We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay for business; also in the middle of amusement parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #36 of 2,844 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2010 for a business trip. I had never been in Shenzhen before so I was expecting giant factories assembling all sorts of manufactured goods. Instead we drive through a giant city and we come out in an amusement park area with this Venetian-themed hotel. I was confused to say the least.

The bell-boys are dressed in Gondolier outfits and the lobby is done in faux Venetian Gothic architecture. But otherwise, there isn't much else to the Venetian theme.

The rooms are standard business class. The bedding is nice down comforter which seems to be the standard in China. The beds were slightly harder then I preferred but I got use to it. The bathroom decor is nice red marble and dark wood. Internet was included in the room price which was nice.

The breakfast buffet was only average in my opinion. Not terrible, but not outstanding either. I didn't have a chance to try the other restaurants.

The lobby staff does speak English, but I wouldn't say they were particularly expert at it. I was traveling onto Kowloon/Tsim-Sha-Tsui and when I asked for the best way to get to hotel there, it took a grand total of six employees to figure out what was the best way to get me there. They did find a good bus service that got me to within 3 blocks of my Kowloon hotel and even walked me to the bus station across the street from the hotel. So good service from that point of view.

But I was disappointed that the Concierge desk didn't have this info more readily available. Initially, both the Concierge desk and the Business Centre keep trying to sell me tickets to the bus that comes to their hotel, which wasn't the best travel choice to me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days, had an amazing experience. The people were very helpful specially the bell boy called Berson. The location was perfect ( all sightseeing places in walking distance)and also loved the breakfast spread, would recommend it to everyone and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfreak206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

If you are looking for a 5* hotel that is near the following places of attraction :
- Window of the World
- Splendid China
- China Folk Culture Villages
- Happy Valley
Look no further, Crowne Plaze Hotel is the one to go.

It is located in between Shekou and Louhu. Gong to either Shekou Ferry Terminal or Louhu is about 25 min taxi ride. The underground train station is a stone throw from the hotel. There is also a new mall recently opened next to it, which gives more options for food and shopping. Wall Mart is 15 min walk from the hotel.

The hotel room is spacious and clean. Bed is comfortable. It also provides 42" Plasma TV and a decent size study table. The only complaint is the pillows are too soft for me.

The staffs are friendly and speak good English.

There are a few restaurants .... Good but not great. The Japanese/Korean restaurant (JK) used to be better, but I was disappointed with my last visit. Price was on the high side...I spent about RMB150 for a very pathetic plate of sashimi, kimchi tofu, and a bowl of white rice. The sashimi was not fresh and stingy in the size of the serving. Morning breakfast place is at the ground floor....it has not changed much over the 4 years of my visit. Chinese restaurant has a very nice ambience...and the food is OK. Have not treid the Italian restaurant....I heard it is good but expensive.

Overall I would rate 92/100 for this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red-Chamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Just stayed three nights at this most impressive hotel --- enjoyed all aspects of my stay -- everything from food & laundry service, front desk staff and room amenities first class. Very comfortable and large room - typical of the new hotels in China - large marble bathroom with large shower area and large bath tub. Great TV with about 10 english-speaking stations.

Front desk and concierge services provide unfailing service. Breakfast, included in my rate, was an excellent buffet with plenty of Eastern and Western choices.

Immediate access to taxis and shopping (Holiday Plaza Mall) and attractions - Windows of the World. I was on a business trip, so didn't get to vist the latter. Mall had mostly designer stores.

If you have business in the Futian District (location of the Convention and Exhibition Center), be warned that it is quite a distance away -- at least a 30 minute taxi drive through some very heavy traffic.

Shenzhen is a huge, modern city -- This is a great place to seek refuge and enjoy luxurious surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The hotel is very nice and comfortable, it has some nice restaurants with great service. We arrived late and were served even at 10.45 p.m. an excellent meal. The breakfast is terrific, the choice is rather big for a hotel in China. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. Price/value ratio is good, absolutely a hotel to be recommended if you stay in Shenzhen. If you would arrive at the airport and want to splurge, take the hotel limo (60-70 US$), a little bit pricey but the arrival in Shenzhen will be great. The only point that could have been better was our dinner at JK restaurant (japanese / korean style food). The food was good but I don't know if it was only that night that the waitresses where showing no pleasure in working there and being to our service !?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks whilst visiting my partner. My first impression of this hotel was walking into the amazing venetian style foyer. All the staff were dressed as goldoliers and very welcoming as you walk through the door. The room I was appointed was very large for a standard room with a double shower and great views (although I do thinkthat other standard rooms have bathtubs mine did not). As I was here for a while I did get to try all of the cuisine options in the hotel, the buffet was great with plenty of western and asian options and lots of seafood on offer. The staff in the restaurants have a great memory and after a few nights remembered my name and room and were very hospitable. The chinese restaurant (which the name escapes me) was very elegant, althoguh a bit pricey compared to the buffet the experience of the chef coming out and carving up the duck and serving it was wonderful. they also have a japanese/korean kitchen which was great too!
My favourite part of my trip was the nightlife at the V Bar. An awesome establishment with a great atmosphere. They have a great Australian band there at the moment and all the staff there are fun and friendly. The regulars there are also great! Definately a fun fun night out.
Overall this is a 10 out of 10 hotel with great staff and a great location!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
#10 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
580 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Seaview O City Hotel
Seaview O City Hotel
#41 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
330 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#7 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#1,329 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
713 reviews
Zhuzilin
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Xiangmi Lake
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
#12 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#27 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#55 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £110 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Venetian charm and business success at the Venice Hotel ShenzhenLocated in the southwest of Shenzhen city, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen is within 5 minutes walk from the famous theme parks and shopping malls – Window of the World, Splendid China, Happy Valley, China Folk Culture Village, and Yitian Plaza. Moreover, we are just just 10 minutes drive from Futian Centre and the Hi-Tech Zone, 15 minutes drive from Shekou Harbour Passenger Terminal and Shenzhen Bay Port, and 20 minutes drive from Luohu Port and Shenzhen International Airport.Being the first international Venetian style hotel in China, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen represents a unique and distinctive Venetian theme. The hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and suites; eight function rooms and a 685 square meter pillar-less ballroom; seven restaurants and bars including the award-winning Blue Italian Seafood & Grill Restaurant and V Bar, the coolest venue in town for evening entertainment and live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing