We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Station Hotel
Ranked #189 of 2,843 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed in this hotel now on two occasions, although the rooms require updating the beds are very comfortable. This hotel is in a convenient location for any one who has entered China from Hong Kong by foot as it is as the name suggests close to the railway station and shops. For anyone wishing to have a break in this city and on a budget this could be the hotel for you. Remember you get what you pay for. Payment can be made by credit card with no problems later.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amatwearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel has had mixed reviews - because there are two Railway Station Hotels in the same block. I stayed in the one with Berlin Cafe. It was well 'done up' - a nice room that was comfortable and quiet and had all of the facilities. Free breakfast was limited but I had lunch and dinner there from the a la carte and that was both nice and also a very good price. Location is perfect for the market and HK. My conclusion is that given you have to chose the Berlin Cafe - then this is a good cheap hotel - enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelmo_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Very near to railway station and MTR to Hong Kong. Spacious room and good value but need a lot of improvement in cleanliness and maintanence. Old hotel, air-cond smell terrible and dirty carpet. You get what you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumpling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This hotel is very good if you're planning getting around Lowu and border to Hong Kong. First i come, they offered me for the standard one (old hotel), but I'm not sure o i insist to check out or look out form the room first. Im 3 person. When i look out the room for old hotel, i see the old, smelly and not bright room. and the alley hotel is old and smelly to. So, i change room to the new one, and i've got my room in 769, which is surprise me that the room is new, big and clean (because the building is new i think). we had 2 breakfast. I will come back for this hotel (the new hotel) for sure if i come bak to Shenzhen fro HK. fyi, they ask for deposit around rmb800. and they allow us to keep our baggage when we're check out the next day for couple hour. it really helping us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiMiYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is very good if you are crossing the border and need to stay close, or if you are taking a train. Also convient because it is open 24 hours and always seem to have rooms.
We arrived at 2 am because we had flown Guilin-Shenzhen and needed to cross the border to Hong Kong in the morning. The taxi driver took us to its sister hotel which seems a lot worse so we insisted but it was difficult. I recomend if you come by taxi and cant speak chinese you show the taxi driver the picture of the reception, with the cafe berlin in it.
The receptionists was very friendly and spoke good English. He wanted to speak about Spanish football when he saw our passports. He took a 800 yuan deposit from credit card and then explained how to get into our room. we took the cheapest room at 360 yuan.
The room didnt have windows, though we didnt mind as it was big, fairly new and clean and the beds were really comfortable ( we like hard beds, good for your back). The bathroom was new and modern.
The price included a free buffet breakfast, which, for our taste, was quite good and variate.
On the other side, the smell of the room was quite funny, probably due to the carpets, as if it wasnt aired for a while. Some detailes in the room looked a bit dirty and not maintained very well, considering how new it is. All in all. are happy for taking it as the location and the price suited us and would take it again with the same purpose. But may be not so good if I stayed a few nights or wanted to spend more time in the hotel room.

Room Tip: be careful, dont get sent to its sister hotel. If you dont speak chinese it is best to have the pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

There are two Railway Station Hotels near each other. They are sister hotels with a major difference. The first, and less expensive hotel is mainly for locals. They only take cash payments, the rooms are dingy, not particularly clean and you will find things such as broken faucets (dangerously sharp), dirty carpet with holes and walls where the wallpaper has been removed. This hotel does not even get one star.

However, the second hotel, just a few hundred meters away, is the Railway Commercial Hotel (the sign still reads Railway Station Hotel). This is a totally different operation. They take credit cards, the rooms are clean, and the amenities are very decent. You will know you are in the right hotel if it has the Berlin Cafe in it; the hotel is also closer, across the street, from the Shangri La Hotel. When you check in you will get a coupon for the restaurant which is in the other RRS hotel, down the block. That restaurant, Yu Gui Yuan, is actually very good but, it will greatly help if you speak Mandarin or have a translator (human or electronic) available.

The rooms cost between 200RMB and 300RMB per night (say $30 - $45, or €22- €32 at this writing), so it is quite a bargain. Breakfast in the Berlin cafe is decent, with a good choice of Asian and Western foods available. The location is good, being at the railway station just across from Hong Kong and you can hop on the MRT (subway) and go pretty much anywhere you like in Shenzhen. There are many restaurants in the area and two great tea markets very close by. This area is China as you might see it if you were in the middle, non-tourist areas, combined with a very modern, big city atmosphere that is Shenzhen. You could stay at the Hyatt Grand Regency a mile or so away, but you'd pay 10x as much and thenyou might as well be in New York or London. It's about a 15 minute walk, or a 15 minute cab ride (lots of traffic and one way streets) to the Hyatt, but you can find all the Prada, D&G, Rolex (real) and Dior type shopping in the mall over there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

There are actually two railway station hotels..I think some reviewers might have been mistaken for the old one. This one is the new hotel (at least refurbished). The rooms are relatively clean, and spacious. The customer service is quite ok, (but dont expect 4 star hotel treatment or English). Its very close to the HK/Shenzhen border so its quite convenient for a stay overnight before heading to Hong Kong. There is an internet cable. (but of course no facebook or other "dangerous" websites)
The breakfast (free) is subpar...along with many other Chinese owned hotels. If you want a decent breakfast..you have to go to a western chain. The price, comfort level is quite good. I would recommend it for a 1-2 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Luohu Port
The Overseas Chinese Building
The Overseas Chinese Building
#1,088 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
25 reviews
Dongmen
Lee Garden Hotel
Lee Garden Hotel
#846 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Century Plaza Hotel
Century Plaza Hotel
#70 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
447 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
2,243 reviews
Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport
Yifeng Business Hotel
Yifeng Business Hotel
#1,092 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Station Hotel

Address: New Raillway Station Building, Jianshe Road, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 2,843 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Railway Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing