We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meritus very good for westerners”
Review of Junhua Haiyi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 193 Hotels in Shantou
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meritus very good for westerners”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

having read some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive about this hotel. However I was very pleassed when I arrived. It is a typical western hotel. Excellent lobby, resteraunt and bar. My room which was a non smoking room was also excellent. My only complaint is the the bed was rock hard.
I was also on the executive floor so had access to the club lounge where I could go for breakfast, and pre dinner drinks.
Servicr was excellent from all departments.
It takes a little time to become accustomed to smoke again, kits everywhere, in the resteraunt, the lifts etc but at least they have non smoking areas for you.
I would certainly stay here again with out any concerns.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, a non smoker room would be essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Zara08,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor

We are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel facilities and service.

Thank you for making Meritus Shantou the hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcome you home on your next visit to Shantou

Regards

Rodney Khoo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    93
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
9
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is quote good for china standard, not he best by any means, but the best for the area, and also the best for the area including Chaozhou, but its an hour away from the airport now that its been relocated, but still the better option, would recommend,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbradBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Mr. TravelbradBrisbane,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor

We are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for making Meritus Shantou the hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcome you home on your next visit to Shantou

Regards

Rodney Khoo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here along with a colleague on business for 4 nights and had a very relaxing stay.

The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was well fitted out, the food was good my colleague particularly enjoyed the omelettes for breakfast. We also enjoyed a few drinks in the bar which in my opinion was modern.

The only downside was the food and drinks were probably the most expensive compared to other hotels I stayed in China however would not this stop me going back to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear DoubleA_8

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor

We are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for making Meritus Shantou the hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcome you home on your next visit to Shantou

Regards

Rodney Khoo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Good sized clean bedrooms, staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast fine, wifi reliable and free, public areas typicaly extragavant but very well kept,I would recommend for a business stay. We had food in the bar area as it was late and the staff were happy to produce a very good plate of hot food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Lan G,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor

We are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for making Meritus Shantou the hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcome you home on your next visit to Shantou

Regards

Rodney Khoo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The reception is clean and extravagant, with a giant lit-up Christmas tree, and the reception is efficient and nice, even smiling (smiling reception desk staff seem hard to come by in China.)

The room was spacious, offering a tub and a separate shower, a King-sized bed, a lounging chair, and a business desk. Everything was clean and fresh. There was not a hint of cigarette smoke in my non-smoking room. The internet was free and worked. They had robes for that luxurious, I'm-in-a-five-star-Hotel feeling, and even offered the sale of robes, towels and other Meritus-quality goods.

A good stay, quite happy with everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Mr. Setek

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor

We are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel especially that of the smiling staff at the reception desk on your arrival and shall communicate your delight to them. The giant lit-up Christmas tree was the work of the staff and we are glad that it has created an impact.

Thank you for making Meritus Shantou the hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcome you home on your next visit to Shantou

Regards

Rodney Khoo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2012

First of all, this hotel is located in a convenient location and is relatively well kept. The hotel restaurants have room for improvement and the lack of soundproofing in the room can be annoying if the hotel is fully occupied. Despite this, service levels are fairly acceptable, and I am familiar with the Meritus brand in Singapore, which is why I almost always choose this hotel when I visit Shantou.
However, I an unpleasant experience during my recent stay that may have more to do with hotel policy that their staff. There was some colour transfer from one of my clothing items to one of their hand towels (all they really needed was some bleach to take care of it) and housekeeping insisted that we reimburse the hotel or that we wash the towel ourselves. While I’m not one to bicker about such trivial matters with hotel staff, this does portray the hotel as a little too overzealous about their room inventory to bother about providing good customer service. Bearing in mind that this hotel has a supposed 5-star rating, I was rather taken aback by this proposition.
Therefore, I suggest caution to all those thinking of staying in this hotel. You might just have to pay for pressing your own bed linen in the future if you crease it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_t_pt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear p_t_pt12,

Thank you for your posting and comments

We are indeed sorry to hear of your unfortunate incident on your last stay with us.

You are right to point out that the hotel could have been a little too over zealous in dealing with the incident and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.

We will take the necessary corrective action to address the matter and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to your next visit to welcome you home again at Meritus Shantou

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was my first trip to Shantou and between the 4 hours buss trip from Shenzhen and the ride on Shantou Roads, I was not sure what I was going to encounter. I was there on business and only needed the hotel for sleeping. I was traveling with Chinese speaking associates so language was not an issue for me.

The hotel was better than i thought it would be. My room was large, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent and comparable to most 4 stars in USA. I stayed 3 nights and my room was kept very clean during that period.

I did eat breakfast at the hotel, typical buffet style, I would rank it as good but nothing fantastic.

Since this was a business trip, I have no idea what a tourist would do in this city, outside of watching cars/cycles/bikes compete for space on the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irwish__jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney_Khoo, General Manager at Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Meritus Shantou China, General Manager , responded to this review
Nov 28 2012
Dear irwish__jc

Thank you for your valuable feedback during your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Meritus Shantou on your next visit.


Rodney Khoo
Hotel General Manager
Meritus Shantou China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shantou hotels
0.8 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
0.1 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Shantou
Regency Hotel Shantou
#27 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oujue Grand Hotel
Oujue Grand Hotel
#26 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mengshi Kailai Hotel
Mengshi Kailai Hotel
#23 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junhua Haiyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junhua Haiyi Hotel

Property: Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Address: No.97 Jinsha East Road, Shantou 515041, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 193 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Junhua Haiyi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Junhua Haiyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Shantou China Hotel Shantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing