We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, solid 4-Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel
Ranked #54 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Brunei
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent, solid 4-Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

The room was good, quite spacious, big bed, and with a very nice bathroom. TV only had 3 English channels. The staff were terrific, very helpful and with decent English, which is a big bonus in Shenzhen. The only unpleasant aspect was that the room smelled quite smoky, despite my asking for a non-smoking room.

It's a ten-minute walk to the Hong Kong border, and a similar time to the shopping areas in Shenzhen. I did think Shenzhen was a dump though. The best thing was the journey to Hong Kong. But this hotel, was pretty decent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    214
    102
    33
    29
See reviews for
57
36
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Stayed in this hotel while attending a conference in Shenzhen. I RAVE about this hotel's location. It's about a 10-minute walk from the Luo Hu Customs (where you come to Shenzhen via Hong Kong's MTR). Tons of spas around this area - perfect for tired feet! There's a 7/11 right across, and lots of restaurants and malls in the area. The hotel is but a few minutes walk to the nearest Metro station, which runs throughout Shenzhen. Very convenient.

The room we stayed in was simple, but clean. One big bed with lovely sheets. Very, very clean bathroom. Tub was kind of small though. TV was outdated; Hello? Ever heard of LCD TVs?

Our room was at the back of the hotel, so it was really quiet, day and night. Well, until 10 pm. See, the problem is this hotel has a club on the 5th floor, with an entrance on the back of the building, which blares REALLY LOUD MUSIC that can be heard all the way to our floor - the 13th floor. That's seven floors! The partying stops at 2am, so if you're a light sleeper like me, the thumping bass might cause you some trouble sleeping. We would have changed rooms, only the hotel was fully booked while we were there.

The breakfast buffet included with our room rate was so-so. I would rather have breakfast at the nearby restos.

All in all, I would stay in this hotel again. But I would definitely get another room- one that's far away from that notorious club on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqkellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Booked 2 rooms: 1 deluxe suite (as non smoking rooms only available in deluxe suite) and 1 superior rooms (the smoking smell is not too bad, although would love to stay in a non smoking room)

Very clean, the service was excellent and efficient starting from my emails with the reservation department until checking out of the hotel.
English is ok, not the best, but alright for communicating.

around 10 minutes walk to Luo hu and a lot of cheap massage place nearby.

A lot of restaurants and mini market if you need anything.

Cheap rates too.

Asked for a discount every time you book the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

On my 1st ever trip to Shenzhen, I stayed at the Century Plaza Hotel. It was a very pleasant stay. It is located a 5-10 min walk from the train station cming in from Hong Kong. Just walk down the street going straight from the station and you will find it.
Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was evry nice. Clean and comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Nicely decorated and very clean. The only downside was the extremely small bathtub. The length was fine but the depth was very shallow.
Tried the restaurant and the food was excelent with great service. The area around the hotel was quiet (relatively speaking) and felt safe. You can walk aound to the shops.
Definitely a comfortable hotel for a ShenZhen 1st timer

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Best WESTERN Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#43 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#35 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel

Property: Century Plaza Hotel
Address: No.4001 Chunfeng Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Shenzhen
Hotel Century Plaza
Century Plaza Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing