We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, But can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, But can be better”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed in the Grand Oriental Hotel (Dijing Hotel to the locals) in Dalingshan a number of times over the past year.
Lets start with the good. The hotel entrance and lobby is beautiful. This is typical in Chinese business hotels where nothing is spared to make a grand statement when entering.
The front desk staff are pleasant and although English is not a strong point in the Grand Oriental, it is acceptable and easy enough to communicate.
Breakfast is fair, I think if you are used to an Eastern style breakfast the choice will be far more to your taste. Westerners will find it average.
The rate is good for a hotel of this calibre. Non smoking floors are generally completely smoke free which as regular travellers to China will know is not always the case.
Room quality is great, beds are good, linen and pillows are excellent. Internet is fast as well. Laundry cost is fair.

The bad now. The carpets in this hotel need a really good clean with an industrial shampoo machine. I think they get vacuumed every now and then but it is just not good enough. I suffer from allergies occasionally and these carpets just don’t agree with me! Luckily my local supplier always insists that they clean the carpets in my room before I arrive but during my latest stay I could not get my usual room. It can’t be so difficult to schedule this into the regular cleaning program as the rest of the hotel is generally very clean.
If this issue was addressed it would change this hotel from average to great.
There is a very nice foot massage place just around the corner which I believed is owned by the hotel. It’s well worth the money and although not much English is spoken, it is not a problem.
Room tip. If you don’t like smoke then ask for a tenth floor room. Deluxe business suites are adjacent to the elevator shaft so be prepared for a little noise if you choose one of these rooms. It is not necessary though as a normal business room is cheaper and is just lacking the small lounge which the suite has.
Another tip for getting back to Hong Kong. There is a shuttle service which picks up guests from all the hotels in the area. At the border you change vehicles and then continue into Hong Kong. All very simple and much easier than taking the train back to Hung Hom and then getting to HKG airport from there. The mini bus stops at T2 at the airport. Allow for three hours max from Dalingshan to the airport. The hotel will give you more info regarding this service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    47
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Grand Hotel, Grand Rooms, nothing extra ordinary but good decor, good rooms, steal at the price you pay... you have mc d, etc. just accross the road. at 428 RMB per night with breakfast it is a steal..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is perhaps one of the better hotels in the area around. However, its employees do not have sufficient training for high quality service. Do not expect a high satisfaction to stay there.

The room is old and dark. I will say it is marginally acceptable for travellers who come back late and simply expect to have a sleep there. It's hard to enjoy any facility or service in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times as it was the best available. It is not as good as it was a year ago, by a long way.

The staff do not speak English.
This makes room service and most communication almost impossible.
The only one who does with any degree of competancy is the Lobby Bar Captain, Lisa, who is a pleasure to talk to.


Breakfast is great if you are Chinese - but it is dire if you are European.
Dont ever ask for a cheese omelette, it takes an average of 15 minutes to arrive and if you are not careful it will be Parmesan cheese...
The Coffee rates as some of the worst anywhere, and the table service is not good.
Fried eggs are invariably disgustingly oily and cold, the sausages are made from god knows what but are consistantly horrible.

The principle of washing your hands and smiling at customers has not reached this hotel yet, and the staff apear to be surly and unfriendly.

There is dreadful piped piano musak everywhere and it becomes VERY annoying after a while.
The lobby bar could easily win records for the slowest delivery of a simple rum and coke, and the kitchens took 55 minutes to deliver a pizza.

The carpets are never vacuumed - I have never seen a vacuum cleaner there.

The windows do not open so there is no chance of changing the air in the rooms and they smell stale and dirty.

Every room smells strongly of cigarette smoke and the bedding, curtains, carpets and chairs all smell of smoke.

Bathrooms are ok with good water pressure. Beds are comfortable.

Fresh fruit in the room on day one is never replenished and the minibar is a joke.
The external telephone system does not work at all.

This is a big 3 star hotel, but laughingly calls itself a 5 star. Try to find somewhere else.
.

Room Tip: If you ask for a no smoking room, you will be told yes they have. No they dont. 17th floor quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
203 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The entrance foyer is impressive but the rooms are not. The stained, gold carpeting in the room had hair everywhere so my guess is the hotel does not vacuum. The furniture is dark and there is a cathode ray tv in the room. Bathroom is old marble. As mentioned by a previous guest, there are only 2 cans of soda in the fridge and terrible instant coffee. No iron. On the plus side, the wired internet was fast and the water pressure was good. It was also quiet--we did not hear other guests at all.
There is a fitness center that doesn't open until 6:30am (and the employees arrived late to open it) with only 2 treadmills, 1 bike and 1 elliptical machine, none very new, but decent weights.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection of very mediocre food. Staff are friendly. Total cost for our stay was less than $80USD per night so for the money it's okay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

the last 2 times i stayed at this hotel, it was called the Grand Oriental Hotel. i enjoyed my stays under the previous management. in the last 2 years, it has changed hands and is now the Royal Hotel, the overall decor is the same but certain things are lacking:

the mini bar in the room is now filled with 2 sodas, nothing else. there used to be snacks and a wide variety of drinks available.
there is no mention of environmental concerns - ie not having your sheets changed every day or using a towel for more than one day
the western breakfast no longer has the custard buns or omelettes made to order
there's no wifi in the rooms and the internet is not always accessible with a cable
you need a swim cap in the pool and who travels with one?
staff English levels are low. granted we are in China but it is a business hotel so they should be able to speak more at the front desk or at the pool and spa.
there is no fruit delivery in the room every day.
there are stains on lampshades and damage to the mirror in my bathroom
the lamps next to the bed look like an earthquake happened, they are all askew.
there's no clock in the room
i did have the dim sum breakfast for the first time and some dishes lacked flavor while others were just good.

the only positives are the comfy bed, clean sheets and towels. i am grateful for these!

basically i have no choice but to stay here for business in dalingshan town. if you have a choice, you might want to look elsewhere, like the grand hyatt...

Room Tip: rooms not facing the square are quieter (so you won't hear honking cars at all hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Spent one night at this hotel - such luxury. Beauiful large room. Breakfast for westerns was only ok

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
7.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,070 in Dongguan
481 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,070 in Dongguan
270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
#19 of 1,070 in Dongguan
92 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
6.3 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Property: Grand Oriental Hotel
Address: No.2 Guangfa Road, Dalingshan Town, Dongguan 523000, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing