We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan
Ranked #12 of 1,077 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good Hotel, very quite, good food at breakfast and dinner. Staffs very polite and helpful
However the Carpet is need to have a good wash and the room need to be vacuum more regularly.
Will coming back again for sure


  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Thai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort.
We appreciate your highlighting to us the hotel , food and staffs are up to your expectations. On the carpets, we are in the progress of changing to new carpets and 60 rooms are already with new carpets at this point of time. Please request for the new carpeted rooms in your next stay while we should finish up changing the rest by the end of the year. Thank you for your comments and we all look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed in this wonderful hotel for a short break before the National Day. The environment is fresh, quiet and clean, facilities are well maintenanced and we can entirely enjoy our stay. The price is absolutely best valued-for-money, hardly imagine that you can stay in a 5-star resort hotel with 3-star price! Most important of all, all the staff have provided very courteous service to customers that make us feel like with our best friends, the Resident Manager who leads a very excellent team to serve all customers warm-heartedly, especially Paul AO, Cheen CHEN and Lisa, they always served us with smiling and friendly, answering our enquiries and introducing the tourist sites to us patiently. Undoubtedly we will stay in this hotel again and again for our short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort.
As truly described by you, the hotel environment, located in the midst of a golf course, is fresh, quiet and clean, facilities are well maintained, the price is absolutely best value-for-money,and l the staff have provided very courteous service to customers.

We will strive to maintain the standards mentioned and will congratulate our staff team, Alexander, Paul AO, Cheen CHEN and Lisa for a job well-done for being mentioned here, and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

property is well managed. amenities are what i've come to expect at a sofitel. shower, bed and balconey were all first rate. mr liu was quite helpful in getting our questions answered. asked for a taxi to the airport and paul ao, at the concierge desk, got us a ride in a friend's unlicensed taxi for about 50% more than a normal taxi. we had no other option other than to take the taxi because of the lateness. that left a bad final impression

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank srminchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. We are happy to note that you mentioned that the property was well-managed and that our Front Office Manager , Mr Liu, was helpful. On the unlicenced taxi service, we strongly advise you not to take but to use the official hotel limousine services. The unlicenced taxi, although a cheaper option and requested frequently by our hotel guests, is illegal and unsafe and is definitely not part of the hotel service. We will take appropriate action on the staff concerned for recommending you the unlicenced taxi. We thank you for your feedback and hope it will not mar your impression of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, assuring our limousine services will be available at your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have been staying here regularly for 7 years. One of my favorite hotels in China as the location in the oasis of a golf resort with birds chirping in the morning is a rarity when traveling on business. My only gripe is that the rooms eg carpets are a little worn and tired and need a refresh. Hope the management invest a little soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsolonelyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for comments on your latest stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort. Thank you for your support for the last 7 years of this beautiful oasis of a golf resort where you can literally hear the birds chirp in the morning in the midst of surrounding golf greens, fresh air, shading trees, ponds and lakes. About the carpet, we have already done partially the old wing of 46 rooms and now we will be moving soon to the final 87 rooms starting probably next month. Please do request for the new carpeted rooms should you be returning before that, otherwise the whole hotel would have been re-carpeted by your next visit. Thank you once again for your feedback and we all eagerly look forward to the your return and also the new carpets coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Even though its slightly up high and not so much convenient, but it just about 15 drive down to the town area, and location of the hotel is good with clean air and greenery surrounding. Spacious room and toilet as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort. Yes, it is indeed true that we are not located at the noisy city center where all the hotels are located. We are actually just 15 minutes drive away from it where we are more than a city hotel, we are actually a Resort hotel, located right in the midst of a private golf course, surrounded by greeneries, clean air , peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, ideal for a de-stressing weekend of relaxation. Our rooms and toilets are indeed spacious and every room is 45m2 in size, the price variances are only the room views comprising golf , lake, front and garden views. We look forward to your return to this serene and tranquil resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mamielau
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Despite the hotel was a bit old, the staff were nice. However, there was only two staff at the reception (on the third floor) responsible for both check-in & out! The Chinese restaurant was okay but the choice of food was not enough. Not many patrons at the cafe on the first floor except during breakfast. The outdoor pool was suitable for family fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feigou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. Thanks for your motivating words about our staff being nice. They have all been trained to serve our guests with all their hearts. The staffing levels in the hotel are arranged based on the peak and non-peak hours of checkin and checkout. Our Chinese restaurant is actually Chow-Chiu style which is a specialized typical Nothern Cantonese food but you can request for food out of the Specialized menu based on the availablity of ingredients. We also have a Cantonese restaurant based at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon which is 10 minutes away, which has more Cantonese cuisine varieties versus the Chiu Chow restaurant. As the hotel is a golf resort, most of the guests would take their breakfasts in the morning at the hotel's Poolside Cafe, and once they start their golfing game at the Hillview Golf Club 5 minutes away nearby, their lunch is usually taken at the Golf Club itself. The hotel does have a very beautiful swimming pool suitable for both business and leisure guests. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,077 in Dongguan
488 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,077 in Dongguan
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
South China International Hotel
South China International Hotel
#22 of 1,077 in Dongguan
155 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,077 in Dongguan
717 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,077 in Dongguan
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan

Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort)
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dongguan
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: £46 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Hil View Golf, and facing a lake on one side, and a golf course on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The swimming pool and the spa, to well being and relaxation.The complex has also a perfect setting for your events, with its 4 meeting rooms .Rooms:133 rooms, including 14 prestige suites and 3 villas. The bedrooms equipped with an open bathroom, offer splendid views of the lake, and the 36 holes golf course.F&B: Pool Side Cafe: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. This restaurant gives you the opportunity to sit inside, or outside, nearby the pool. Royal Chiu Chow: taste fine dining Cantonese cuisine, and try out the specialtiese of the Chiu Chow unique cuisine. For more intimacy, feel free to ask one of the 12 private rooms. 8 Height Bar: for a drink among friends, or simply to relax and enjoy good music and cocktails. Lobby Bar: with piano during the evening and an unique view on the swimming pool and hotel garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing