We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Excellent location... So many malls all around... Buffet food is amazing.. Quality is very good... Rooms are huge, clean and view from room is amazing. Costa coffee is on ground floor and helps in great deal for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Try the room facing the main rood, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaketSaraogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have mixed feelings about this property, but cannot deny that the location is outstanding. The hotel is situated in the heart of the electronics market area of Shenzhen, so is a suberb location if you are in town for business.

The positive aspects of this hotel are numerous. First, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. I've not seen an American hotel chain offer as expansive an array of complimentary bathroom amenities in at least a decade. Complimentary bottled water is provided to your room on a daily basis, and (at least in the suites) a plate of fruit is also dropped off daily. Although smoking is still prevalent in Shenzhen, I was pleased to see that the hotel had a non-smoking floor. The staff was all very courteous, and a few staff members spoke conversational English.

There are also negatives about the hotel. First, the bathrooms have some kind of open septic drainage system, which perfumed the room with the smell of sewage on a regular basis. The property boasted a complimentary lounge on the 36th (or 46th?) floor - which purportedly offered tea service and snacks to those of us on the executive floors - but this lounge was closed throughout our stay. Similarly, the lobby bar was never open when we walked past, although it was supposed to be available until 11pm every night. These concerns are as inconsequential as rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic as compared to my biggest issue with the property, however. My husband came back to the hotel late one evening after a work function. Upon arriving on our floor, he realized he did not have the card key to the room, and I did not hear him knocking. A hotel employee happened upon him standing outside of our room and let him in. The employee never checked for any form of identification or confirmation of reservation before allowing my husband access to the room. As a female traveler, this causes me huge concern.

I rated the hotel as a 4-star because again, it is a beautiful property and a great location. We will probably stay at the Huaqiang Plaza Hotel again when we return to Shenzhen, but I will always be sure to utilize the in-room deadbolt in the future. We have phones - if my husband gets locked out again, he can call and wake me up. I promise I'll let him into the room!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonSummerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This Hotel is ideally located in the Business Area of Futian District. It's a 10mins taxi ride to Luohu Area. The staff is very helpful, the hotel looks fairly new, the breakfast buffet is good enough and offers a good variety for foreigners. There is a Starbucks located on the ground floor which is open from 7am until 11pm. The view is excellent. I stayed on the Executive rooms floor. The lobby is on the 23rd floor.

Ms. Susan the Assistant Manager is brillant and she can help you with any advise you may need. The Concierge service is also very good. The SEG Electronic, LED, Mobile and Computer markets are only a stone's throw away, I stayed here for 9 nights in Oct. 2011 and 7 nights in Nov. 2011.

Overall an excellent choice and the rates are very reasonable value for money if booked under a Corporate name having your local company do the booking. RMB540 around inclusive of breakfast. The bed is large enough for two adults, the work table provided along with free wired Internet and LCD TV add to the comforts. There is also a sofa with a coffee table. The Glass Elevator ride from the top Room floors to the the ground floor lobby is nice and offers a birds eye view of the area.

The way to the Subway is through the lower floors below the ground floor and through a mall, very convenient, straight from the Room to underground level to the Subway! The close by Moi Supermarket is excellent and has everything you may need.

Also located nearby is a Toy shop building and Ladies Marker Building for shopping. The MOI Department store has a food court and Cinema Multiplex. All major bank ATM's and few money changers are located in this area with many McDonalds and KFC's too, also a Hong Kong restaurant "Rose" is near the Hotel. The Subway entrance on the main road is just outside the Hotel.

Complimentary Chinese Tea, Coffee, Bottled Water, minibar, hairdryer, shampoo, bath foam, toothbrush with paste, soap, comb, razor, bedroom slippers, bath robe etc. are all provided to make your stay a comfortable one. The Laundry service is reasonable, they also have a room service menu but the rates are quite steep for most items.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors which are exclusive and quieter, with a better view, must face the main Hua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

huaqiang plaza is the best hotel in shenzhen .Its in the centre of the electronics market and very big and beautiful,the rooms are very big and clean.stall is very nice and polite,breakfast so many things to eat that its enjoy food lovers and wow the presentation is excellent

Room Tip: i stay in this hotel regularly and i feel homely ,hotel is very very nice and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAY_MUNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I went to Shenzhen in March 2011 for Business . I had to visit some business establishments in Huaqiang Bay and hence this hotel was the ideal choice as it is in the center of the business district. I found the outer elevation to be quite impressive. Lobby is not on the ground floor but there is a coffee shop which I found to be quite useful for having my business meetings there. There is ample space in the lobby also. Lobby is quite impressive but the front office staff was not very fast. They were slow in doing their job. I had a rooms on the 25 th floor so the outer view from the room was good. Rooms are quite spacious and the bed /sleep quality was really good. For me breakfast was not good as I am a vegeterian and there were very few things available for me. In all experience was not bad.

Room Tip: take room on a higher floor for a good view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanjayAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

this is a very beautiful hotel this hotel is near electronic market and the hotel lobby is on 21st floor i stayed at 30 floor of this hotel and the interior of the hotel is very nice and i m happy to come back in this hotel and it is cheap hotel and the view from the room is very good and all the services in hotel is good............... in rating i rate 4* out of 5

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhargav1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in May. The location is odd, very busy street and once you enter the building you must take the elevator to the lobby, there is only 1 elevator.
I booked a business king room at USD$92. The check-in was slow as they were busy in the afternoon. they didn't have any non-smoking rooms.
The room wasn't very clean; stains on the bed and carpet, cigeratte ash in the corner. The decor and furniture is terrible particle board that has water damage/stains. The bathroom and shower was tiny. Construction going at an adjecent building that was super noisy all night. The bed was too soft. For a 4-star hotel at this price I was expecting a cleaner, nicer room with better decor, larger bathroom, and better service. I have stayed places cleaner and nicer for half the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steelerfans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#40 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
354 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
318 reviews
Huaqiang North
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#54 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#50 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
295 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Zhuzilin
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huaqiang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huaqiang Plaza Hotel

Address: No.1019A Huaqiang Plaza, No.1019 Huaqiang North Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518100, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £70 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huaqiang Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huaqiang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing