We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huaqiang Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 2,744 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I reserved a business room in the Huaqiang Plaza Hotel with the reference of my Shenzhen supplier. My room was on the 29th floor and was big, comfortable and clean. As I arrived late evening I asked the hotel to reserve a driver to pick me from the airport. Like any other service in the hotel, pickup was arrange in duty and was excellent.
Although this is a Far East hotel, Food in the restaurant was of a good standard with a some selection of western and local dishes. Add on of some vegetarian food could be of helpful.
The hotel is located above the North Huaqiang Metro station. If you wish to go to Hong Kong or to Shenzhen Airport it is better to take a 5 minute walk to the Huaqiang Metro station which serves those two directions without the need to switch subway lines.
My choice when I go again to Shenzhen

Room Tip: If you wish to buy electronic - this is the place - be careful with prices as they are times higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelAvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    106
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
4
7
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Huaqiang Plaza looks like a 5 star hotel. the rooms are big, comfy and clean. The only downsides are: the staff is limited on their english, since it is on one of the main streets leaving and arriving @ traffic hours is crazy, and since the hotel starts on floor 26 there is a little bit of a hassle with the elevators but you always get a good view.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Tried this hotel after readiing other reviews and was not disappointed. Stayed in an executive room on the 34th floor with a great room and nice views. The room itself was comfortable and very spacious. The bathroom was quite modern and a little different. Staff service was excellent in the foyer on the 23rd level. A late check-out of 1 pm allowed for some last minute shopping at the Luoho area (a 15 mins metro ride from the hotel). Food in the restaurant was of a good standard with a large selection of western and local dishes. Wi-fi in the rooms was a little patchy at times.

Room Tip: If you are into electronics shopping, this is area to shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hideho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manche, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Located above a metro station (the lift actually goes down into the station) and in the heart of the city. For those in the electronics industry or looking for electronic goods it is on the same street as everyone you will want to visit.
Huge choice of eateries nearby.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Huaqiang North Metro Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceProTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Excellent location... So many malls all around... Buffet food is amazing.. Quality is very good... Rooms are huge, clean and view from room is amazing. Costa coffee is on ground floor and helps in great deal for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Try the room facing the main rood, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaketSaraogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have mixed feelings about this property, but cannot deny that the location is outstanding. The hotel is situated in the heart of the electronics market area of Shenzhen, so is a suberb location if you are in town for business.

The positive aspects of this hotel are numerous. First, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. I've not seen an American hotel chain offer as expansive an array of complimentary bathroom amenities in at least a decade. Complimentary bottled water is provided to your room on a daily basis, and (at least in the suites) a plate of fruit is also dropped off daily. Although smoking is still prevalent in Shenzhen, I was pleased to see that the hotel had a non-smoking floor. The staff was all very courteous, and a few staff members spoke conversational English.

There are also negatives about the hotel. First, the bathrooms have some kind of open septic drainage system, which perfumed the room with the smell of sewage on a regular basis. The property boasted a complimentary lounge on the 36th (or 46th?) floor - which purportedly offered tea service and snacks to those of us on the executive floors - but this lounge was closed throughout our stay. Similarly, the lobby bar was never open when we walked past, although it was supposed to be available until 11pm every night. These concerns are as inconsequential as rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic as compared to my biggest issue with the property, however. My husband came back to the hotel late one evening after a work function. Upon arriving on our floor, he realized he did not have the card key to the room, and I did not hear him knocking. A hotel employee happened upon him standing outside of our room and let him in. The employee never checked for any form of identification or confirmation of reservation before allowing my husband access to the room. As a female traveler, this causes me huge concern.

I rated the hotel as a 4-star because again, it is a beautiful property and a great location. We will probably stay at the Huaqiang Plaza Hotel again when we return to Shenzhen, but I will always be sure to utilize the in-room deadbolt in the future. We have phones - if my husband gets locked out again, he can call and wake me up. I promise I'll let him into the room!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSummerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This Hotel is ideally located in the Business Area of Futian District. It's a 10mins taxi ride to Luohu Area. The staff is very helpful, the hotel looks fairly new, the breakfast buffet is good enough and offers a good variety for foreigners. There is a Starbucks located on the ground floor which is open from 7am until 11pm. The view is excellent. I stayed on the Executive rooms floor. The lobby is on the 23rd floor.

Ms. Susan the Assistant Manager is brillant and she can help you with any advise you may need. The Concierge service is also very good. The SEG Electronic, LED, Mobile and Computer markets are only a stone's throw away, I stayed here for 9 nights in Oct. 2011 and 7 nights in Nov. 2011.

Overall an excellent choice and the rates are very reasonable value for money if booked under a Corporate name having your local company do the booking. RMB540 around inclusive of breakfast. The bed is large enough for two adults, the work table provided along with free wired Internet and LCD TV add to the comforts. There is also a sofa with a coffee table. The Glass Elevator ride from the top Room floors to the the ground floor lobby is nice and offers a birds eye view of the area.

The way to the Subway is through the lower floors below the ground floor and through a mall, very convenient, straight from the Room to underground level to the Subway! The close by Moi Supermarket is excellent and has everything you may need.

Also located nearby is a Toy shop building and Ladies Marker Building for shopping. The MOI Department store has a food court and Cinema Multiplex. All major bank ATM's and few money changers are located in this area with many McDonalds and KFC's too, also a Hong Kong restaurant "Rose" is near the Hotel. The Subway entrance on the main road is just outside the Hotel.

Complimentary Chinese Tea, Coffee, Bottled Water, minibar, hairdryer, shampoo, bath foam, toothbrush with paste, soap, comb, razor, bedroom slippers, bath robe etc. are all provided to make your stay a comfortable one. The Laundry service is reasonable, they also have a room service menu but the rates are quite steep for most items.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors which are exclusive and quieter, with a better view, must face the main Hua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#38 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Huaqiang North
Pavilion Century Tower
Pavilion Century Tower
#71 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huaqiang North
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#62 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#11 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Huaqiang North
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#46 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huaqiang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huaqiang Plaza Hotel

Property: Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Address: No.1019A Huaqiang Plaza, No.1019 Huaqiang North Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518100, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 2,744 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Huaqiang Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Huaqiang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing