We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price”
Review of Happy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. Actually this is in a good location but a little noisy from the street. Good service from the front door to your room. Room a bit old but okay.. All day food available at the Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theeranop T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Happy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Its motto says: striving for "more and more perfect facilities, friendly environment, thoughtful services and warm feeling". This is exactly what we have observed over our four visits in past 3-4 years, the latest was just last week. The only facility we missed is a gynasium with basic equipment to work off the stress and fat. Food and beverages (free 4 meals daily) are adequate in range and quality, but a little improvement in cooking quality and variation in choice would be perfect. Free internet speed a little slow but acceptable. Wi-fi cover is very good. Staff are major asset to the hotel, courteous, helpful, proactive and efficient. Congratulations to management for a well-run hotel.

Room Tip: Hiher floors in main building facing main road. Vienna wing nicely furnished but a little overcrowed...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhangSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel the week of jan 6th 2013, in the Venice wing on the third floor facing the main street, which was quite noisy from the constant main street traffic, even with the windows closed. There is no heat in the winter, and when i aksed for an electric heater i was given two blankets, which helped a bit, but i would have prefered walking in to a room with heat.
Otherwise all in all, as far as location for my business needs it was perfect.
The beds were quite chinese standard hard mattresses, and i am quite used to more soft ones.
There is also only one elevator in the venice wing, and to check in and out also need to walk under covered outdoor walkway to main building reception desk.
Staff, bellboys, chambermaids, etc all very friendly, and helpful and hardworking!
It would be great if they can get some english TV channels like CCTV english news or CNN, to accomodate their international guests.

Room Tip: low floor not facing the main street are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukyevd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

It was booked by the travel agent, and found this hotel is pleasant to stay. Service is good, and 4 meals a day are all free. Food is very average, variety, taste ok, but quality is just so so.
The hotel is clean in general. You can't expect much from a little provice city hotel in Shantou of China, but this hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongYing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were on a tour. The room are well furnished, clean and reasonable size. Free fruit and beverage everyday. There is a tea set to make Teachew Kungfu tea. I got to practice making the tea after attending a tea demo at a tea house. Our LCD TV got upsized during our stay, part of their regular renovation and upgrading I guess. Breakfast is a good spread dishes for teochew porridge. Service is almost nil! The food are all laid out but if you need anything like cutlery or when sugar or milk runs out, there are not waiter around. And the food is ok but isn't that great tasting. I mean roadside food would have tasted better. Front office personnel are polite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Happy Hotel gives great added values without being asked. If you speak mandarin or local dialect you will definitely enjoy a happy stay. I read the reviews in Tripsadvers and tried it myself with my family on 10 to 11 May 2012 and I must agreed with the very helpful reviews stated by the quests of Happy Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road in the main block
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chiasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

3rd visit in 2 years for 4 nites in main building. Room recently renovated with new and good quality furniture. A desktop in room was new addition and a big plus. Food not much changed but is good in both range and quality. Staff were friendly and helpful, all of them in the different departments. Foot and traditional chinese massage is added attraction and of good quality. With added attractions and basically no increase in rates, it is incredible. Only drawback is lack of gym for workout - needed after heavy meals.

Room Tip: Higher flloor facing main road for better view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PhangSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shantou hotels
0.5 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 199 in Shantou
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 199 in Shantou
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
2.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Shantou
Regency Hotel Shantou
#62 of 199 in Shantou
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oujue Grand Hotel
Oujue Grand Hotel
#20 of 199 in Shantou
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel

Address: No.81 Jinsha East Road, Jinping District, Shantou 515041, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Hotel is one modern and luxury business hotel.The hotel facilities possess unique international level and top-ranking service,you can fully experience elegant atmosphere and environment.Our zealous and thoughtful service will makes you feel at home here.It is one bright pearl rising in Shantou city.Happy Hotel is located at NO.81 Jinsha Road where is the business district of Shantou. Our hotel located on land area of 17000spm with its 318 guest rooms as single rooms, double rooms and suits. Here are Jin Le Fu Chinese restaurant, the banquet hall, west dining room, cafe, self-service dining room, sauna, beauty salon, chess and cards playing room, large-scale, medium-sized and mini type meeting room and large park. Here we can undertake all kinds of activities such as business, conference, tour and party etc. We are about your feeling and welcome your coming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Happy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing