We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$104
Pullman
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li Yi Hotel(Dongguan)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TANGLA Dongguan(Dongguan)
US$95
US$73
Trip.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$51
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Spa
US$54
US$41
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$128
Trip.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
63
61
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
61
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hotelfront deskbalconyoasisgolf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Even though its slightly up high and not so much convenient, but it just about 15 drive down to the town area, and location of the hotel is good with clean air and greenery surrounding. Spacious room and toilet as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort. Yes, it is indeed true that we are not located at the noisy city center where all the hotels are located. We are actually just 15 minutes drive away from it where we are more than a city hotel, we are actually a Resort hotel, located right in the midst of a private golf course, surrounded by greeneries, clean air , peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, ideal for a de-stressing weekend of relaxation. Our rooms and toilets are indeed spacious and every room is 45m2 in size, the price variances are only the room views comprising golf , lake, front and garden views. We look forward to your return to this serene and tranquil resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Despite the hotel was a bit old, the staff were nice. However, there was only two staff at the reception (on the third floor) responsible for both check-in & out! The Chinese restaurant was okay but the choice of food was not enough. Not many patrons at the cafe on the first floor except during breakfast. The outdoor pool was suitable for family fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feigou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. Thanks for your motivating words about our staff being nice. They have all been trained to serve our guests with all their hearts. The staffing levels in the hotel are arranged based on the peak and non-peak hours of checkin and checkout. Our Chinese restaurant is actually Chow-Chiu style which is a specialized typical Nothern Cantonese food but you can request for food out of the Specialized menu based on the availablity of ingredients. We also have a Cantonese restaurant based at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon which is 10 minutes away, which has more Cantonese cuisine varieties versus the Chiu Chow restaurant. As the hotel is a golf resort, most of the guests would take their breakfasts in the morning at the hotel's Poolside Cafe, and once they start their golfing game at the Hillview Golf Club 5 minutes away nearby, their lunch is usually taken at the Golf Club itself. The hotel does have a very beautiful swimming pool suitable for both business and leisure guests. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've been to Dongguan serveral times by now and almost always stayed at the Sofitel Golf Resort. The atmosphere is very nice, quiet and friendly. I especially enjoy the service staff with their commitment to helpfulness and courteousness. As a foreign guest I can rely on their assistance in every possible situation, which is important to me.
The rooms are very well equipped, clean and have a generous size. I can definitely recommend the restaurant (Pool Side Café) which serves tasty food in a lovely ambiance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank floroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. It is true that our hotel's atmosphere is uniquely located right in the midst of a the golf course, all rooms with balconies facing the greens where you can sit and watch the golfers quietly passing by in their game. Thank you for emphasizing the service standard of our staff who have all been trained to serve our guests with all their hearts. They are always on standby to offer any help needed by both local and foreign guests.
All our rooms are spacious at 45m2, and located away from the noisy town centre and yet just 10 minutes away by car if needed to go the famous Dongguan bar street. The hotel also provides free bus shuttle between the town centre and also between the 2 Sofitels located just 10 minutes from each other.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and enjoy the serenity the golf resort brings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and it's a pretty consistent experience. The rooms are fairly nice- a bit tired maybe and you can tell they struggle with keeping the shower mold-free, but all in all it's a comfortable, clean hotel at a really reasonable rate. The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is pretty good. Let's say this- it's meh by western standards, but awesome by Chinese standards. The best part in my opinion is the setting. It's set in a golf course & park area, well away from the noise & grime of Dongguan. Think birds & grass, not horns & trash. It is a hike from the city center, so depending on where your business is during the day, you may be in for a long ride to the hotel, depending on traffic. Wifi is free in the lobby, and sometimes you can get a signal in your room, sometimes not. Wired internet is available in-room. A word to the wise- for some reason Dongguan cab drivers will frequently not know where the place is. Grab the card from the front desk to show the driver, and if that doesn't work, swinging an imaginary golf club usually does. All in all this is a good place to stay, and I certainly will again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. We are glad to note that you are happy with the hotel room and shower (we are actually doing a minor renovation of all the rooms currently cleaning up the mold-like color which is actually developing from the tiles within, more of a stone discolorization than actually molding), the comfort and especially the value-for-money from its 45 m2 ample room size.The beds are matted with Sofitel My-Bed standards, and the breakfast is Sofitel's well-known De-lite creation, a combination of great tasting bread and cheese and international rituals combined with healthy detox juices, skimmed milk, plenty of fruit and serial choices to start your day.
We are right in the middle of a golf course away from the hustle and bustle of the city and yet close to the city with just a 15 minutes drive if a noisy-venture is required. The location actually hears birds singing surrounded by green grasses and water ponds. Wifi and internet is free in the whole hotel and if you have problems with the signal, please do call up the Assistant Manager who will assist you in adding a router in your room.If you do have problems with taxi recognizing the place the next time, beside the taxi card available at our concierge, just mention "Suo-Fei-Te Feng-Jing Jiu-Dian" and there is high likelihood he will not miss the place. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews