We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #41 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

As others have mentioned the cab drivers have a hard time finding this hotel. Make certain you have the map they give you on how to get there with you (in Chinese) and the number of the hotel that the drivers can call to get directions.

Staff (especially Marta) are very nice. Many speak very good English. Rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable.

WiFi can be hit or miss at times.

Good selection of restaurants in the hotel that are not too overpriced.

Good Value for the Money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plum9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your comment and tip with the other tripadvisor website users.
We also recommend to all of our Guests to have hotel card with our address, map and telephone number, as it is very useful for the taxi drivers.
It is great to hear that you met your expectations, especially about the staff, communication level, rooms,bed and also our restaurants.
We are really sorry for the temporary inconvenience with the wifi.
It will be a real pleasure to serve you again.
We are looking to see you soon,

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    33
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
11
3
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks, the hotel itself is nice, the rooms are great and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is good too, they have a lot of food variety western and chinese food. Wi-fi is kinda glitchy, I can't pin point the problem, we had a strong signal but it doesn't work all the time. Since we were in a business trip we constantly do IP calls, but with their wifi the calls are hard to go through. Internet browsing and emails are ok though. When we complained about it, they are fast in trying to resolve the problem, what they did helped but didn't completely solve the problem. The only major complain the I have with this hotel is their location. Thank goodness that the staff are very helpful, we had to call them every time we have to go back to the hotel because the taxi drivers doesn't know where it is. They have to explain to the drivers in Chinese where the hotel is, and what roads to take even though we already hand the driver the business card with the map of the hotel. So we always make sure that we have the hotel's phone number handy every time we get a taxi.

Overall we are happy in staying in this hotel and we will be staying again when we go back to Shenzhen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannie65_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us, at L’Hermitage Hotel. We appreciate your comments, especially your willingness to return here when you will be in Shenzhen next time. It is great to hear you had a very good stay, and that you liked our rooms with comfortable beds, breakfasts( with a variety of western and chineses food ) and our helpful staff.
We are really sorry for the temporary inconvenience with the wifi.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Warmest Greetings,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is as good as any of the five star hotels I've stayed in anywhere in Asia. The rooms are nicely appointed, beds are super comfy and the wifi works well. The staff are really nice and some speak English perfectly. The western food is great. Located towards the west of Shenzhen, the hotel is perfectly located between the airport and the main expat areas in Shekou and coco park. For visitors from HK entering via Lo Wu as we did the location is a bit out of the way to be honest. Taxis are cheap but expect to spend at least 30 mins in a taxi on a 10 lane freeway to get anywhere ( it'll cost US$10 to get anywhere but you get a bit sick of taxis after so while). Forget the Shenzhen Metro, it takes at least half an hour to walk to university station, is poorly signposted and is rammed with people.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dumbledore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users.
We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were especially satisfied with hotel’s western restaurant,staff and comfortable room.
Also, we are glad to read you were pleased with our location.
When you come back to L’Hermitage, we will do our best to ensure you another great stay here.
We hope to see you soon!
Warmest Greatings,

Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed there for two weeks. The hotel is part of L'Hermitage group and recently changed its name to LVGEM - you won't find it under the old name anymore.
It is conveniently located in Futian area and close to metro (if you ever need to catch metro as taxis are quite cheap).
It is an excellent 5 start hotel without the price tag. If you are planning to stay longer (a month or two) you can get a monthly deal which includes a lot of free extras (e.g. breakfast, dry cleaning and etc.).
There are direct shuttle services from the Hotel to Hong Kong - you don't even need to change cars at the boarder.
Staff are very friendly and make sure you get the breakfast deal as it is quite good.

Room Tip: The room service food was quite nice too - if you are late to go out. there are 2 or 3 restaurants i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Decoration, rooms, service, breakfast - all equal to the 5* international chains but without throngs of people walking through the lobby . Lovely quiet and relaxing atmosphere - a haven in the hectic city and generally frenetic country. A real gem - will be using this for all future trips

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all,we would like to thank you for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and also for sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users. It was great to read so positive feedback!
We are exremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with hotel’s decorations, room, service as well as our “lovely and quiet atmosphere”.
We appreciate your very nice comment, especially your willingness to return to L’Hermitage Hotel when you will come to Shenzhen next time. The we will do our best to ensure you another great stay here.
Thank you one more time. Hope to see you soon!
Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had high expectations coming to L'Hermitage hotel as I had read the reviews and look forward to my stay.

I've got to say the facilities are 5 star in quality. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are of high quality.

The service I received was very poor and would be comparable to a 2 or 3 star hotel. During the second day of my stay I finished a workout and headed to the shower / sauna. After I about to jump into the Sauna I got a knock on the door telling me that "The Boss was coming" and I had to leave. As a customer in a 5 star hotel I hardly expected to asked to leave the bathroom while I'm naked.

The staff was completely unresponsive and I won't be back.

If your looking for nice facilities this is a good choice. If you choose this level of hotel for the service please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, we are deeply sorry about the misunderstanding and all of the inconenience you met at the hotel. We were really touched that you had these kind of feelings after leaving us.
Please accept our truly aplogies however we would like to explain the situation you mentioned at your review.
The staff had to knock the door and disturb you because you had locked the Sauna- and Changing Room.
In this situation the other Guest who had already made a reservation of Sauna Room could not come into and use it. We are sorry that our staff did not inform you about the booking.
If w suggested you making the reservation before, we could assure that you would use Sauna Room alone and avoid this kind of misunderstanding.
Please consider to give us the second chance and come back to L’Hermitage Hotel during your next visit in Shenzhen. Then we will do our best to ensure you that not only our facilities are five-star in quality but also the service.
We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I just stayed at L'Hermitage and it really was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The hotel is first class - large, well appointed room, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, excellent buffet breakfast with a large variety of tasty food and best of all the staff are amazing. There is always an English speaker at reception and my special thanks goes to Yang who was outstanding. I need to follow a gluten free diet and he personally took me to the Chinese restaurant in the hotel, ordered my food and then checked the food as it came out to ensure that it was indeed gluten free. I have never experienced that level of service anywhere else in the world. I will always stay at this hotel when I visit Shenzhen in future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for these nice words and compliments.
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your two lovely daughters!
We are more than happy you enjoyed staying with us and also to hear you liked the staff and service so much. We do our best to ensure that every Guest feels at L’Hermitage Hotel like at home.
The most important for us is that you would like to return to L’Hermitage Hotel when you visit Shenzhen in future
We will be more than happy to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
No.6 Crystal Garden Hotel
#51 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
26 reviews
Bao'an District
Hengfeng Haiyue International Hotel
Shenzhen Bay Port
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
#28 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Longgang District
Crowne Plaza Shenzhen Longgang City Centre
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
#30 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: No.3031 Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing