We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property but very average staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Shenzhen
Ranked #6 of 2,833 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

like all new hotels, you would expect some typical glitches but for the St Regis? great looking rooms, very technologically advanced and some nice touches with lighting control, curtains and drapes control, volume of television etc. Great view as everyone has said. BUT the front office desk staff really has to improve thier attitude and knowledege of their product.

Butler service was fabulous. he was probably the only person that truly knoew what he was doing and had a high standard of english.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peonylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C, Manager at The St. Regis Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks to choose The St. Regis Shenzhen during your trip. Thanks for sharing the stay experience and suggestion. We will pass your suggestion to our management team and get the improvement as soon as possible. We do welcome you coming back to our hotel again! Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

The st Regis Shenzhen is truly jaw dropping. Check in is on the 96th floor after a quick elevator ride up. The 360 views are insane. The decor is classy and rich, not too over the top. The finishes are gorgeous, wood panelling, marble topped desks, comfortable chairs. All this and you haven't left the lobby yet. The rooms are equally gorgeous. Bathroom is huge, closets are nice size, and the decor is luxurious and comfortable. Room controls are done by iPad which is also cool. The pool is amazing as is the spa. All in all an amazing hotel. Best in Shenzhen by far.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Bobbyz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C, Manager at The St. Regis Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest! Many thanks for choosing The St. Regis Shenzhen during your trip. Also thanks for sharing your stay experiece in St. Regis. Welcom back again, we will always provide the bespoke service for you. Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

New hotel situated in Shenzhen, very convenient. Stunning view with nice facilities in hotel. With i-Pad for your room control, Nice and brand new "hardware" for guests.
Binocular stands for free, for guests to look around, which was the selling point definitely of the hotel. Every staff was wearing suits, using Macbook for you check-in. Comfortable Lobby and very "blink-blink" elevators.

However, there are some disappointing experience...... some of the staff need to wear the friendly smile on their face. Once you stepped in the lobby, just feel the busy pace of the staff in a suit, but not a friendly and welcoming environment. (coz they are preparing for a group of VIPs coming as i noticed)
Remember to bring your swimming cap if you wish to utilize the swimming pool, or spend RMB280(or 380?) for buying one there@.@

BUT, really appreciate the Guest relationship Manager, he reacted so fast after we wrote a letter about our review about the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for choosing The St. Regis Shenzhen during your trip, also thanks for sharing the stay experience and giving suggestions. We appreciate for the precious comments and will improve to be perfect as soon as possible. Thanks for your understanding and support! We do welcome you come to our hotel again and enjoy the bespoked service. Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I'd expect any new property to have its quirks. Too bad this one is no exception.
First the high points:
-Awesome building
-Some staff that deserve the St. Regis prestige
-Central location
-State of the art rooms. comfortable and quiet
Opportuniies to improve:
-don't expect to get much business done in the business center. Equipment is sparse and the staff doesn't really know how to operate the web access (all the computers are set for chinese - no english)
-the first time I tried to use a computer, the biz center was full of non guests waiting for job interviews. it was a holding room.
-airport pickup was a challenge. In beijing I've been met by a Audi A6 steps from the plane. In Shenzhen I got a Buick van that the driver didn't know how to control the air conditioning. We travelled most of the way to the city with the heat on - did I mention that it was sweltering outside? and oh, you pay a premium for he Buick? Taxis are a fraction of the price and they know how to operate the AC.
-Speaking of taxis, I asked the gent at the hotel's taxi station to grab me a ride and his response was "I am too busy, go to the street and get one yourself". I made an issue of it (including a request to speak to the General Manager). While the staff made a sincere effort to apologize I'm still waiting for the general manager to contact me - it's been a couple of days.

Room Tip: While this property doesn't have an executive lounge. I'm told the starwood status gets you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C, Manager at The St. Regis Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for choosing The St. Regis Shenzhen during your trip, also thanks for sharing the stay experience and giving suggestions. We do apologize for the inconveniece and already notice the relevant department. Our Hotel Management will in contact with you soon for a service recovery. Thanks for your understanding and support! We do welcome you come to our hotel again and enjoy the bespoked service. Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is the best hotel in Shenzhen. It trumps my other favorites, the Intercontinental and the Shangri-La in Futian because the rooms are newer and higher up in the air, though I would say the dining options are probably still superior elsewhere (the experiences at Elba (Italian) and Social (International) were just average). The hotel opened in December 2011, and I stayed there three times in January 2012. The 96th floor lobby (where you can take the opportunity to check out which view you like the most before requesting a room at check-in) and bar/library on the 100th floor are quite spectacular spaces. Do not forget to take advantage and use the swimming pool as well. Hopefully by now, the issues with the sewage smell in the corridors on certain floors have been resolved.

The service I would rate not any better or worse than their competitors, though the “legendary” butler service continues to underwhelm me. The floor plans are slightly varied on different floors and there are numerous room layouts; so if you do not like the room assigned, ask to switch because they may very well have something that is in the same price category but more suited to your individual tastes. The corner rooms are quite small. The standard suites have not yet been released, so for SPG Platinum members, you will get the executive deluxe room (spacious room with a large enough bathroom) upgrade without the breakfast benefit. The only comment for the room is that the desk does not have a large working surface.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for choosing The St. Regis Shenzhen duiring your trip. We do appreciate you to share the stay experience and precious comments. Warmly welcome you to come back to The St. Regis Shenzhen again. Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spectacular views , perfect decor , professional and friendly staff, spacious rooms , comfortable bedding , spa ambiance in room bathroom , what else:) High class as expected from St Regis.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear guest, thanks so much for choosing The St. Regis Shenzhen during your trip. We appreciate you to share the stay experience and precious comments. Welcome to back again. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel, located in the heart of Shenzhen, is pure luxury. The rooms are state of the art, with all electronic gadgets you can think of. The view is stunning, the lobby in the 96th floor and the bar at the 100st floor are great.
The only downside is the lack of experienced staff. Some have really no clue what to do, and this is not only lack of understanding English.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The ST Regis S, Online Distribution Specialist at The St. Regis Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments.
We brought this to the attention of the related managers and please be assured that we are continuously working on improving our services and training.
We would like to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
978 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
475 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#16 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#18 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
2,222 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#12 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Shenzhen

Address: No.5016 Shennan East Road, Luohu District | 75-100F, Kingkey 100 Building, Shenzhen 518001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 2,833 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £217 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Regis Shenzhen occupies the 75th to the 100th floor of the Kingkey100 Building and commands only the impressive views from each of it's elegant guest rooms and seductive facilities. Located in the heart of the Luohu district in the successful Special Economic Zone, this exclusive urban hotel is the tallest St Regis in the world. With 290 beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2100 sqm of luxurious meeting space, the choice of 5 exquisite restaurants and bars plus a state of the art exercise room, 28m lap pool and the Iridium Spa, staying at the St Regis Shenzhen is an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. Regis Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing