We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the new management is not an improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,059 Hotels in Dongguan
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“the new management is not an improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

the last 2 times i stayed at this hotel, it was called the Grand Oriental Hotel. i enjoyed my stays under the previous management. in the last 2 years, it has changed hands and is now the Royal Hotel, the overall decor is the same but certain things are lacking:

the mini bar in the room is now filled with 2 sodas, nothing else. there used to be snacks and a wide variety of drinks available.
there is no mention of environmental concerns - ie not having your sheets changed every day or using a towel for more than one day
the western breakfast no longer has the custard buns or omelettes made to order
there's no wifi in the rooms and the internet is not always accessible with a cable
you need a swim cap in the pool and who travels with one?
staff English levels are low. granted we are in China but it is a business hotel so they should be able to speak more at the front desk or at the pool and spa.
there is no fruit delivery in the room every day.
there are stains on lampshades and damage to the mirror in my bathroom
the lamps next to the bed look like an earthquake happened, they are all askew.
there's no clock in the room
i did have the dim sum breakfast for the first time and some dishes lacked flavor while others were just good.

the only positives are the comfy bed, clean sheets and towels. i am grateful for these!

basically i have no choice but to stay here for business in dalingshan town. if you have a choice, you might want to look elsewhere, like the grand hyatt...

Room Tip: rooms not facing the square are quieter (so you won't hear honking cars at all hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    47
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Spent one night at this hotel - such luxury. Beauiful large room. Breakfast for westerns was only ok

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

I have stayed at this property since it was new. The rescent ownership change and upgrades were an added touch to a nice 4 star business hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with 100% english speaking staff this may not be your hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

The Royal Hotel is the best in the area. Very comfortable beds, good airconditioning, big well appointed bathrooms.

Rather oddly the male staff wear kilts and the bar is deader than a dead place. Breakfast is good, although it takes a very long time to get an omelette, room service menu is good too.

I can happily recommend this hotel as being a really good place to stay and one of the few Chinese hotels that doesnt reek of cigarette smoke!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
5.6 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
11.2 mi away
Huihua International Hotel
Huihua International Hotel
#20 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
7.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huimei Hotel
Huimei Hotel
#572 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Property: Grand Oriental Hotel
Address: No.2 Guangfa Road, Dalingshan Town, Dongguan 523000, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,059 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing