We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, affordable, and spacious!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan
Ranked #60 of 2,862 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 20 August 2013

While travelling to Shenzhen on business we were given two options of hotels: (1) the crown plaza at about $300 a night or (2) the grand skylight international at about $100 a night - we opted for the least expensive and couldn't have picked better!
At check in we were told of a promotional offer if we signed up for their rewards club we would be offered a free upgrade/breakfast/Internet/parking etc. (So of course we signed up!). The staff were very attentive and unlike other tripadvisor reviews, we had no problems with language barriers.
Our room was spacious which included an large LCD tv, king bed, mini bar (drinks included in upgrade), laundry services (included 2 pieces a day in upgrade), bath tub, shower, office area, and electronic blinds etc.
the breakfast offered a large selection of western and eastern delights, and the tai chi Cantonese restaurant offered a very yummy dinner upon our arrival.
If you want an interesting experience go to the spa for a foot massage (a mere $10). It lasts an hour plus and is out of this world after a long day!

One caution is the hotel is far from the downtown core. You will either need a vehicle or a driver if you stay here.

Room Tip: Apply for their rewards membership for numerous free upgrades and benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have stayed at many "International" hotels in China, but never one that could not accomodate non-Chinese speaking business travelers. Until now.

This is a nice hotel, probably because it is new. The rooms are large enough, but smaller than most comparable hotels. It is in a bad area of Shenzhen - not safe and not convenient. The breakfast options are not great for a Westerner. The room seems clean, but I did notice they did not wipe the bathroom counter.

And, as mentioned in the title, no one here speaks more that a "little English". I choose "international" hotels because I do not speak the local language and expect the staff to be capable of English. This evening I wanted a massage, and you would think I wanted to meet the pope. I was pointed to the back of the health club by the first person, and then directed right back out the door by the second person. I went to the lobby, thinking my chances of finding an English-speaker might be better, but no such luck. It took 3 people to finally figure out that I could not get a massage because the massage place has no beds. Seriously?!!?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kadels_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The hotel was nice, but rather dead. We barely saw another group of people staying in the hotel other than in the restaurant areas.

Very nice bedroom and spacious bathroom. Lobby and bar area was craftily designed and looked like it could be a great venue for nightlife, but there was not a single soul to fill it. Over all the hotel felt eerily empty, which is a shame for the niceness and the attentiveness to detail in the hotel. Service is decent, but not the highest, but I figure that's only because they have not had many guests to practice on yet.

Hotel is rather far from the heart of Shenzhen.

Hotel management was very receptive to meeting the needs of us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Make a room via expedia ,price is reasonable ,not far from the city centre and Baoan airport .the hotel is the one of the best choice of travel and leisure . equiped with chinese and western restaurant , and one bar with Band , red wind , ciqar .in room,confortable king size bed ,HSIT and wifi , huge french window ,amazing night view .sweat smile of the staff ,efficient c/i and c/o .unforgettable experience !!

Room Tip: the best way to the hotel is to take the airport bus line 4 ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dominique z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank 445irist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdelwahid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#47 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
356 reviews
Guanlan
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
#23 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
247 reviews
Capri by Fraser Shenzhen
#73 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Garden Hotel
Grand Skylight Garden Hotel
#282 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
150 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#44 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
300 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#39 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan

Address: Huanguan South Road, Guanlan Avenue, Baoan District, Shenzhen 518110, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Guanlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 2,862 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing