We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnighting here essential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Overseas Chinese Hotel
Ranked #1,319 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I owe most of my travel mistakes to lack of adequate research, specifically via the marvelous new service called internet. Thus, when I had thought escorting my 84-year old mother on an overseas odyssey was going to be only mildly challenging, my s-i-l raised her eyebrows and questioned my common sense. And right she was; don't get me wrong, I love my mother and this is an excellent way for me to honor her and I am certainly the best person to undertake such a task--I have enormous experience travelling, domestic and overeseas. It was relatively easy--until formally entering China proper. You see, Hong Kong is a special administrative region (01JUL2014, a full suffrage demonstration was held; the similar demand for democracy on Tianamen Square held some two decades ago was throttled) and one must go through a rather exhaustive customs/immigration/inspection/formal border crossing with passports/visas into Shenzhen if you want to go further into China by land. In my case, we were taking train 586 to Chengdu (that is another great/terrible story I'll post in the forum) for which I had tickets waiting. As always when in an unfuamiliar place, I do a dry run. I couldn't believe how difficult it was for us to cross; it reminded me of when I and my two children were crossing from Mongolia into Russia on the Trans-Mongolian. Anyway, I soon realized the time required meant eliminating a third overnight in Hong Kong and staying in Shenzhen instead, close to the train station. The closest hotel was this fine establishment.
It was an phenomenal difficulty to book a room here--my Catonese (you use Mandarin in the North) is seriously limited--and virtually no English was spoken by any staff. But the motions are all pretty much the same anywhere around the World in most hotels. Despite the friendliness of the staff, it took me, literally, hours to not only book the room (#817), but then to try to reverse that because I didn't want the room immediately, only for the the following night. It was extremely frustrating, but I did finally make headway. When we returned the next day, they were ready.
Much to my mother's pleasure, this room had a Western style toilet in the bathroom with ample hot & cold water. Both beds were the way I like them: rock hard. You'll appreciate that if you've ever been on a spongy/soft mattress (like the one I have at home, which I hate and frequently spend my nights on the floor) because your back will hurt. Anyway, there was an odor in the room, perhaps that of aerasol treated smoke, which was kind of given away by the fag burns on carpet & furniture.
Since my mother has limited mobility--uses a cane and wheelchair at times--the lift was more than appreciated. In fact, the presence of an elevator is often the sole determining factor in my choice of overnight location.
I won't argue with the other reviews, but his hotel turned out to be a tripsaver for us. Had we not been able to stay here and kept my original plan of entering from Hong Kong the morning of our Train 568 departure from Shezhen Railway station West, we would have missed not only the train, but would have put a servious cramp into further planned travel inside China as well as having lost significant amounts of money already put toward ticket purchases, overnight stays, etc. I am thankful this hotel was available and we were able to get in. Thank you, Overseas Chinese Hotel!

Room Tip: Good luck, but using sign language and passports, I was able to establish that I needed two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanito_Hayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

It was late (2 a.m.) when we arrived at the hotel. After checking-in (2 receptikonists did not speak English at all) we got to our rooms. Terrible ones!

See pictures. Sorry, we can not sen d this awful smell from the room to discourage you frombooking there.

We left the hotel at 8 a.m. after 4 hrs of short rest and found another hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stay at this hotel only one night on march 2012, by the photo from web, the rooms looks very modern, clean and tidy. But the time that we are arrived, I saw the room like a nitemare. The Carpet was so..so..hundreds years I even wouldn't dare to took off my slippers, I have to sleep with my socks on and all over my body I affraid to touch the sheet. It was many stains on it and I found a human hair (well, I didn't want to think further from which part of their body). The colour was not white it was crême and thin. The bathroom also dirty and the closet was stained, I had to applied my liquid sanitizer before I sat down. They dont provides any bath or shower gel and shampoo, for instead I found some oils product which wrote to increase the power of man, condoms, and all the things that they put in the bathroom which look like the hotel was provides things for One nite stand couples. It didn't matter for us, thou. But please do clean up the residue of guests before new guest coming or else, just change the sheet. I dont think they have much sheet to change every day for every room. And the towel so awful I even could bare to touch it.
Above all, the staff were lack of English so we have to talk like a Tarzan to them, and still didn't help. Also they have no manner and shout out to talk each other also to talk to guests, they don't want to bother walk few steps to come in front of us to talk, they talked to us from the cross of the reception table.
It was a disaster to spent one nite there, but if u want to stay for something else that no one cares about your need during your stay there, then this one a good hotel to hide.

Room Tip: Don't bother to browse from Internet, the photos are false!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

I stayed one night in Deluxed Double Room. The room is really dirty, smoking smell and out of dated furnitures, even it is not a standard room. The service, receptionist, manager are extremely rude.

It is far away from what I expected from photos and information in internet.

Just stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RichardClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ahLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kaochi432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank Евгений А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#20 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
2,262 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#41 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
304 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
346 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#9 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
1,171 reviews
Fuqiao Motel
#293 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overseas Chinese Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overseas Chinese Hotel

Address: No.1009 Heping Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518010, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,319 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £21 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overseas Chinese Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overseas Chinese Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing