We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
Ranked #2 of 2,767 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always again!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It´s not the first time for me to stay in this hotel and it won´t be the last time. I´m travelling quite often in China so I saw many good and bad hotels but the service and the high quality standart that Ritz Carlton provides is always amazing and within the best you can get! If you have the chance to stay there, treat yourself well and you won´t regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    176
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
66
37
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week recently.The location, right opposite the Convention and Exhibition Centre is excellent, the rooms and facilities are modern and clean and the staff are generally helpful. I stayed on the Club Lounge level and I enjoyed the Club Lounge Services.

I had an unpleasant experience on checkout which I reported to Management and to their credit they did their best to remedy things for me. This incident was caused by an poorly trained staff member in the Club Lounge with inadequate English skills. I have stayed in many hotels throughout China and I found the standard of English of some staff in service areas in this particular hotel was disappointing. I don't expect everyone to speak English but I do expect that staff in a high service area in a Western brand hotel should be able to communicate with me.

The other thing I found surprising was the lack of sensitivity to the local (Cantonese) culture. There are very few Cantonese speakers employed at this hotel, even though the hotel is located in the Pearl River Delta right next to Hong Kong. Although Shenzhen is an artificial city populated by migrants from all over China, the establishment and business people in the manufacturing and business districts from Shenzhen north to Guangzhou (the people often visited by Western businessmen) prefer to speak Cantonese, as do visitors from Hong Kong. Cantonese is spoken In shops and service areas throughout Shenzhen, even the announcements on the local metro. But this hotel employs almost exclusively Mandarin speakers with little knowledge of Cantonese culture and fairly poor English, so a Cantonese speaker from HK would have to struggle with English to try and deal with them. Most Western visitors probably wouldn't know the significance of this, but pride in Cantonese culture, high standards of behaviour and knowledge of local customs are important to local people in Guangdong province and HK people and they are completely overlooked by this hotel. I have suggested to the hotel management (who are non-Chinese and presumably ignorant of these cultural issues) that they look at this question if they want to increase their attractiveness to HK and overseas Chinese visitors.

Overall my experience was good and I was happy with management's prompt response to my problems on checking out, nevertheless I feel that this issues I referred to above need looking at.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay the extra, the Club Lounge is a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See-Tai-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Z, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear See-Tai-Fan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our ladies and gentlemen at all times strive to provide service excellence that exceeds expectations and your feedback is very encouraging for us.
I am delighted to know that your overall stay was pleasant with the exception of the delay at check-out. However, I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our response in turning things around.
We will certainly review your comments with the team to ensure improvements are made.
In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours,

Raghu Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed for 4 nights during March 2014 for business trip in Shenzhen.
The hotel location is nice, near an expensive shopping mall with restaurants.
The room was huge, superb bathroom and shower.
The in room internet connection was fast and reliable.
I tried to room service for some dinner and find it good.

Overall: Very good choice for business travels and tourists.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

i am going to review the mall in Shenzhen, Coastal City. This place includes many types of restaurants like Chinese food, Korean food, Japanese food and Western food. There are also many entertainment like karaoke, ice rink and arcades. However, even though this is a huge mall, it can be a negative thing because you might get lost and theres so many people so you have to wait when you go into restaurants. The positive things of this mall is that it includes almost everything family and friends need to enjoy themselves. Adults and young adults would enjoy this place since it has great entertainment. However, young children might not enjoy this place as much because its tiring to walk around the big mall. In conclusion, coastal city is a great place to hang out on a weekend with your family and friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 黄 楷
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Really outstanding experience from the beginning to the end, and everything in between.

I arrived late morning and as I walked up to the reception desk where I was immediately intercepted where a smiling woman told me since there were two people in line at each station for checking in, she invited me up to the club level to check in there "if I wouldn't mind."

The experience there was just great, no only no wait, but a very comfortable chair and an immediate offer of a drink of my choice (just had water). They also apologized that my room wasn't ready yet (I wouldn't have expected it should be that early), but I was welcomed to hang out at the club level (great views, comfortable couches, food, and drink)...

I'll stop describing now, as this review would get very very long. My 6 night stay literally would mirror this level of service and thoughtfulness throughout my stay. Was it perfect? Not quite, 95%+ of the time it really was close, and they did try at all times.

From remembering your name, preferences, at almost every level, to trying to surprise/delight whenever they could find a way, just really wonderful all around...

Just outstanding on so many levels and a true immersive experience indeed. I can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Though I didn't have it beyond my arrival, the Club level is probably worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It is not easy to find a good hotel in China, service wise; but Shenzhen Ritz is different. Its facility may not be the best (intercon or even jw can be better) but its service is top notch. You can feel the staffs want to go beyond the standard procedure to help every customer; unlike in other "so-called luxury" hotels, the staffs just perform whatever is written in their employee handbook and no further.
It is definitely the no. 1 choice next I go visit Shenzhen. Btw, the breakfast buffet is great too!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is in a very good location and the rooms are good size, bright, and very comfortable, but it's the staff (every department in the entire place) that will keep you coming back. I've stayed about 10 different times, and you never have to ask twice for anything.
The biggest problem is this level of service raises the bar so high it will ruin you from staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: I like the room very cool, so the staff will adjust my thermostat manually to bring the temp down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#6 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#7 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#15 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#4 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
Address: 116 Fuhua San Road | Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#1 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#56 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing