We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Ranked #38 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a good hotel with very good value for money.
> This was my first experience with Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen.
> The rooms were neat and nice and comfortable.
> The breakfast menu is also good and had options for vegetarian.
> The location is just a bit odd to get there. The nearest MTR station is about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors give a view of the surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leopranay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    289
    88
    18
    16
See reviews for
39
53
48
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel has a very inconvenient location... on the outskirts of town located
on a desolate side street with no restaurants, shopping or taxi's in the early morning or
evening.

The staff seemed to be friendly at first (then again they couldn't
speak English, so that's up for debate), but after paying the balance it all went right out
the window after walking into our room. When I asked for a different room due to the bathroom not being properly cleaned (used toilet paper and a dirty towel on the floor) and noise from above (presumably construction of some sort), they were very rude in that 1, we had to wait 20 minutes, 2 in saying "sorry for the inconvenience".. "we're all booked up now and there is nothing we can do". Seriously, the maid must have had the day off - it was dirty and it was loud. REALLY loud. Not exactly what we had hoped for after a 24 hour trip to arrive there. Ear plugs back in so we could sleep off some jet lag and a few hours later, upon asking for a refund for the following 2 days we had already paid for (so we could go down the street to another hotel, which in the end we did anyway) we were informed that only 30% could be returned and not until the following day. You figure out the hotel hours and how that would work... being polite with someone who doesn't understand politeness (even our translator tried) is a lost cause after so long...

This was our first trip to Shenzhen (I regularly travel to Beijing though) and I
expected this hotel to be up to international Holiday Inn standards - it was not. The bad
location alone is enough to look elsewhere. It's a 30 RMB taxi ride (after you walk a mile up the street to a McDonald's and wait 10 minutes or so) to the city (Luo Hu business/shopping district). Not convenient. Trust me, whether here on business or holiday, there are far nicer (and MUCH much cheaper) hotels with better locations and amenities in Shenzhen. This place is a dud.

I did a Google to post a review and what do you know.. the first result is owned by Holiday inn and negative reviews "require assistance and approval". No wonder they have 4/5 stars on Google+. Hmm...

Make no mistake - this is a wanna be Holiday Inn and should be avoided at all costs (unless of course you don't mind rudeness, noise all night and no taxi's around. You've been warned.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, fitness center, breakfast (aside from a little microwave) or internet cafe here fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZXLH, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are sorry to hear the hotel facilities was not up to your expectation, and aplogize to any inconvenience caused. Holiday Inn Express is one of IHG brand family, is a type of budget hotel. The facilities and service is different with the full serviced Holiday Inn. Holiday Inn Express features comfortable sleep, signature shower, complimentary breakfast and internet, offers a smarter choice for both business and leisure travelers.

We will look into the issue you mentioned and action to improve the procedure and service to make our customer feel better immediately.

Apologize again and hope your this time experience not moon you from us and Holiday Inn Express is still your option for your future accomadation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were booked in this hotel by my travel agent nice comfortable hotel nice rooms ,bathrooms reception staff helpful as we were here for two days very helpful to provide needed information which saved our lot of time
Breakfast was not so good so we had to go to nearby macdonalds and lunch was anyway booked by my agent

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasonridrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Nearest train station is Grand Theatre ,exit D, and it's about 20 mins walk from the hotel. Around that station , is also a nice shopping mall MaxC.
Hotel room is comfortable and clean although the carpet is stained. The pillows are comfortable .2 bottles of drinking water are provided daily..just wished that the bottles are placed in the bedroom instead of in the bathroom. Shower is good and powerful ,however the bathroom drainage is slow. Breakfast is included in the room charge but it's very plain and basic and same variety throughout our stay there. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. There is free morning shuttle provided to the train station as well as to Luohu station but be sure to ask the staff as some of them are not aware even though there is an info sign on this in the lobby. There is a small vending machine for drinks etc in the lobby. Hotel seems to be popular for guests on short business trips. The 3 lifts are pretty slow and highest floor is 20.

Room Tip: Request for higher floors ,non smoking rooms with fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HkAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in the one a few times when passing Shenzhen, price is fair, western style, breakfast included as plus and it ain't bad for single traveler, location is excellent, close to most of the city activities.

Room isn't big, not a luxury type but comfort, which is important, interesting things is a lot of facilities are self-served

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24century
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here for four nights while on a mid-autumn study tour of various enterprises in Shenzhen. Outdoor temperatures were still very high, even at night, but my room had air conditioning and was clean, spic and and span. The bed was very comfortable, with its fleecy duvet and choice of both hard and soft pillows. English TV channels, including HBO and ESPN were a welcome relief from the all-Chinese fare of my Beijing hotel, as were the adjustable (and huge) shower-head, water pressure and spaciousness of the shower cubicle. I also had the added privilege of a minibar, which apparently were not found in every room, which I stocked with beer from a bottle store across the street. The wi-fi in the room was not very reliable but the staff were very polite, the panoramic views from the upper floors quite picturesque, the meals tasty and my overall experience definitely way above average.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG,SIN,CAN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I'm staying in the hotel right now and I've stayed here on a number of occasions over the past few years. At the price paid, it still represents excellent value. The rooms are still in great condition (they may have actually done some renovations to the hallways/rooms though not 100% sure!)

As I arrived late into the hotel, i decided to have dinner in their Great Room. The service in the evening is fast food style, you approach a counter, select your food, and pay. They then bring it to you. I wasn't expecting a culinary revelation however I was quite impressed with the quality of the food. For RMB48, it included a main dish, rice, soup, fresh fruit platter and a juice. It had obviously been freshly cooked and the taste of the chicken and mushrooms was great.

I just hope breakfast is much better than before!

Overall, the HIX continues to be my go to hotel in Shenzhen when on a quick overnight layover.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#44 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Luohu Port
Best WESTERN Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#48 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#12 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Address: No.6 Guiyuan North Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#35 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu is easy. We're just 38km from Shenzhen International Airport and 3km from Luohu train station. Our modern high-rise hotel is also close to Dajuyuan metro station, where trains speed you to the Central Business District in just 10 minutes. Complimentary wireless Internet in your stylish Guest room keeps you connected.Invite colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu for a conference in our high-tech meeting room. You can print agendas and check email in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and it's just 4 metro stops to events at Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre. Train services from Luohu station take just 1 hour to reach Hong Kong.It's 3.5km from the hotel to buzzing Huaqiangbei, the place to shop for the very latest in computer and electronic gadgetry. Pick up stylish outfits and leather handbags in huge MixC Shopping Mall, one of the biggest in China, or hop in a taxi to haggle for bargains in the shoppers' paradise of Dongmen district and Luohu Commercial City.Chinese congee porridge is served alongside western choices like poached eggs and toast at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 's complimentary breakfast buffet. Relax on the sofas in our vibrant Great Room, and enjoy a beer with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luohu Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing