We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and hospitality”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #824 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 5 July 2012

initially it was good but now I feel the decoration of room alone with lobby are not clean.second the person in check in disk board very less knowladge in English,Food are not good.The area is very coveniant to move in city and also subway is near by this hotel,

Room Tip: make clean the room and give advantage those reguler stay in you hotal
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 40 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Avoid!

In my twenty years travel, this was perhaps the biggest rip-off I have ever experienced!

This hotel was dirty, filthy and dilapidated.
In my opinion, this disgusting place deserves no star rating what so ever!
I was proven correct when I checked with a member of the staff before I departed.
Currently, this hotel has no star rating.

When I first step into the Empire lobby, my impression was the lack of customer service.
There were no smiles or welcoming ‘li ha ma?’ greetings from the Receptionists.
All were miserable dummies!

I was given a room on the 15th Floor.
The corridor carpet was wore down, dirty and smelly.
Naturally, the condition of carpet in the room was no better.

I had requested a no smoking floor.
When showing my room, the housekeeper rushed in, and took out three ashtrays.
I could hear the warning bells ringing in my head loudly!

The washing basin and bathtub’s internal hard enamel were peeling off.
There was no way I would be cleaning myself in them, in the normal way anyway!
Luckily, the shower was in good working order, and plenty of hot water.

When I pointed out the damages to basin and bath tube, the housekeeper sort of shrugged her shoulder and muttered, “Well, they are all like that I’m afraid!”

My partner and I were provided with a tiny double bed, and a tiny blanket.
No free bottle water as was expected from a 4-star accommodation.
No safe deposit box.
In fact no anything.
The restaurant food was disgusting and pricy.

Book as your own peril folks!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Gosh my first time to stay in a filthy hotel..even at the hotel entrance you could smell the filthy smell...the carpet was so dirty that i have to asked for a vacuum and cleaned it myself. Not recommended for a family trip.. It was a great hotel few years ago...but really need refurbishments & thorough cleaning.. Not worth for the money! I wont think twice to go back and stay once they redone the whole place.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
Thank mrlyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

The hotel is listed as a four star hotel, but the quality was even worst than a two star hotel.
Price was not worth for it. Carpet had a very bad smell. The moldy smell was so bad that I could not sleep well. Bed was hard as a hardwood floor , furnitures were old, and bathroom was so dirty. The closet door could not be closed, so everytime I have to go to the washroom, I have to push the door away. The worst was fridge was not cold and the air condition was not cool at all. My friends came over and they asked my partner to turn on the A/C. Overall, it was not worth paying 328 RMB.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMELMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#18 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
2,211 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#48 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Overseas Chinese Town East
Otique Aqua Hotel
Otique Aqua Hotel
#1,053 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
84 reviews
Dameisha
Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: No.1052 Aiguo Road,Luohu District, Shenzhen 518003, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #824 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel in Shenzhen, China is a 4-star business hotel that provides luxurious accommodations and efficient facilities. It features a business center, health club, and various venues for events and meetings. A restaurant serves local and western cuisine. This Shenzhen hotel also enjoys an enviable position near East Gate Business Street, Donghu Lake, Yijing Villa, and Luohu Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing