We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun day out and worth the effort.”

China Folk Culture Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.47*
and up
Coach Day Tour: Shenzhen City Overview
Ranked #6 of 486 things to do in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This worthwhile attraction is part of Overseas Chinese Village (better known as OCT) and showcases the myriad minority ethnic cultures that make this vast country much less homogenous than imagined. It also serves as a great introduction to the history and traditions of China.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
329 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A fun day out and worth the effort.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were staying Hong Kong and came over for the day to look around. The Culture Village and Splendid China are beside each other and a really fun way to spend a day. While the shows are mainly in Chinese they are still great fun to sit through, especially the horse riding display.

My daughter and I got to ride the horses afterwards which was great fun, and absolutely hilarious for the Chinese audience. My daughter galloping tight circles around me as I trotted along was very funny apparently. We also tried archery and loved walking around exploring the different architecture. A few of u tried the long flying fox over the lake too. A really great way to learn about China's various ethnic minorities in one place.

In fact there were three of the ethnic displays we enjoyed so much we have since been to the actual provinces to see them for ourselves on our next journeys.

Young or old there is lots to keep you entertained. Our party ranged from 12 to 80 and everyone had a great day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    105
    39
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spend a few hours and learn about China”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great little sightseeing stop, which you can plan on spending 2-4 hours depending on how much you like to stop and read/see everything. For foreigners, it's a good introduction to Chinese history, culture, and the diversity of architecture. For natives, it can also be a way to see parts of your own country if unable or unwilling to travel. If you go during the week, it's less crowded. Foreigners, expect to be photographed and have people interested in seeing you as many visitors here are from outside Shenzhen and not used to seeing non-Chinese.

Be sure to watch the horse battle show and take the lazy river boat ride through the park. There are lots of local food to try. The prices for everything, as expected, are higher than you'd pay elsewhere, but it's good quality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A+ Place to visit in Shenzhen”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Summary:
You will need a full day if not more. Place is made up of two sections.
Cost was 150 RMB for Adult.
1) First. Small miniature park where everything is small models of all the different areas of China. This is very educational and could take a day in it self.
2) Second. Real size attractions with lots of Dances of different areas of China, all are free but the one paid show which was 50 RMB and well worth it.

Night show at 7pm was fantastic well worth staying for.

More Details:
Plan your day to see the shows they are worth it, most are on in the morning and afternoons so you can work them in easy. we seen 80% of them without any trouble at all. It was also a Sunday which I am sure was more busy then week days.
From a westerners point of view this really was fantastic, I loved seeing all the miniatures, and it made you want to spend a good few months in China and go visit them all.
They had both English and Chinese voice at each miniature telling you what it was so it was very easy to get information without having to read up on it all via plark, they have them also but the narration in English was good to just look and listen to what you where looking at.
There is ok food selection from what I could tell, but you can bring your own food and drinks no problem.

We did this over just the 1 day but could easy spend 2 days if you wanted to take it easy, there is lots of walking involved, and although there is a mini train that you can catch around the place, your not going to see much if that is all you do. You need to venture off the path into the areas that have the buildings and look at all the different areas, the train also did not seem to stop many places. But if you wanted to do a quick once over of everything just looking from train I am sure it would be fine also. It is however inside the places that you see everything.
Most where air conditioned also, which was nice on a hot day like we had, you get out of that heat for a small time.

If your going to spend just the one day, I would suggest you do the attractions side first (not the miniature side) as all of these have the set times for the dances, and you can do the once over of them all before heading over to the miniature side. As you can not really go back and forward seeing it is so long walk between the two sides. Also this way you know how much time you have left in the miniature side of things.
We got to park about 10am and by 2.30pm we where done on the attractions and dances side of park, we then did the miniatures very fast as we wanted go see another 5pm show.
So although I say you can spend more then 1 day you can also do it in just in limited time as we did.

Over all this place was fantastic, there was lots of new places being built also, so again in 3 to 6 months I am sure there will be all new things to see. Fantastic place to visit while in Shenzhen if you only have limited time, go see this place spend the day you wont be disappointed at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank ObieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lots of dancing & cultural show”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's worth visiting and the place was huge. We watched a lot of performance with beautiful stage costume. Enjoyed cultural show, comedy, drama, dancing and history of China. Unfortunately we did not enjoy the restaurant food & service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hihihirub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I visited this place when on a student trip to Shenzhen, it was a lovely place full of different things to see.....wonderful!!

Definately worth a visit - the show at the end was amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Folk Culture Village also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to China Folk Culture Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing