We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North
Ranked #160 of 2,738 Hotels in Shenzhen
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms, I was a little dissapointed with breakfast. While what was there was very nice I found the selection not very good compared to other hotels I stayed at.Plenty of shops and restaurants around the hotel that have a great selection of food.
The only problem with this hotel is location, depending on what you want to do in Shenzhen, if it is shopping you would probably stay near Dongmen or Lohou railway station or closer to Shekou Sea World where you can find a lot of bars and Restaurants and also some shopping in the local streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    60
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
4
5
11
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I am an occasional business guest and choose this hotel primarily only due to convenience as it is very close to the office I need to visit. However, I am really considering to rather put up with a longer taxi ride (as this location is a bit out of town) and stay in another hotel due to ongoing disappointments. The Ramada is still relatively new, and even so the impression at first look is still good, there is a bit to be said about the building quality. This and the attached high building have been designed and built together, and the workmanship and planning that went into it is below standards. Failing lifts, very dark and damp (as not air conditioned) hallways is one indication. Paying a bit more attention one can see how the dampness has already affected the wall paint in the hallways. AC is normally off in the rooms if not occupied, which is ok, but windows have to be kept open then as the dampness needs to find its way out to avoid mould. Normally in a hotel, you cant even open the windows. Toilets are getting easily clogged and even so the staff is friendly, so far every single service boy bringing the luggage up to the room had at least given me his business card for some sort of personal business (alright...) or in the worst case, waited for cash and not moved an inch even so I said I have no RMB or small cash yet (need an ATM, which was in fact true). Eventually the service boy discovered HKD when looking into my wallet (!) and took HKD since I had to to make him leave the room. Sorry, no understanding for staff behavior like this in a hotel regardless where I am in the world.
Apart from the reception, the English skills of the staff are extremely poor.
Food and breakfast offers little western and coffee is not great (Amercian style on a hot plate), restaurants in walking distance are mainly Chinese with Chinese menus and no English-speaking staff.
However, as mentioned, generally staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are quite large and at least there is a breakfast with some selection.

Since I do stay a max of 2 nights or even less, its been ok considering the convenience, but the latest experience I guess will have me look for an alternative.

Room Tip: Despite the friendly and helpful staff, the rating for service suffers due to lack of English and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UWadlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shenzhen hotels

UAE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

People often visit Shenzhen as it is good place for shopping. Lohou district is where u should stay if that is ur intention. And if that is the case than Ramada plaza is far away. It is close to the Northern Metro station from where you could take metro to travel to any part of the city but it is still far away and would take a lot of time to reach to Lohou. Far from airport and the rental service charged 400 CNY. Its hard to find people in Shenzhen who would speak English and hence it was difficult for us to communicate even with the hotel staff.

Room Tip: I booked through booking.com. When we reached hotel standard rooms as per our booking were not avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is a a little far from the airport and took almost 1 hour and CNY 170 by taxi.
Everything else is good.
Location is good, near to market .
Service and hospitality is very good.
Breakfast is excellent.
Rooms are big, nice and clean.
I stayed 2 different times within a week, but once the room was smelling of fresh paint and had to change.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJG-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This Ramada is Franchised to an independent owner in Shenzhen and had some notable differences than Ramada hotels in the United States. First the location is somewhat isolated. However they do have a restaurant, cinema, convenience store, karaoke bar and message parlor all in the same complex. My girlfriend and I booked this hotel through Kayak and like many 5 star hotels found an extremely reason price for the standard rooms. We did encounter a problem upon check in as they could not find out reservation, but the hotel manager allowed us to check in while they confirmed our reservation with Kayak thus avoiding further delay. Coming from Hong Kong we found the standard rooms enormous with all of the facilities you would expect. Upon closer examination we found the quality of the room was somewhat on par with a 2 star US hotel. We noticed some wall paper peeling in minor areas and small holes in the bed sheets. Also the entire hotel is smoking friendly with fresh ash trays abounding. Our particular room was clean and didn't have any cigarette smell. The only cigarette smell we encountered during our stay was in the elevators and lobby. All of the facilities functioned properly and the bed was quite comfy which permitted a decent night's rest. I should note that we found it somewhat amusing and perturbing that the hotel took the liberty of providing an array of safe sex products on the nightstand as well as the corresponding prices. There were some interesting and confusing functions such as an intentionally dim lit corridor leading to our rooms and a confusing door lock and room lighting system. The next morning we paid a reasonable fee for breakfast buffet down in the lobby and had an amazing breakfast. I have heard horror stories about the lack of quality of mainland and HK 5 star hotels but for the price paid this hotel met our expectations and seemed on par with Shenzhen's luxury hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravel787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

A very nice hotel - spacious (2 super single bed and still have lots of walking room), clean and almost all basic amenities of 4~5star hotels.
Even if you add in a sofa bed, it's still ok.
Additional tip: There is a foot reflexology/massage saloon on the 7th floor. Very affordable. RMB45 for 70mins. Very well lit (unlike those dodgy suspicious ones), good service and they include a drink + some fruits, too!
If there is opportunity I will surely go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikeToTravel3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have stayed twice at this hotel, and both times have had trouble with the plumbing! The hotel is very new, so it seems nice. But beyond "looks" it has nothing to offer. The Chinese seem to love it, which should be a warning sign to all foreigners. The toilets don't flush, the door locks and key cards don't work, and the rooms reek of smoke. Smoking IS allowed in the hotel...all over. The elevators smell of smoke, and the Chinese men all smoke in the elevators. They smoke in the lobby and in the restaurant. The staff are NOT good with English, only some are. They just smile when they see someone LIGHT UP, and rush to offer ashtrays. I predict that within a year, this place will be a total dump. Maybe sooner, since the toilets don't work. But that doesn't bother the Chinese guests...no way! They LOVE this place...makes them feel like nouveau rich while they chow down on their crappy breakfast buffet (pushing and shoving for the free food.) The buffet is marginal by western standards. The price for the room is cheap, but only because they cannot get their asking price (1288 RMB)...they charge around 40-50 US Dollars for a room. It's not even worth that, because you don't have a working bathroom.I suppose if you were just going to use the room by the hour and skip the toilet, maybe you'd be OK. Again, it's your choice. We prefer to NOT stay with scum.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here. The toilets don't work in ANY rooms. Faulty plumbing system in ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiantian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Ramada Shenzhen Baoan Zhongtianm...
#1,143 of 2,738 in Shenzhen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Shenzhen North Railway Station
Selina Holiday Hotel
Selina Holiday Hotel
#472 of 2,738 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen North Railway Station
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Minzhi
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Minzhi
#209 of 2,738 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Shenzhen North Railway Station
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Meilong
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Meilong
#279 of 2,738 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North

Property: Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North
Address: Meilong Road, Minwand Road Cross Minzhi Road, Shenzhen 518000, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Shenzhen is a five-star international synthesis brand hotel in (Longhua) Shenzhen under the Wyndham Hotel Group which is one of the largest hospitality industry groups in the world which ranked the first place among the global owners on "Hotels" . At present, it encompasses more than 7,000 hotels and resorts around the world .Ramada Worldwide offers a welcoming and restorative experience in over 800 hotels around the world.Ramada Plaza Shenzhen is managed by Apartel Hotel Management Group. Hotel provides free wireless high speed Internet service, comfy beds, and a variety of hotel choices to match every trip; from a family vacation or “quick stop and recharge” to a full-scale conference or wedding. We strive to make our guests feel truly refreshed and restored, and to be themselves while travelling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing