We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel with many dining options around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #12 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Stayed here for 1 night from the holiday trip to Hong Kong. Took a taxi after getting out from metro station as hotel was quite difficult to find and it was raining. Hotel was located in between 2 metro stations, Xiangmihu and Chegongmiao, and quite a distance from either station. To get to Xiangmihu from hotel, one just need to walk down a long pedestrian walk outside a country club. On the other hand, the walk to Chegongmiao is a bit shorter, but one will have to walk under the flyover and cross some traffic to get to the station. Nevertheless, i use both stations to go to Dongmen shopping district as well as the return ride to Hong Kong.

Room was very business like with a work desk just beside the bed. I was given a room where there is a pillar near a corner of the room, thus making the whole room look smaller. Bed was high due to the thick mattress, but very comfortable.

There are dining options in the mall behind the hotel, including fast food outlets like MacDonald's and Starbucks. i went further down and turning right based on the concierge directions and found a whole street with Chinese restaurants.

Overall a good hotel, but more for business travellers due to the industrial areas around it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatshopeatshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

A new hotel with a group of staff that needs a lot of training. English language skills are quite good but service quality needs improvement.

I specifically asked for a King size room during advance reservation, but when I arrived at the front desk, the staff told me that they are very busy and king size rooms are not available, yet my other two colleagues made a fuss and got their king size rooms. I didnt mind getting a twin-bed room, but asked to be given a room with good view and the staff assured me she's given me one of the best view rooms.

When I went up into my room, the view was terrible, I was stuck in a corner room, could see right into the room adjacent to me. I went down and asked for another room, after much trouble, I finally go the same room (king size) which I stayed at my previous stay.

The set up of the rooms are quite awkward, with odd edges around the room but overall it is very comfortable.

Hotel buffet breakfast serves a good selection of fruits and western style cereal, and breads. The hot buffet serves standard items and the quality is good.

It is very much a business hotel, does not feel friendly at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

This hotel stays in your mind as one that provides an all round service from the minute you step out of your Taxi you are greeted with a smile and taken towards the reception.
The reception process is quick and again you are treated very well.
The rooms are fantastic with LCD tv's in thye main room and also in some of the bathrooms.
Internet access is free and the office set-up includes a unique multi-media set-up that allows for laptop to LCD screen visual monitor service.
The Breakfast is superb especially if it is combined in your room rate.
I have to say I hate having to leave this hotel as I would love to live in this full time because the rooms are so inviting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsingh32016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed there for just a weekend break without much expectation as I just want to relax. It wasn't disappointing. This is my second time staying in this hotel, staff is helpful and friendly and they look very energetic too. This time I back to normal guest room (previous one was on the Executive Floor), but in fact the room layout is more or less the same and I was happy with it except there is no access to the Executive Lounge. Like the bathtub so much! It's the main attraction that i return. Bed is so comfy and one could sleep easily even when s/he is easy to be sleepless.

From what i observed, It's a very nice business hotel with lots of business service support. For business or leisure, i would recommend this to friends and business associates definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Hotel is a bit far from where city center is (we are talking about 10mins taxi ride 2 dollar or so), but is very close to airport freeway entrance which can almost be considered as a plus, especially during traffice hour.
What makes this hotel stand out is their service. I called that REAL SERVICE- At front entrance, a taxido like dressed girl (door girl/man?) already on stand by, greet us with a BIG smile; the girl who checked us in, walked out of her counter, sent up personally to elevator, she even got inside the elevator and pressed the button! our bellman was not so great with his english, but man, his attitude was SO sincere, he managed to tell us where and how things work in the room. I have asked for an extra astray, the girl showed up with also a book of matches as well, another score there. I am not sure how this hotel did their training, but all the maids i met in hallway, stopped and greet me... for my 5 days stay, I was overwhelmed by smile, smile, smile. I was very impressed by the staff attitude, everyone was passionate about their job. rooms layout were nice, Ipod dock combined radio was useful, Laptop connected TV screen was easy to operate... Oh, btw their internet is free, great value for the money paid here. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveyVong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Location is not superb, but in Shenzhen you will catch a taxi everywhere so it doesn't matter too much. We paid approx 190 USD per night for an Executive room, whilst the separate toilet was in a separate 1x1m "room" with a very dim light (creepy-dim, not romantic-dim), the bathroom was nice. Views of shenzhen from the room was not impressive, as the city looks dirty and polluted.

Unfortunately taxi drivers have NO IDEA where this hotel is so you'll have to make sure you carry a small map with the name with you. One of ours dropped us off a 15 minute walk away and we had to walk in humid 35 degree heat back to the hotel because the city has a lack of cabs too. Other taxi drivers were very confused, they have limited English ability so you need to be precise. We memorised the surrounding buildings just in case.

Executive room allowed access to the lounge, which provided a free afternoon meal and access to the internet. The staff can mix drinks for you and the food is quite delicious - in fact it almost sufficed as dinner so our meal at night was much smaller!

The most impressive thing about the hotel which stayed in my memory is the staff. It was raining VERY hard and no taxi's were available, which is common. Two hotel staff actually went OUT, in the thundering rain, to the main road in the pouring rain located about 30m from the hotel entrance to flag down passing taxi's!!! We waited only another 15 minutes before concierge advised us our taxi was here. They did it for similar guests looking to go out. Our taxi passed the hotel staff on the way out - the poor guys only had on a clear thin raincoat and their shoes were soaked!

By international standards, the rate for which we paid was a bargain for the quality of service we received. English was not usually a problem. The only eerie thing was that there were not very many guests at this hotel, saw only about 3-4 other rooms being occupied. The staff to guest ratio was entirely outnumbered.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I have never written a review before, but I was so impressed that when I saw this site I just had too.

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days, food was great, service was great, staff friendly and the rooms were modern and roomy. I had a number of my suppliers that came to pick me up or have dinner with me at the hotel and they all commented on how nice it was. I was very good value and for me breakfast was included (which was great and caters for all).

I enjoy swimming and it has a fantastic pool on the 4th floor with great sun loungers around it.

It is a very good base in Shenzhen!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sommet380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#9 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
1,171 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#20 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
607 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
1,053 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#11 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#11 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#36 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £106 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing