We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in an average location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
Ranked #29 of 2,744 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average hotel in an average location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

For the past year or so, i will usually stay in this hotel as it is our corporate hotel in Shenzhen. It is a typical holiday inn, but you do get what you pay for. And what you get is not fantastic, but for the price/value proposition is tolerable. Been here about 10 times in the last 18 months or so.

The Pros:
- The rooms are basic but ok to stay in. I usually get upgraded to what i call a mini-suite (living room is partitioned from the bedroom) so size is not an issue. You do also get a choice between the 'soft' and 'hard' pillows, depending on your preference.
- There is a morning shuttle bus to the Science Park departing at 8am, which makes sense to those who are visiting that area. This is a very good service as it is nigh on impossible getting a cab at that hour.

The Cons:
- The hotel is not within walking distance of any subway station, and getting a cab in the morning can be a very tricky piece of business
- The bed is not in the same league as those in the upmarket hotel segment
- The place reeks of a certain ordour (i believe air conditioning and that of an ageing building)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llhleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.It's difficult to get a taxi in the peak hour, hotel provide limousine service at the concierge. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    190
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
16
28
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
437 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here for two nights during a business trip to China. It's on our contract and close to the company that I was visiting, so it was a good choice. Overall, this was a reasonable place at a reasonable price. The location is good, about 15 minutes by taxi from the Shekou port, and near other attractions. It's clean and comfortable. The staff did pretty well in English, and they were warm and welcoming. The hotel offered a free welcome drink for Priority Club members (from a limited list), which we enjoyed on the second night of the stay. The breakfast was above average, with good variety and flavor.
There is a direct bus service from the hotel to the HK airport (and from the airport as well). The metro is near but not that convenient.
It's possible to walk to a nearby shopping center, but you have to cross under a busy road and dodge a lot of street vendors. It's not really dangerous, but can be disturbing.

The hotel is currently being remodeled, so not all the bars and restaurants are open. This should be better in October when the work is done.
I would stay here again, but I might also shop around a bit. Staying a little farther away might yield a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua. Our new bar Uger Bar will be opened by the end of October. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Chose this hotel for its location to tourist attractions, and expecting it to be of a 4 star standard. However, although having a 4 star rating and room rate, unfortunately it is not of 4 star standard - three and one half at best.
Restaurant closed for renovations so cannot comment about it.
On a positive note, location is very good - close to a number of attractions, shops, restaurants, with easy access to the freeway.

Room Tip: Not of the same standard as some other Holiday Inn hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments! The room renovation has been completed in the end of February this year. The new rooms look fresh and mordern. We hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you a different experience during your next trip to shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I spent a night here because it was relatively close to Shenzen Bay area. The hotel was convenient and new. The bar and hotel restaurant was severely lacking but can't complain since the facilities were at least new and clean. I would stay here again if needing a place near Shekou port.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumeirah_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have been coming to Shenzhen often and as the amount of hotels have been increasing, i still see some hotels standing firm when it comes to business and consistancy. The Holiday Inn Donghua in Shenzhen is one of those hotels. Surely many luxury hotels enter the city with much appeal but I think the character of this hotel is just right.

Now i travel for business so i normally look for a place where i can do my stop and go and no need to have too much fancy luxury in the rest of my stay. For a Holiday Inn this hotel is very well maintained and the staff is very helpful. The rooms have been updated and i must say it was in need, but they do pay attention to the property. The overal feeling is good!!!

Dining is just as you would expect from a Holiday Inn hotel standard buit the location is great. Nanshan district to me is still the prefered location. Shekou down the road and easy access to Futian. I have nothing to complain.

The beds are comfortable and the Happy Hour is decent as well. Like i said, don't expect to have the Peninsula or Hyatt standards here or even Intercontinental standards, it is really a great value for money property.

Next trip to Shenzhen this hotel is surely on my list to be picked. I can be tempted by the bling and shine of other hotels but the Holiday Inn Donghua for me still gives the comfort of home and the warmth i need in a sometimes cold city (not in temperature ofcourse) as Shenzhen.

Room Tip: Get access to the lounge, the staff is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua during your recent visit to shenzhen.We are very pleased that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.
We will continue to maintain our service and quality to meet your needs.We look forward to welcoming you once again to Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I was hesitant to book rooms here for myself and my colleagues, due to some less than favorable reviews. My fears were unfounded, as this is a great hotel. It is in a bit of an industrial area, and I chose the location primarily due to the proximity to one of my clients.

The service here was top notch, and the rooms were good. The hotel is getting a little old, and some wear is showing in the rooms and fixtures, but really I could not complain about any of it.

The beds were very soft, which is a luxury not always afforded by hotels on the mainland.

There were not a lot of restaurants in walking distance, but the hotel has several to choose from; on the second floor there is a sports bar that could have been transplanted from just about any town in the USA. Perhaps not amazing on its own, after a few weeks on the mainland that hamburger tasted mighty fine indeed.

Breakfast was good, a mix of western and Chinese dishes, and a really diverse salad bar.

Overall a great experience, I am sure that I'll stay here again next time my travels bring me to Donghua.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikediliberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua and sharing your valued comments with us.
We were glad that you were content with our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My main issues -
* All rooms on the club floor are smoking rooms and so stink! I was informed that rooms on the higher floors have been refurbished but there have been complaints about the smell.
* The rooms are tired and do need updating
* The sound insulation between rooms is terrible, meaning you hear evcerything going on next door, which does not prove helpful for a good night sleep!
* Windows are old style double glasing and again allow a lot of street noise in.
* Air conditioning unit very noisey and so had to have it switched off.
* Quality and comfort of the beds not good

All of the above meant I did not get much sleep in the two nights I stayed here, and for me on a business trip I need to know I can get a good nights sleep!

On a positive - the staff on the club floor were great and could not do enough for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we feel sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Currently, two of our club floors are non-smoking floors and in this June, we will convert one more smoking floor into non-smoking. We are surprised about your comment on our beds as they were just changed to product of worldwide leading bed supplier.

We appreciate your comment on the great service of our club floor employee. If we would know your feedback earlier, we will suggest you to move to a new room still enjoying club benefits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen Bay Port
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
#22 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Shekou
Jiayue Hotel Donghua Shenzhen
Jiayue Hotel Donghua Shenzhen
#789 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Shenzhen Bay Port
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
#170 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhuzilin
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua

Property: Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
Address: No.2307 Donghua Park, Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#31 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel locates in the center of vibrant Nanshan District,within minutes'drive from the Hi-tech Park. The hotel is only a 30 minutes drive from the Shenzhen Airport,15 minutes to Shekou Ferry Pier with transfers to the International Airport of Hong Kong . It takes 30 minutes drive to Lo Wu Railway Station, 8 minutes to Shenzhen Bay Border to Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua Hotel Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Donghua Shenzhen
Shenzhen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing