We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were hoping for better food....we were wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kande International Hotel
Ranked #6 of 411 Hotels in Huizhou
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“We were hoping for better food....we were wrong”
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We have stayed all over Guangdong province and have yet to come across any hotels with good Western food (Hyatt in Dongguan is pretty good). That said the Kande hotel was quite a bit more expensive than other Chinese hotels so we were hoping for better food. No luck there. I hate to be the typical North American traveler who hits the McDonalds, but staying at this hotel you are thankful there is one down the street.. The hotel itself is quite nice. But most 4 or 5 star hotels in China are. It just isn't worth paying at least 30% more for a fancy lobby. There is virtually no one who can speak English at the hotel which becomes frustrating at times.

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest: Many thanks for your kind feedback. Our hotel is uniquely decorated and well equipped, allowing guests to have an enjoyable and unforgettable stay here. It is disappointing to learn that the western food of the hotel did not meet with your design preferences. Now we have an Italian chef who can cook excellent western food. We are sure that you will enjoy the food in our Italian restaurant during your next visit. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kande in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    167
    16
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
5
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Great hotel.
Perfect room
Very friendly staff
Good location (2,5 hours driving Hong kong airpart, 2 hours driving Guangzhou airport)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HansBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest: We read your review with a great sense of pride, knowing that our colleagues had left such a positive impression following your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to deliver memorable experiences to our guests, through our renowned, warm Kande way of hospitality. The location of our hotel is so amazing that you can enjoy the west lake just right in front of you, and it’s also convenient to drive to the nearby cities, such as HK, Guangzhou and Shenzhen. We do hope you will find an excuse to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

What can I say, The Kande International is one of my favorite hotels in the world. I have not found hotel staff anywhere that compares to the level of attention that you recieve at the Kande International. Not two blocks away is some of the best shopping I have found in China, perfect for those gifts you have to take back home or a nice area to walk. The hotel is located overlooking West lake which offers an excellent view from your room. The hotel also has three wonderful resturaunts (Chinese, japanese and Western) that I found to be quite popular with the general public. When in Huizhou, I stay at the kande or I don't go.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AXE250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest: Thank you very much indeed for your review following your stay in our hotel. And it’s a great honor of us that you have enjoyed our hospitality and found the location and transportation is good here. Meanwhile, the restaurants in our hotel are also excellent and we have a new Italian chef recently, who is bound to ensure you a fantastic taste of western food. Kande is undoubtedly your first and best choice when you come to Huizhou. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

One of the best hotels I've been to by far, if not the best. I wasn't expecting anything like it and my trip to huizhou turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The location is great as well and very ideal for foreign visitors.

  • Liked — Warm staff and very nice rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear guest: We are glad to read your great comments on your experience in our hotel and find that our staff and facilities were more than your expectation. Kande is the first five-star hotel in Huizhou and we are sure that you have made the right choice to stay in our hotel. It’s also our honor that you like the location, with a beautiful west-lake view and the convenient transportation. Looking forward to your visit next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2007

A luxury hotel with excellent service. Just simply the best in Huizhou if not in China (for a locally operated hotel).

  • Liked — Room size, ammeneties and food
  • Disliked — Lack of English speaking staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Damasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear guest: Thank you so much for your very kind feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found our service, facilities and food worked so well with you. Kande International Hotel, Huizhou is the first five-star hotel in Huizhou, and is famous for its “Kande Way of Hospitality”. Besides, we are now having an Italian chef in our western restaurant, you just can’t miss his fantastic dishes when you visit our hotel next time. When it comes to the English level of our staff, we totally understand your concern and we have already planned a series of special training to improve our staff’s English. We are sure that you will feel our progress during your next visit soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I have stayed in numerous so-called 5-star hotels in China, and certainly (excluding some of those operated by foreign groups) this was the best one. It was a big surprise to travel to a city without an airport and find such a high quality hotel. The building, facilities, management and service were all excellent. I only hope that this standard is maintained.

  • Liked — Great balance of facilities, everything well done.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 5inophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear guest: Thank you for your very much appreciated feedback following your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear that our service and facilities to detail have been noticed as these are the cornerstones of great guest care for us. We are lucky to have a team of individuals who simply love looking after our guests. We very much hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales - United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Kande Hotel, Huizhou at the end of February. The hotel facilities were top class, the room beautifully appointed and immaculately clean.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The food was of the very highest standard and the breakfasts the best we have ever experienced.
This is a superb hotel - we look forward to going back - excellent value for money. Thank you Kande.

Keith and Isobel Elcomb

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Elcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2688888-8199, Public Relations Manager at Kande International Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear guest: Thanks a million for your kind feedback. It’s our great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities, food and environment here. And we have already shared your note with management and staffs. The guest rooms in our hotel are uniquely decorated and we pay great attention to staff’s quality. The food in our restaurant is also making great progress because we have an Italian chef with us, trying our best to prepare you the most classic Italian dishes. We do hope that Kande International Hotel, Huizhou will be your first and best choice whenever you come to Huizhou. Looking forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huizhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Huizhou
Kempinski Hotel Huizhou
#1 of 411 in Huizhou
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Huizhou Hotel
Renaissance Huizhou Hotel
#2 of 411 in Huizhou
132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huizhou
Crowne Plaza Huizhou
#4 of 411 in Huizhou
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Regent Garden Hotel
Regent Garden Hotel
#33 of 411 in Huizhou
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nanfang Hotel
Nanfang Hotel
#16 of 411 in Huizhou
1 reviews
28.7 mi away
Country Garden Silver Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kande International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kande International Hotel

Property: Kande International Hotel
Address: No.18 Huancheng West First Road, Huicheng District, Huizhou 516001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Huizhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Huizhou
#2 Business Hotel in Huizhou
#6 Best Value Hotel in Huizhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Huizhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kande International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kande International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kande International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing