We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to sleep at, but that's about it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenzhen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shenzhen LOFT Youth Hostel
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at the Loft when I first moved to Shenzhen in March.
The positives:
1. Cool location to explore OCT loft, but then again, you pretty much see everything in half a day
2. Ok price

The negatives:
1. The 4 bed dorm felt and looked like a hospital room, not cozy, if 4 people had big suitcases there would be no way to fit them all on the floor
2. No hostel vibe, mostly Chinese residents
3. No bar or cafe- but you can buy food at the nearby supermarket
4. Was awfully cold in the end March, had to sleep with a sweater on
5. Internet ONLY at the lobby

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutaDisfruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I do not understand how it is on the top choice of Shenzhen hostels? staff is very rude. rooms were not clean, I asked to change a room and got rejected. no hair-dryer, I had to pay 100RMB for deposit and only allow to use it for one hour, and was told if I don't return within an hour, I don't get my money back. it's at least 25 min walk to the subway station. no food around it. I would NOT stay here again, ever.

Room Tip: i stayed in their private double which stinks. i can't imagine their dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Staying at several YHA hostels, this is one of the worst, if there could be any better hostels in YHA network. Staff are cold and unhelpful, vibe doesn't exist, the place has a pretty big communal lounge but it's totally a waste. Room is basic, bed sheets cramp and bathroom very dirty.

The tight face of the staff is a negative bonus. If you need to take a documentary about bad service in China, welcome to this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hostel looks nice from the outside, but the staff didn't smile when I was asking questions. (All 3 of the girls in the reception area.) Room was basic but that's what I expected, considering the price I have paid isn't much after all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Genuinely unhappy looking group of folks that work here. Never saw a smile once and they were extremely rude. The guy at the front desk told me to get on the wrong bus to happy valley and another one practically screamed at me for no apparent reason. Very expensive." For what it is. Good location though..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Shenzhen Loft. My friend and I stayed in a twin room which was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was basic and on the small side, but not too bad. The hostel is good value, they had a great common area and good wifi. It's in a cool location and there are a number of great restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. It's about a 10-15 minutes on the metro to the city centre. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from Qiaocheng East station. The area is quite upmarket and quiet and we felt quite safe walking around at night. Would recommend staying here when you're in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just 15 min walking distance from Metro station. It's located in a high-end district, surrounded by trees. A place to escape from the noisy city. Many restaurants and bars are around though little pricy. I stayed in the private room with a small shower room with big window with view of trees. A great choice if you want to stay a place like home rather than staying in a chained hotel at similar price. You better call in to check availability as I booked on line and found no vacancy on line. but when I arrived, they still have a private room available. 離地鐵站只有15分鐘走路的距離,這區屬於高級地段,街道有許多綠樹,環境也比較清幽,在華僑城LOFT裡有許多餐廳和酒吧,用餐還滿方便的,雖然價錢會比在其他區貴一點。

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Peng Heng Space Capsules Hotel
#23 of 364 in Shenzhen
8 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
2,244 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#49 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
321 reviews
Fuqiao Motel
#289 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenzhen LOFT Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenzhen LOFT Youth Hostel

Address: No.3 Enping Street, Overseas Chinese Town, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 364 Speciality Lodging in Shenzhen
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing