We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan
Ranked #56 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice for the price. Rooms are clean and are a good size. The only problem I have with the room is the glass separating the bathroom from the room. One is able to pull down blinds for privacy but it doesn't cover 100%.

The food is plentiful at the breakfast Buffett but not as "international" as the hotel name would have you believe. It caters to the Asian customer more than the westerner.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmenaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

It's a brand new hotel, I think this might be the best hotels in this district. The design of the whole hotel is totally reasonable. Excellent gyms facilities, the front office and concierge service are good, but there is no heat pool, it's opened only in the summer time. The buffer breakfast is ok but the food quality and variety could be much better. Generally it's a good hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel is an about 45 min drive east of Shenzhen airport and I was told about 30 min from Shenzhen downtown.

Rooms are quite large, with a carpet and quite modern. Beds are reasonable soft and comfortable, better than a lot of other hotels in China.

Bathroom had a walk in shower and a bathtub. Quite OK.

Electric plugs are next to the bed and desk. However next to the desk only one plug was available.

Internet was slow, really slow. VPN was cut off every 3 min, FaceTime and Skype worked, but only for a few minutes that the connection dropped. Hence the above average rating.

Breakfast was quite limited for western dishes, but actually enough. Some bread, butter and marmalade. No cheese and no salami etc. Hence only bread and butter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I guess the only reason to be in this hotel is if you are visiting any company nearby. Hotel premises and rooms look good, I stated in an Executive Room, very nice, but there was nothing too extraordinary there, so just good looks, but entering into details, lacks real added value. Breakfast was ok, nothing very special, restaurants were so and so, one was ok, another one where we took a hot pot buffet was pretty bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luar_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times since it has opened and have been very pleased. Some on here talk about the staff as being not very good or not having good English but I have never seen either.

The hotel is starting to show wear in the rooms and it is not being properly maintained. This trip many channels on my TV were static and unwatchable and the bed was damaged. The mattress was shaped like a "V" and it was very uncomfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Brady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Vendor booked this hotel as close to their office.
Clean and huge rooms. Internet was very fast compared to other China hotels I have stayed.
Room is nice set up with a closet that can be reached from bathroom or the sleeping area.
Great work desk with mutiple outlets to keep all of your electronics powered & charged- no need to call for any adapters.
Bed was spotless and firm.
Drapes work on an electric motor going up & down- a bit hard to figure out, but great at blocking light a good sleep.
Shower head was broken the first night of my stay, but quickly repaired the next night. Water pressure moderate enough for hot refreshing shower.
Breakfast buffet includes mostly Chinese breakfast items with a few non-Chinese items. I ordered omelet which was made perfect. Had to ask every morning for plain yogurt.
Clean and comfortable new hotel. Made business trip to Guanlan a pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for room which faces the river instead of the road. Road is often filled with construction or hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

While travelling to Shenzhen on business we were given two options of hotels: (1) the crown plaza at about $300 a night or (2) the grand skylight international at about $100 a night - we opted for the least expensive and couldn't have picked better!
At check in we were told of a promotional offer if we signed up for their rewards club we would be offered a free upgrade/breakfast/Internet/parking etc. (So of course we signed up!). The staff were very attentive and unlike other tripadvisor reviews, we had no problems with language barriers.
Our room was spacious which included an large LCD tv, king bed, mini bar (drinks included in upgrade), laundry services (included 2 pieces a day in upgrade), bath tub, shower, office area, and electronic blinds etc.
the breakfast offered a large selection of western and eastern delights, and the tai chi Cantonese restaurant offered a very yummy dinner upon our arrival.
If you want an interesting experience go to the spa for a foot massage (a mere $10). It lasts an hour plus and is out of this world after a long day!

One caution is the hotel is far from the downtown core. You will either need a vehicle or a driver if you stay here.

Room Tip: Apply for their rewards membership for numerous free upgrades and benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Guanlan
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
#25 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
220 reviews
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#40 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
354 reviews
Baohengda International Hotel
#810 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hui Hotel Shenzhen
#35 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
117 reviews
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan

Address: Huanguan South Road, Guanlan Avenue, Baoan District, Shenzhen 518110, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Guanlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Skylight International Hotel Guanlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing