We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
Ranked #1 of 193 Hotels in Shantou
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Overall good experience during our 3 day stay. The check in was very slow and l was told that the system broke down. Otherwise the stay was very pleasant. The housekeeping lady was very polite including the bell boy and the lady who brought me to the room. The conceirge is not very informative with food recommendations but has been helpful. Breakfast was a disappointment as there was no localized cuisine like steamed rice rolls, fried oyster pancake etc. The condiments for the congee were so minimal...l ended up eating my breakfast at local eateries. One note for the restaurant~the football table needs to be moved away from the food area and l told the manager that to prevent risks of accident....l hope that something is done.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your
expectation, I have brought your comment to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in Shantou we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    60
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
9
4
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Breakfast spread is normal and the restaurant is over crowded during peak hours from 8AM-9AM. Try the fish/meatballs at chinese noodles corner. Rooms is spacious with 70 TV channels. Poor workmanship on wardrobe doors and bathroom sliding door as they cannot be shut properly. Lift service tends to be slow during peak hours after breakfast and checkout time.

Big credit to the hotel staffs who speak good English.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHFOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Greetings RHFOng:
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.
We deeply regret the shortcomings you have experienced during your recent stay at our hotel and we truly apologise for this.
We are deeply concerned by the lack of service and please rest assured, we are looking into this matter.
Once again, our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Three of us just
back from the Shantou Sheraton having spent five days there. Very
favorable comments from all of us. Any teething issues described by
other commentators have been dealt with: restaurant baby foot nowhere to
be seen, small play area in a corner, low music and great omelets!
Fitness center and spa lovely (great massages and treatments), outdoor
pool not yet open, weather too cold. Great business center on top floor,
we needed to have an unscheduled meeting and were offered a lovely room
at no extra charge. Nice big bedrooms: quiet, effective air-con, big bed
and good pillows, tea/coffee making facility, iron. Restaurant breakfast
good, all the usual western fare plus local options. Dinner good.Free wifi, works well all over hotel. Staff
pleasant and friendly, many speak enough English to get by with normal
queries but will quickly find a more competent colleague if necessary. We
will make this our base for future trips!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, 經理 at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Greetings Vivienne O:
Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Shantou Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.
Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and has only been open a couple of months. The rooms are well appointed and the hotel service levels are what you expect at a Sheraton...BUT I have to comment on the hotel restaurants - the service is extremely poor: I travel in China a lot and this is way below average for a Sheraton. The food is ok, but the cooks for breakfast don't know how to make an omelet! The décor is very nice but very unclean: tables (multiple) are left overflowing with dirty plates and uneaten food for 15+ minutes after patrons have left. One night - both hotel restaurants were booked full and hotel guests had to go elsewhere to eat - in my eyes, this is also unacceptable. Whoever was doing the training at this Sheraton for Food Services had better come back quick and retrain - I know I will NOT come back quick to this Sheraton.

Room Tip: Plan to eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPWCamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Greetings SPWCamaro:
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.
We deeply regret the shortcomings you have experienced during your recent stay at our hotel and we truly apologise for this.
We are deeply concerned by the lack of service and please rest assured, we are looking into this matter.
Once again, our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience.
Sincerely

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good hotel, centrally located and brand new.

The staff speaks English and i can always really appreciate it when the internet/wifi is for free and easy to connect to and in this hotel it is easy and for free.

However, the breakfast room was too crowded and although the offering seemed good, i was not really satisfied with the quality of the food, food was kept warm in to big quantities so most of it was cold, the cold cuts were not replenished. Like said at first sight it looked great, but it was lacking the quality i would expect for 140rmb per person.

I would like to make this hotel as good, but the only options are average or very good, so that's why i choose for average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Greetings Peter O:
Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Shantou Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.
Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We arrived at around 10PM last night, register took like 20mins. room is good and big enough
as expected, but the built up in the room is not the international standard, the power outlet is suitable for Chinese domestic but not for U.S or Japanese, and there are no enough outlets
to use at the same time, we have to charge the ipad in the bath room.
There is no coffee spoon in the room.
Spa, swim pool, sauna is not ready yet, the server told us that they have no enough people for
these dept..
There are 4 bottles of water free everyday, besides these, if you ask more, they will charge RMB10/bottle.
So many mosquito in the rest room in lobby.
Difficult to find the hotel front door for driver.

what we can say is very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Greetings John L:
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.
We deeply regret the shortcomings you have experienced during your recent stay at our hotel and we truly apologise for this.
We are deeply concerned by the lack of service and please rest assured, we are looking into this matter.
Once again, our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Rooms very good as you would expect. But we arrived the evening before the opening and you could see everyone very nervous but keen o help.
They do need to train the staff in the restaurant. We found out only one breakfast included with our double room, something I find very annoying! So we paid the extra 128 for second breakfast. It's a buffet and once again the fried eggs are sitting there already cooked and luke warm, I then took the last sausage, last ham, last bacon, tomatoes already gone, got to table and found it all Luke warm. So returned to ask for fresh eggs but no sausages, bacon or tomatoes, just baked beans left. Had to ask staff for juice as dispenser was blocked and get help for coffee as I could not work it. My wife tried the Chinese food but was very disappointed. Then one of the chefs decided to have a loud rant on his mobile phone next to our table. Come on management sort it out!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AcbMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymiko, Manager at Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear AcbMei:
Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shantou Hotel. Your feedback is very important for us and we take it quite serious. Please accpet our apology for any inconvenience caused. Warmly welcome you back for a better stay experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shantou hotels
1.0 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Regency Hotel Shantou
Regency Hotel Shantou
#27 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mengshi Kailai Hotel
Mengshi Kailai Hotel
#24 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oujue Grand Hotel
Oujue Grand Hotel
#15 of 193 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013

Property: Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
Address: Block 11 Loguang Century Mansion, Shantou 515011, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing