We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, big rooms, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #48 of 2,833 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is right next to a subway stop. It's a safe area right next to the dongmen shopping district. There are lots of restaurants in the area too. The hotel staff are very helpful. In sum, great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moumou199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Third stay in past 8 months - checked in for 10 days - 6th Dec to 16 Dec 2013 although had two nights away to visit Zhaoqing for three days.

This is a really good hotel, large rooms - not much noise at night. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful - breakfast has a good selection and the evening menu has some interesting dishes. I particularly liked the Mushroom Soup in a claypot with a nice touch of spicy pepper... could be a meal by itself.

While I have ventured around the neighbourhood on previous visits, I do recommend the "Jajaz" cake shop in the same building on Dongmen Rd, just near the basement exit. They sell milk, juices, cakes, sandwiches and other western style foods. Just right for keeping in the fridge in your room.

Also try the Barrel and Three Kingdoms restaurant, turn left onto Dongmen Rd - walk under the overpass and you will see a number of pink bicycles used by the restaurant for local deliveries. The restaurant is the first in a group of shops after the cool drink/newspaper vendor. The meals are tasty, quick and good value - give it a go.

The hotel had a number of business conferences which had many attendees although you would never have known - normal guests weren't disturbed at all.

My room was well maintained by housekeeping and reception were helpful at all times although we did have a few laughs when we were stuck on words.

This hotel is well recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAC6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is besides the mtr station, and near Dongmen shopping street. There is Mcdonald and KFC across the street. Location is good but the hotel is bid old. The room is big with 2 TV. There is no air con / heater when we stayed there for 3 nights. Takes 30 mins to go to Windows of the World by MTR. There is value staying in this hotel but not comfort. At most this is just 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peppermenthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Near to MTR, Laojie shopping haven, local foods. The rooms are big. The twin beds are 50% bigger than single beds and can sleep 2. If you need a washing machine make sure you specify as the rooms at the lower floors don't have washing machine. The price is different, of course. However, you'll find a same-day wash laundrette directly in front of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank KopiGian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good location. Near MTR, Dongmen shopping area. Hotel room was big, however, the bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was hard and there was renovation going on which started as early as 8.30am. Other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel occupies a great location. You can access it from the MTR by just exiting the A exit and the hotel is just there is front of you. Be a little careful however as the hotel entrance is in the street behind the MTR so you have to walk about 50 metres. It appears there is some renovation going on with the façade at the front but we didn't see or hear any work going on while we were there.
As others have pointed out previously, the lobby is not large but it does work well and check in and check out were both very fast. Staff at reception had relatively good English which is a big plus. There is very little English spoken in Dongmen so be prepared to use your hands etc when trying to make yourself understood. Locals do try very hard to understand what you want.

We had a Business suite which was large and functional with a sitting room and small kitchen with a fridge - strangely no plates, cutlery etc but I'm sure if you asked they would bring them to you. We saw no point in using the kitchen as there was wonderful food, including street food, just outside the hotel. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but instead did as the locals do and ate some wonderful street food just down from McDonalds which is directly across the road from the hotel. Breakfast normally consisted of a nice cellophane wrapped bakery item, a boiled egg and a very fine pancake with various fillings rolled up. Wonderful.

My husband needed a pair of shoes repaired and there was a great cobbler in the street at the side of the hotel and he did a really great job. There is also a good little drycleaner/laundry across the road which we used too. There are a couple of little local restaurants across the road from the Lobby as well as a supermarket which was undergoing some renovations but was still operating while we were there. There were ATMs across the road and around the corner as well so no problem accessing money.

Hotel location is fabulous. Walking to the extremely busy, interesting Pedestrian St takes no more than 5 minutes, Seafood St where you can enjoy lovely fresh, reasonably priced seafood dinners was also 5 minutes away but in a different direction.
We walked everywhere we wanted to go - even back to the border and the shopping at the border - and we are not young so anyone can do this. However if you wanted to you could just take the train using the MTR stop at the hotel.

We did take the train to do a nice little side trip to the town of Daven where they have an artists village. When you get to Daven, sight the big Walmart and then walk past it and turn left and you will find yourself amongst a very large area of working artists and their shops. I thought most of the art was a bit 'chocolate boxy' but there were some nice pieces in amongst it all. The sad thing is the artists feel they need to copy great masters and other people's art in order I guess to sell the paintings. The artists themselves are very talented and it would be nice if they used their talents and painted more of their own creations. Nevertheless a trip to this lovely village is definitely recommended and you can spend quite a few hours exploring the quaint town as well as looking at the art. One interesting aside is that we looked everywhere in Dongmen for a coffee (latte not brewed) and couldn't find one except in a hidden Starbucks which was charging $6 a coffee. Daven, oddly, had great little coffee lounges serving an array of great coffee so its worth getting on the train and going to Daven to get a coffee fix.

Shopping in Dongmen centres around Pedestrian St and there are some things that are cheap(copy goods etc) but don't expect really dirt cheap items - those days are gone.
Lovely food available at Pedestrian St. We lunched everyday on wonderful Peking Duck rolls which cost $2 for 6 but plenty of good food variety at good prices.

So to sum up, this hotel is in the perfect location for a traveler, the rooms are large, wifi is fast and you have access to great food and shopping. I would expect this hotel to be the best in the area but remember Dongmen is not at the border but is 3 train stops away. We saw this as a plus but others may think otherwise.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have nice views over the street and pretty at night but rooms do suf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Belle077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel for price and service.. Nice big rooms and great king size beds with sofa and not only that its just like a one bedroom apartment with every room is a suite and is huge. I think its the best hotel room in shenzhen which is also not more then a five minute walk to dogmen shopping street... And right next to the shenzhen metro system. Also only 3 station from luohu railway station. Would recomend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank gpeng80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#142 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#65 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
236 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,833 in Shenzhen
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.2088 Dongmen Middle Road, Luohu District,, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Metropark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing