We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen(Shenzhen)
US$113
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
74
56
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
56
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea worldtwo bedroom apartmentquiet areahkg airportgym and swimming poolmain buildingrestaurants and barsfree upgradefree breakfastnice hotelfavorite hotelbooked this hotelclean roomsferry terminalbusiness hotelother hotelslocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is located not too far from the metro station 'Haishangshijie'. Actually there are several similar hotels around that place, where I find that Ascott is nearly the newest-opened hotel among them. The most amazing thing is the bathtub in the room and the balcony with the view of mount and sea(which wasn't mentioned when I made the booking). But there also are some tiny problems. The breakfast cost too much while it may not worth that price. And I didn't see any 'service' but still be charged 'service fee'.
Generally speaking, Ascott is a really nice place to stay and it does meet my expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesTsuiCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for choosing Ascott Maillen Shenzhen as your accommodation during your holiday in Shenzhen. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Staat the penthouse apartment for 2 nights in early Jan 2014.

I have got to say I was a quite disappointed with the apartment.
First of all, if you travel to Shenzhen by train from Hong Kong, it’s an hour taxi ride from the train station, if you go by ferry – only 5 minute away from Ascott.

Staff were friendly but I was quite surprised but the décor of the apartments and lobby.
When we first arrived at Ascott, noticed the lobby was huge but surprised they didn’t turn on the lights, really made the place very dim and gloomy. Once assisted to the service apartment, first thing I noticed was room did not match the pictures on the website.

The website photo shopped the rooms, the colours used in the rooms were very dull, was more brown colours and although furniture in pictures is all correct placing, the use of space and lighting in reality was poor. Really thought the design of the apartment made the room feel cheap.
Price was like the same for a 5 star hotel suite in China, and I was disappointed from what I got to the price I paid.

Walking from apartment to lobby, was quite a far walk, understandable since it’s a large complex, but walking through the public areas, the lack of decorations and cleanliness again reinforced what a poorly maintained complex this was. Again use of lighting was poor, and like many hotels, they had little ponds as décor around the edges of the walk ways, doesn’t seem like the water or pond has been either changed or cleaned in years.

Another lesson learnt, you must put the Do not disturb sign on the door, a lady knocked on the door to ask for laundry service early in the morning, in which no answer they then proceeded to enter the apartment and then enter the bedroom to wake you up to ask you. Was surprised and just annoyed at this.
Also, maintenance work, such as hammering and steam cleanning of couches was done in the morning and woke me up a few times.

Little things either compliment the hotel or add just add more to disappointment, in which this case did exactly that. I would not be staying here in the future.

In the same breathe, to be fair, I can see family stays here more suitable, there is a lot of space in the apartments, just don’t expect the rooms to be as appealing as it looks from the pictures in the website.

Room Tip: Stayed in the penthouse 2 BDR in building six, wasnt anything that special, probably better value sticking to the normal 2 BDR apartments, View wasnt great, you do get 2 levels but just a really big bedroom up stairs, lounge is quite small.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onnehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.

Please allow us to explain that the interiors of our apartments seen in the photographs on our websites were presented in best light during professional photography whilst using existing furnishings. They are intended only as general illustrations. All specifications, floor plans and details are for guidance only and are subject to change.

Once again, we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel is situated on the hill just about 500 meters from Sea World in Shekou. It is close but still far from noise and hustle of the city.
Rooms are excellent, shower could have been bit better, but it is workable. Bed is comfortable. Room temperature is independent of the temperature controller provided, maybe the temperature controller works only in summers, as the temperature did not go below 23.5 degrees, where as my preferred temperature is 20 degrees. Breakfast spread is adequate.
Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VipanSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Apartment hotel in Shekou district (30 km from downtown Luohu). 0.5 km from Sea World, MTR and main bus stops. 2 km from Shekou ferry terminal (to HK, HK airport, Macau etc.). Located at the foot of a small hill. Quiet and tranquil but a bit far from Shekou centre. Suitable for traveler who knows his way around Shekou and Shenzhen. Roomy apartments. There are a park and Maillen (fitness) club nearby. 2 km to Wal-Mart. 5 km to Coastal City (biggest shopping mall). 10 km to Window of the world.

Stayed in November 2013. Booked a one-bedroom premier apartment and was upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment.

Excellent and helpful staff. Good value breakfast (80 yuan). Soundproofing not good; occasional vehicle sound heard at night (stayed in a 3rd fl apartment in a 8-fl building). Some problem with drainage system for bahtrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the preferred location for us to put our business guests in Shekou. We have had many visitors stay there and they are all happy with the facility and service. It is within walking distance of the Sea World area which is good for jet lagged guests who need to take a walk late and very close to the ferry to the Airport

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotthuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews