We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #14 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

stayed here for the second time while on business. great rooms, service, restaurants, etc

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed there for 6 nights , while on a business trip, from 5th of July till 10th of July.
Very good location, but lacked entertainment, as it was right in the heart of the residential/business area. Still a stop away from one of the well-known shopping malls and cafes/bars location.
There are great amenities, though - great swimming pool, and even better sauna and spa (the spa is decorated with sparkling lights that change the colour and look like hundreds of diamonds above your head).
The gym is extremely clean, modern and light. You have a view to the nearby surrounding - buildings, or golf park or hotel. Every single time someone leaves the machine , the staff comes in cleans it, put a brand new towel and a bottle of water. The staff do not talk among themselves , and they are exceptionally quiet , so that they do not disturb you (unlike Kempinski,for ex., who even ask you to show them that you are a guest of the hotel before you can use the gym)
The foyer is awesome, very chic and modern, and the staff at the reception are very professional and courteous. The porters are very helpful, too and you never wait for a taxi (unlike Kempinski). It's also not more than 4-5 mins from the subway station.

The room was huge - 42.5sqm, clean and bright, My view was a green, groomed golf course and the city's CBD in the distance. The bathroom was a dream, with a separately enclosed toilet, and a separately enclosed shower and a bathtube that was immaculately clean and posh. So nice , that you could stay in the bathroom for hours - and you would feel better than in the kempinski room (sorry, I was so frustrated by the lack of professionalism and courtesy demonstrated by all of the Kepminski staff )
The service was immaculate, and every day two bottles of water per room and a small chocolate are waiting for you as you come back to the hotel.
I definitely think jwMarriott is one of the best hotels to stay in, when in Shenzhen and I would not hesitate to stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana_0400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here for one night from 17-March-2012 to 18-March-2012. I was happy to find that free coffee brewing was provided in the room. I made the coffee drink without hesitation because this is an excellent 5-star hotel. However, I found that the expiry date of the coffee brewing pack was 2012-3-15. This careless service may be minor but it is really seious to me because I already drank it. This should not be the standard for a famous 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ycjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for 3-full-months between September to December 2010. Service was excellent, food was good, just be careful of the wine (it may not be real).

Room was excellent and it is always clean. Breakfast is buffet style and has both western and Asian selections. The Executive floor is a great place to relax in the evening, with free drinks and hors d'oeuvres.

The only negative (if you like busy surrounding areas) is there are not a lot of restaurants within the walking area. The only good restaurants is an Italian one called Milano. You have to go to CoCo Park for a decent meal.

Room Tip: Being a Marriott Platinum member will have free access to the Executive Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony_Chien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great location, great staff and a luxurious interior.
This hotel was truly impressive. Form the check in to the check out there were no complaints but the staff tried to get everything right (there are always little niggles in Chinese hotels but here they were minimal). Also the rooms are at a very high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17hinmi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a top rate hotel for staying in China. I needed a central hotel to operate from when doing business in the outer districts of Shenzhen and this JW Marriott is great. If you book on line at least one month ahead they have internet prepay offers that are unbelievable. The service is great and the food is top notch for Western Travellers. FInally they can arrange for the shuttle back to Hong Kong Int'l and book it to the room for easy payment.

I highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljava57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It is no exaggeration to say that I have nothing but praise for this hotel, and I don't own any Marriott shares.

The JWM in Shenzhen has classy looks, ample room facilities (coffee maker, large flat-screen TV and DVD player, room safe, comfy room sleepers, large shower stall and modern bathtub, etc), staff are always helpful and efficient, speak good English, provide plush comfort (the best hotel beds ever), generosity of room space, cleanliness, privacy, large, well-equipped gym and attention to guest needs.

But if I am allowed one criticism, it is the location. Situated in the Futian district next to a golf course, there is none of the hustle and bustle of human and vehicular traffic that one normally gets in Chinese cities. That's fine. But it is a good 15-minute walk to the subway (MTR) stations. The hotel sits in between two stations - Xiangmihu and Chegongmiao. The walk to the former is more pleasant along the broad and tree-lined pedestrian walkway. The osmanthus trees, when they flower, perfumes the air. But to walk to the slightly nearer Chegongmiao station, one has to negotiate two road filters and the cars don't slow down. The pathway is also narrower.

If one is always travelling by taxi or chauffered car, the hotel's location shouldn't be a problem. Getting to places such as Lowu or Laojie would take 15-25 minutes, depending on the traffic condition. But if one likes to take public transport, then the walk may be a hassle, especially during the summer months when the air is hot and sticky.

And while there are a few F&B places near the hotel, they are not great selections, with one Italian and one Chinese restaurant within walking distance, a McDonald's and a couple of convenience stores. There's some street food in a small road to the left of the hotel. But not much variety to that either.

So I tend to do everything outside before returning to the hotel. I have stayed here twice and I stay here despite the location because after a long day, I know I would be going back to a great place to unwind and rejuvenate. And there are no unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: List your requirements at the time of booking the room online. So far, I haven't been disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrotherDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#18 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
2,233 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#10 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
1,066 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#9 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
512 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#50 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £116 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing