We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Hike”
Review of Wutong Mountain

Wutong Mountain
Ranked #12 of 492 things to do in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hiking Wutong Mountain is one of Shenzhen citizens’ most popular activities (and offers trails for all experience levels). It’s a great way to get exercise and breathtaking vistas. On a clear day you can see Hong Kong.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fun Hike”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hiked this with some coworkers and found this to be a fun, challenging hike. They have a fruit stand a little more than halfway up which helps. Also on the walk down (if you go the other side of the mountain down) you can stop at some buddhist temples which makes it for a great day!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice little hike in Shenzhen - convenient!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been up this mountain 3 times so far, last time was last Saturday. My advice is to go early to beat the heat and the crowds. I start hiking at 7am (or earlier) and take the gully trail. Nice stream with waterfalls and trees to shade the pathway going up. Be sure to like stairs!! Takes about 2 hours or so to go up. I advise NOT returning by path, put use the road. If you take the path down to return, you will be pushing your way through all the people going UP the hill. This is difficult on the narrow path. Not a problem on the road down. Road down takes about 2 hours since it is a bit longer. Great views from the top if it is clear! As always, don't bother bringing food or water - vendors are present every few paces...just bring RMB.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views, greenery everywhere”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

An amazing mountain hiking place, that I truly recommend to any foreign or local visitors to Shenzhen. Once you leave the entrance gate, you will find greenery and clean air, tough gradients, well-kept facilities including fruit and drink vendors, viewpoints, rubbish bins at regular intervals. Toilets are of a local standard, but at least they are available at each main stop of the tour. The views are amazing and definitely worth the effort. It took me 3 hours to go up to the top, and one our to walk down on the main road. I am in a relatively good health (training for a marathon), so allow more time for a leisurely hike. Also, I do recommend you bring a raincoat with you if there is any chance of rain on the hiking day - it will definitely rain then :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztravellerguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hike in Shenzhen”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This mountain was a bit tougher than I expected. It took me and my friend 3 hours to hike up and about 3 hours to hike down. We took a couple breaks along the way too. The road path was okay, we took that one on the way up. The alternate paths were okay but nothing too exciting, just trees and a stream. I would recommend taking the road on the way up and the smaller paths on the way down. The view from the top is nice, if you go on a clear day. I went on a smoggy day and the view was just so-so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hiking”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Take the hiking trail, not the road. Follow signs for the Teishen Gully trail from Wutong Village entrance. This trail pass near water falls to reach the Wutong and the shadows of trees is good on hot summer days. See the guide on every trail for "Wutong Mountain from Wutong Village" and take the "route 1" described.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gargamel781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wutong Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Wutong Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing