We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Shenzhen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Ranked #10 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Shenzhen”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Simply the best hotel in Shenzhen with its central location in Luohu, part of the Mixc City development, 5-star service, and modern amenities. The perfect place for the business traveler with wireless throughout the hotel, spacious rooms with modern work desk, rain showers, cappucino machines in the room, wireless phones, and high ceilings. The rooms are designed well with a comfortable bed, large plasma screen, and ipod player.

I would highly recommend spending the extra cash for the Grand Club lounge which gives you a great cocktail service in the evening and breakfast in a modern lounge. Most importantly you are cared for by a wonderful staff who take care of your every needs. They have a popular buffet restaurant popular with the locals but would suggest the Italian Restaurant and European as my favorites. They have a wonderful lounge club called "Penthouse" on the highest floor, which is something you would see in Hong Kong or Shanghai. Great drinks, service, and atmosphere.

The fitness center is modern equipped with all of the most modern equipment. Fitness staff are helpful and can help you come up with a routine or improve your work outs. Pool is outside with a modern design. Perfect for the near year round good weather in Shenzhen.

The only negative of the hotel is that you need to switch elevators quite a bit due to its unique design. Also sometimes it can be difficult to get a taxi in this location. On the flip side due to its central location you can get to all of the other districts as well as a quick 5 minute taxi ride to get to the trains that take you to Hong Kong or Guanzhou.

One of the best hotesl in China.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Grand Club Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBaySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    208
    32
    7
    13
See reviews for
35
53
39
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed here with friends and parents over New Years Eve.

The hotel entrance and driveway was a little hard to find by car, we ended up going into the hotel's garage and entering the hotel from underground which was a little annoying with our luggage. Signs on the road should be more visible. Even after we found it, we would still miss it sometimes and have to drive back again. The hotel is near the Louhu border crossing into Hong Kong which is nice.

The ground floor lobby desk is small and unassuming and from the direction we came, almost didn't even see it. We were directed to take an elevator up to the top floor those set of elevators operated to check in at the main lobby. It was an interesting concept for the lobby to be the top floor and the views were really nice. Check-in took a little longer than necessary.

This is the first time we asked what there was to do to celebrate the New Years celebration that night. We were told, nothing much would be happening since most people would cross the border and go into Hong Kong. We were told there was a bar district and that the hotel itself had a bar (The Penthouse) which we could go to if we liked.

We took another set of elevators to get to our room. The hallways were really dark which we didn't like. The room was a unique design, we walked through a bathroom with a shower and tub right in the center of the entryway before we entered the bedroom. The glass doors and walls of the bathroom frosted over when you slid them apart, which was a feature I really liked because it kept the bathroom nice and bright. I also liked the automatic lighting and dimming switches right next to the bed and the automatic curtains as well.

Before we went to explore the area, we asked hotel staff again to confirm something to do for the night. We were assured most people went to Hong Kong and that the Penthouse would be open if we would like.

After dinner, we went to the main Lobby, to take another set of elevators to the Penthouse. As we were waiting for the elevators, the staff at the desk asked us if we had reservations. We were informed that without reservations we weren't getting in to the Lounge. It was already 11:30pm. What could we do? We then went to ask Concierge for the bar district, who also tried to tell us about the Penthouse. We asked maybe other hotels in the area would have another lounge, but When we told them we didn't have reservations, they seemed shocked. I tried to give a complaint to another staff member, who also suggested we visit the Penthouse. I lost it a little bit at this point. Why would they tell guests who are asking for something to do and clearly do NOT have reservations anywhere to go to a place that is already fully booked. The staff all seemed really lost on what to say, do, or remedy this. They didn't even seem to think this was a problem at all.

At 11:50 We finally just went down to ground floor and asked for a map and directions to the bar district. After we were given this, we were told getting a taxi at this time would be impossible and walking there would be unsafe. This was just so frustrating! All the staff gave us more information than necessary, but none of it was relevant or useful to us in the end.

We walked around the outdoor area for awhile, then went back to the room. Happy New Year!

We did use the heated pool. The staff there were also nice. The jacuzzi in the changing rooms was so hot neither my sister, nor I could even get in past our ankles. The showers and amenities were nice. There is also a swimsuit dryer which was helpful since we were checking out that day.

Overall, I would stay here again, but I hope the service will have improved by then and hopefully the staff more trained and informed by then as well. The multiple elevators was also a little annoying especially if you're traveling with people with disabilities or who have trouble walking, but I don't think that can be fixed.

Room Tip: if English speaker, ask for English speaking staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank where_is_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I have always stayed at Hyatt hotel whenever we travel, we like the consistence of service level that Hyatt provides. The Hyatt in Shenzhen is one of the best in Asia i would say, its absolutely great value in terms of the room rate, quality of food, location and the service. This hotel is still very new and the hotel staffs are very friendly, what we like the most is the variety of restaurants. The breakfast at show kitchen is great, the manager Bob, he still remembers that i love ice lemon tea after 3 months of my first visit !! The food at 1881 is great but i wish they have a dim sum restaurant as i was kind of expecting that i could get very good dim sum like 1 harbor road at grand hyatt hk.....
We were staying over the weekend and we followed the suggestion of Bob to try the sunday brunch at the belle-vue, its just 388rmb for members. We loved the fresh oysters, foie gras, steak tar tar etc. I think its the best classic western restaurant. Its definitely great value for such fine dining restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alittletwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I've had the good fortune to stay in many nice hotels around the world and this would have to be one of my favorites, especially at the price we paid. Spacious well appointed room, excellent staff and just an amazingly stylish and comfortable environment. I went with a friend and we got a room with two twin beds. The glass encased bathroom is pretty cool. At first we couldn't figure out how one was going to take a shower without disturbing the other. Then I found when I slide the wood lattice in front of the bathroom the glass suddenly becomes opaque. Must be an LCD in the glass. Super cool! Anyway, the hotel made our new years party. One piece of advice, we opted for the breakfast included package. At the rates we paid it was stupid not too, fantastic breakfast for virtually nothing, and a fraction of the price you would have to pay if you didn't opt for the package!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCaptainHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The Hotel is located nearby the border, so it´s very easy to come to Hong Kong quickly. It´s brand new and it´s really nice. There are many restaurants in the Hotel.
The hotel itsself is very modern and it´s a very nice design. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. The best is the price - it´s about RMB 1.000,- only.... Great price for such a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This was the last of our hotels we would stay at during our trip in China.
We previously stayed at: Beijing Hyatt, Beijing Grand Hotel, Shanghai Sofitel, Beijing China World Hotel.

This hotel was simply the best! It was also one of the cheapest hotels we paid for but it was totally amazing. The great view, the luxury of the room with the automatic blinds opening and displaying the floor to ceiling windows and view of Shenzhen was breathtaking!

The bar at the top of the hotel is also beautiful! Everything is good about this place! Especially for the rate you pay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILove2travelDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This hotel is mind-blowing. Everything is brand new and just perfect. The staff are exceptional...

The Hotel.

Wonderful modern decor and spacious rooms. Modern exquisite bathrooms, luxurious beds with feather pillows, large screen LCD, wonderful toiletries, and fantastic views of the City. All the usual stuff you'd expect from a world class hotel is there! Great pool, spa, gym.. .the list could go on and on! I stayed in 4 hotels during this trip to Shenzhen but this one is by far the best. Its royal! Food - 5 star!

Service

Brilliant. Everyone speaks English and everyone and I mean everyone is polite and greats you the moment they are in your proximity. My favourite person was one of the bell-boys calls Steven. His English was fabulous and he took time to assist me with visa enquires and planning my trip back to Hong Kong.

I cant think of a hotel that would surpass this one in Shenzhen. I am certainly going back there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraMura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
877 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#4 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
306 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shenzhen

Property: Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Address: No.1881 Bao'an South Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#9 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing