We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked This Place”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #39 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The rooms were very clean and well furnished. The food was great but most importantly, the customer service here was immaculate. They were always ready to attend to any request. Most times when I stay at a hotel, I get quite a bit of anxiety with the front office or restaurant staff with regards to requests but I did not feel a single tinge of that here and I think that accounts for something. I would stay here again in my future trips to Nanshan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and for a such nice comment!
We are extremely happy to hear we ensured you a comfortable stay with us because the best quality of our services and satisfaction of our Guests are the most important values for us.
It was also great to hear about your willingness to return to L’Hermitage when you will be in Nanshan District next time. We will be more than happy to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

L'Hermitage is an excellent hotel, reasonably priced, with very modern, stylish, comfortable rooms and furniture.
The staff speak good English and are extremely helpful.
The location is good.
Breakfast buffet is, both,western and Chinese, and is very good.
The hotel has local restaurants and shops nearby, but is not within walking distance to a metro station.
Shuttles are available to relatively expensive western style shopping malls, but you have to use taxis if you want to shop in local markets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the style of the hotel, the staff, breakfast buffet, location and also the price we offer.
We will do our best to keep the standards of our services to ensure the best accommodation and other facilities when you come to L’Hermitage Hotel next time.
We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Apart from a few niggling issues, this hotel was an absolute marvel in the centre of nanshan. Beautifully decorated and spotless. Staff were at hand at any moment and the breakfast and service was truly exceptional. Marta and Yeung (the malaysian fellow) as well the catering manager to name a few really made an effort to look after me and my colleague. We opted for the business suite which is a really good and spacious room, The furniture and fittings are of the highest quality and a good view from the panoramic window that curved all the way across the room as well as some good features like automatic close curtains and blinds in both the living quarters and the bathroom. The lounge area and work desk was split up very nicely. Really had a good nights sleep, really comfortable beds and they had a 'pillow menu'. for types of pillows. Really enjoyed the complimentary moon cake too! (we went around the moon festival period). Marta and Mr Yeung really made us feel at ease and spoke to them regarding any requests we had almost on a daily basis, never any trouble to make us feel at home. The catering manager made fresh muffins just for us on a few mornings because we loved them so much and other catering requests were met, again without any trouble at all. The gym attendant was at hand for towels and water as well as preparing the sauna for us. Small gym with a few machines and weights, again, the service, furniture etc in these areas were really good. Because we were on business and coming back late, we didn't eat at the restaurant itself but we did try a snack of fish fillets and wedges, again, beautifully presented and the fish and wedges were delightful. These guys have really given some serious thought about the rooms, deco, cleanliness, service and food and all for a very very reasonable price too. Its a little awkward to get to for taxis, maybe better signage leading up to the hotel might help. Now the few niggling issues we experienced were more or less sorted out but i dont want to take anything away from this hotel as honestly they made a sincere effort to resolve the issues and for the price of £100 per night for a business suite of this caliber, could easily pass for nearly £250 a night or more IF and IF the hotel was say in Futian. A short walk and you have pharmacies, Pizza Hut KFC and across the rd near the financial skyscrapers are some good places to eat as well as a supermarket. The area itself is very clean and you know its in a better area of shenzhen. Overall recommend this hotel to everyone as its located centrally from the airport in shenzhen, and longang (HK Border), I would definitely opt for this hotel if i was visiting again.

Room Tip: Business suite with Breakfast. higher floor, facing the front of the building. Building work going o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imymusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us at L’Hermitage Hotel and for creating such a nice and detailed review.
It was great to read so positive feedback!
We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with hotel’s decorations, service, breakfast buffet food selection, as well as the room and gym.
Also, we are glad to read you were pleased with our friendly and attentive staff.
L’Hermitage Hotel has great crew of people here and love hearing it when the Guests are satisfied with our service.
Thank you for sharing the idea with us about signage leading up to the hotel. We will take it into consideration.
Our staff appreciate a lot your wonderful comment but the most important for us is your willingness to return to L’Hermitage Hotel when you come to Shenzhen next time.
Then we will do our best to ensure you another great stay with us!

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This a such a great hotel,good location, great buffet with a touch of local fusion cuisine,nice people,value for money,right in the middle of Nanshan district. My next upcoming stay in Shenzhen,L'Hermitage would be my first choice.Most of the staff in front desk speaks good English and to ensure smooth communication for the foreigner guests the management hired staff from Poland,Spain,Malaysia,Serbia and Japan what an international hotel ! Its very different from any other local hotel in China.Modern design with a touch of Eurasian arts and architecture.Go there you will love it...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLeoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

These are extremely nice words! Thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users. It was great to read your review and such a positive feedback.
We appreciate your wonderful comments, especially your willingness to return next time you are in Shenzhen. When you come back to L’Hermitage Hotel, we will do our best to ensure you another great stay here.

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I recently stayed 5 nights for business and was thoroughly impressed by the hotel. I picked the hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews and it did not disappoint.

The service was excellent, the room was very spacious and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fabulous with double sinks, rain shower and large bathtub (but I was surprised there wasn't a bidet). My only complaint was the AC. My room temp was difficult to control and was quite damp all the time. Oh yeah, there was also a dead cockroach in my hallway which was surprising considering how clean the room was kept (but that's pretty normal for all levels of hotel in Asia).

Although the gym was small, the equipment was very good and well maintained and I never had an issue getting time on the treadmill during my 3 visits. There is also a full-time attendant to get you water or a towel when needed.

My room included breakfast in the main restaurant. The staff was very kind and service was always with a smile. The breakfast was the best I've had at a hotel in China with both western and asian cuisine and the coffee was a life saver.

The business center was also convenient as I asked them to check my flights and they were very helpful in dealing with my airline to reschedule my itinerary.

The neighborhood is not the most exciting but other areas are a reasonably quick cab/metro ride away (eg Coco Park is 30 minutes by metro). However, the hotel is more than a 10 minute walk to the metro. My short little legs needed 20 minutes to get there, albeit at a slow pace to avoid sweating my butt off. It's also a little sketchy walking under the road interchange with other bikes, cars and pedestrians but it all seems to work ok. I felt totally safe walking back to the hotel alone at night. As mentioned by other reviewers, taxi drivers have a hard time finding the hotel. I had to direct every driver how to navigate the area (lots of pointing and hand gestures).

I will definitely consider staying here next time I am in Shenzhen.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and away from the highway (North and West sides).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rckwng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us, at L’Hermitage Hotel.
We appreciate your wonderful comments, especially your willingness to return here when you will be in Shenzhen next time.
It is great to hear you had a wonderful stay, and that you liked our staff, service, breakfast and also the room with well equipped bathroom.
Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience you described in your review. We will do our best to eliminate all the problems you mentioned to make you feel like at home next time you visit us.
Warmest Greetings!

Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Have been visiting Shenzhen for many years staying at all the usual hotels which are all slowly declining in their standards and value for money. This hotel has been open for only one year and they work hard to make your stay enjoyable and stress free
Staff are well trained and attentive rooms are large and well appointed bar is a relaxed environment and restaurant offers a good selection at breakfast which is well presented and served

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for staying with us and sharing your memorable experience with others.We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your time in the hotel.We will strive hard to maintain our hotel standards yet keep on improving.We will ensure another great stay and looking forward to serve you better near the future.

Warmest Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel was fantastic! Very clean and modern design throughout.
The rooms are well equipped, extremely modern & comfortable in all aspects. The staff were extremely helpful with any of our requests.
Attractions such as coastal city, sea world etc. are a short (and cheap) taxi drive away.
There are also Pizza Hut and KFC outlets within 5 minutes walking if you are missing your western fast food!
I could not fault anything about this hotel & will definitely book again for any of my future business trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimcalbrakelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for your sincere compliments.
We are very happy to hear you liked the room and our staff and the most important for us is that you would like to return to L’Hermitage Hotel when you will be in Shenzhen next time.
It will be a real pleasure to serve you again.
We are looking forward to serve you better near the future.


Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Lia Charlton Hotel Shenzhen
#81 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
39 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
346 reviews
Sentosa Hotel Shenzhen Feicui
#831 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hui Hotel Shenzhen
#35 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
119 reviews
Huaqiang North
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
#73 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
307 reviews
Huaqiang North
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
#34 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: No.3031 Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing