for China ] but very expensive .Free wi-fi, nice rooms, very modern.. When visiting Dongguan this is the place to stay

Room Tip: executive floors, very quiet, perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROADBIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Like many who travel to Donguuan I was here for work. This was my first trip to China and I was very pleased with this is a beautiful hotel located on Songshan Lake. Rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable with all the amenities you need. The gym opens nice and early so the jet lagged business travelers can wake up and get some exercise in before a long day. The breakfast buffet is huge with a wide range of western breakfast as well as traditional Chinese. The path around the lake was pleasant for a quick walk or run. The Lychee Bar downstairs is a great little place for drinks and appetizers and even had some great live entertainment that sang for us even though we were the only ones in the bar one night.

Overall a wonderful experience and relaxing place to retire to after long days of work. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber92056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was my second time, still very good. In the past, there was a direct coach from HK to Hyatt but it was ceased. Anyway, it is still easy to go. I booked directly from the Hotel, the Gold Passport is useful and the service from booking to on-site all kind of services are both wonderful. You are always greeted.
The food, especially the goose is perfect, must try.
Just disappointed me was the free bicycle, only one hour for a room.
You will find that there are a plaza near the resort with a big supermarket, cinema and many restaurants inside. You can rent bicycle everywhere nearby or just walk around the lake. Very good view and relax. With so many things there, you won't be bored and satisfy all shopping, relaxing, eating, exercising needs and wants. I must be back.

Room Tip: Lake view room, Romantic and tranquil. Room service for wine and goose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memeggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It is not easy to characterize this hotel. It is neither good for business travelers nor good for those seeking a quiet relaxing holiday. The hotel was originally designed as a resort, set a good distance away from the main road and is right next to a lake. However, the standard of the service is really not up to scratch to make it a relaxing and pampered holiday of the sort that you can take for granted in, say, Thailand. On the other hand, the business traveler will be frustrated by the long corridors, the small working desk in the room and the leisureliness at the ridiculous small elbow-to-elbow check-in counter.

The room itself is acceptable, dated but clean, with a nice balcony. The fine dining Chinese restaurant is excellent. The Tea House, which serves quite good regional Chinese food, is noisy and steamy because of the hard floors, reverberant acoustics, the open kitchens and the boisterous clientele..

However, the Achilles heel of the hotel is the coffee shop. As hotel guests are likely to eat here, they need to be warned. The executive chef is most successful on paper - attracting a full house of Chinese customers and charging 400 RMB for dinner to eat food that normally costs 40RMB.

At breakfast for example, rather than offering smoked salmon (probably de rigeur in all the Hyatts in Asia) for the international traveler, and cooked salmon (for the Japanese), dozens of fish heads are offered instead.

The coffee shop is also so desperately understaffed that I make more visits to clear my plates than to visit the buffet counter.

There is a token selection of cereals and yoghurts at breakfast, but no spoons are provided. When told about this, the executive chef still would not provide spoons. Another hotel guest commented, "This is China, what do you expect?" I have stayed in other hotels in China that are a lot better. The arrogance and rudeness of the executive chef at this Hyatt cast shame on 1.3 billion people in China.

Why does he need to improve when the locals flock here? I am afraid when people in Dongguan start to travel abroad they will come to realize that this place is not worthy of the Hyatt name.

I hasten to add that the problem is all in the management. I have no criticism of the front line staff.

Room Tip: You can choose a room with a lake view if you pay a little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Cheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I come to Dongguan almost every year to spend time with my family, even though I don't stay at the hotel, I visit the Chinese restaurant in the hotel when I do come.

The food at hyatt, especially the Chinese restaurant, is absolutely delicious and authentic. The restaurant is spacious, elegant, and clean. It even has private dining rooms for bigger parties. The service is impeccable.

I also visited the spa "Song" this trip. There was a special promotion for the aromatherapy massage so I booked it, along with a mani and pedi. The massage was impressive. I tonight it would be closer to traditional Chinese massage (typically deep tissue and quote painful) but the massage therapist was so well trained I fell asleep (and I get massage at least twice month in the US). The mani and pedi, however, were not as good. It was great that they could do them in the same treatment room
As my massage (which was beautiful by the way), but the lighting was so dim, the manicurists had hard time seeing! I definitely recommend massage at this hotel, but you could skip the mani pedi.

All in all, friendly and professional service. I'd definitely visit the spa again and maybe use their giant indoor pool.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lestat529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,070 in Dongguan
481 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,070 in Dongguan
83 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#8 of 1,070 in Dongguan
384 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,070 in Dongguan
716 reviews
9.5 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dongguan

Property: Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Address: Qinyuan Road, Songshan Lake Central District, Science and Technology Industrial Park, Dongguan 523808, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dongguan
#1 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#2 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#19 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dongguan Hotel Dongguan
Hyatt Dongguan
Dongguan Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing