We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very enjoyable.”
Review of The Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #46 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Not very enjoyable.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights when on business in Shenzhen. Found the hotel to be of average standard in this price range in china. Security in the hotel was poor with many local working girls in the lobby and bar in the evening. Breakfast was ok, but lacked choice for western tastes. The surrounding area was pretty down market. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion S, Public Relations Manager at The Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will notify related department heads, and take concrete action to improve our services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    230
    55
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
7
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is in Shenzhen city, not very far from the Hong Kong border crossing.

I stayed in this property for a night on my way to other parts of Southern China. My room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. It is well worth it for the price.

There are a few restaurants in the hotel complex. For breakfast we had Dim Sum in "Chunmanyuan" restaurant. The food is not as good as Hong Kong or a good Dim Sum place in Perth but it was inexpensive.

Room Tip: Always ask for non smoking rooms in China although in some hotels they do not exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hi

This is one of the good Hotels in Shenzhen . Right next to Futian District . Close to the business Centre and walking to Wonders of the World .
Rooms are Good , Big & Spacious . Morning Breakfast is good as expected of any Good Hotel in this range .
Business Centre is good and Good Spa to relax later in the day . Its also walking ( 500 Meters to the Subway ) . I am a bit adventrous types and try all means of transport . Though Language is a big problem outside the Hotel , but its FUN to talk to people in Sign Language .

I keep on coming to this place because of the proximity to my work . Moreover they go out of the way to cook things for me are not there on the Menu . I do get a good price on accomodation because of the contract of my principles in Shenzhen .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btplonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have stayed here twice. The rooms are very large and the hotel is in a good area. Sometimes the service is amazing, and sometimes you wonder where they all went. But they will take care of anything you need.

The breakfast is not ideal for a Westerner, but there are some decent options.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadels_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stay there every 2'nd month for business - and the service are pretty cool. They're ready to assist you, and the location is really good if you want to go shopping - right ahead of the hotel you'll find any electronic gadget you may ever need!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

For about 120€ you get a large room with comfortable bed, internet connection.
But everything is "just standard". No minibar, scarce and cheap toiletries....
Breakfast buffet (included in the price) is fair but nothing special about it.
The staff is right but no special attention nor welcoming smile.
The lobby is wide but boring.
Average is the true word for this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vittoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I went to Shenzhen for a business trip. Everything was arranged for by our Host Company. The ambiance of the hotel was nice. I loved the carved motive at the front desk. The fresh flowers in the lobby was nice to walk by everytime we entered and exited the hotel.
The rooms were nice and big. I was given a deluxe room, I think. It was huge, I could fit in another bed! Speaking of the bed, the pillows and duvet were heaven sent...so soft and comfy. The room had the usual amenities. I had to ask for an ironing board though but housekeeping was fast to reponse to my request.
The breakfast spread was superb. Super sweet fresh fruits and yummy warm bread was enough to fill me up. They also had a variety of sushi, salads and cereal. My only complaint would be the lack of cold plain milk to eat the cereal with. They only had hot milk or cold soy milk.
The staffs at the hotel were very friendly. They always had a smile for us. Most, if not all of them speak good English. Eventhough the lower part of the hotel was a shopping area, safety was not an issue as they always had a few staffs patrolling near the lifts to the rooms.
Shopping malls were a walking distance away. For those who are gadget crazy would definitely love it here as the Digital Mall is just across the road. They also had a Women’s Mall, Men’s Mall and Children’s Mall. The subway station is also just in front of the hotel so getting to other places was not an issue. Just check in with the front desk to know which station to go to before you leave.
All in all, a very nice place to stay. I would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alongsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Pavilion Century Tower
Pavilion Century Tower
#128 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
152 reviews
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#38 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
347 reviews
Huaqiang North
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
#34 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#17 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
679 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#41 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
526 reviews
Wyndham Grand Shenzhen
#21 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion Hotel

Property: The Pavilion Hotel
Address: No.4002 Huaqiang North Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#26 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#43 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is situated in the heart of the commercial and shopping centre of Huaqiang Road North. The Lo Wu Railway Station, Huanggang Port and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibion Centre are within close proximity, while Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. The 291 well-appointed rooms and suites are designed with a blend of elegance and fashion. High-speed Internet access and environmental protection commodities and facilities are yours, but perhaps the most captivating feature of your room is "The Pavilion Cosy Bed"- you can choose from different kinds of delicate pillows, ensuring your personal comfort. The restaurants and bars in The Pavilion are the places in Shenzhen to enjoy cuisine from East and West. From the relaxing Greenland Lounge, the popular Café Pavilion, The Orchard, Gold Rush Bar and Phoenix House to our authentic Japanese restaurants. Come and experience a sensational world of tastes. The Pavilion banquet and conference rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art technology, with advanced visual and audio systems. Whether professional or personal, corporate or intimate, we will ensure your event is a very special occasion. Our large fully equipped Gym, heated swimming pool, tennis court, mini golf, sauna, spa, beauty salon and so forth all add to the unique character of the hotel - and bring you a refreshing and invigorating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing