We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, smell of cigarettes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #47 of 2,767 Hotels in Shenzhen
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, smell of cigarettes”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Metropark Shenzhen was fine for my purposes, which was business. Wifi worked fine and, like so many things in China, this place was huge. The room I got had a kitchen and living room area with a separate massive bedroom. That said, the room wasn't very clean. There were stains everywhere and the entire thing reeked of cigarette smoke. It didn't help that neighbors throughout the building were smoking with their doors open, everywhere. I guess this is usual.

Room service is pretty good, and breakfast is fine. A big buffet with lots of Chinese stuff. The area is good as it's close to the metro train. Not a lot of English spoken here at all but I was able to find people to help me out. No real lobby to speak of and really there's not much of a bar either.

Recommended for business/short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    171
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
25
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

There is some pros and cons about this hotel. Placed on Centre of the City, close to subway station, a shopping area, and a few good place where you can eat, with a good selection on food and good price. But that is all good about this hotel.

Bad Services, poor attention, dirty rooms.
The carpet and sofa were old and dirty . To get a taxi directly outside the hotel may take quite a while. The doorman was not able to give directions to places and will not assist to get a taxi.The bathroom ventilation poor that allows tobacco smoke to flow into the bathroom from other rooms on the floor or somewhere else.This hotel smelled badly of smoke. In my non smoking room there was an ash tray and matches. The beds were very firm ,so I found it hard to stay asleep for a whole night. The kitchen in our suite had no plates or cutlery, not even a teaspoon. There was no microwave or any other way to heat food. And bathroom|shower was not clean.
Communication was a problem, nobody could speak English well .
Upon arrival staff demanded us to pay double price for what we booked through online booking. (English was not a problem for this). They gave us lot of paperwork to fill out and many another forms,so it was really confusing what's going on. At the end WE PAID OFF OUR BILL by cash for 2 night and they ask us to leave a deposit as well for no reason, even though we didn't want to leave $200 for nothing, but staff didn't want to give us keys without deposit saying that is their policy. So, THE BIGEST PROBLEM was at the time of check-out. We didn't have any receipt to prove our payment and only the paper that showed we left a deposit with them. Their papers didn't show any evidence of payment as well. SO, THEY DOUBLE BILLED US FOR THE STAY IN THE HOTEL . I would never recommend this hotel to anyone else but if you still decide to stay in there, make sure to get your receipt at the time of check-in to avoid any problems letter on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktotohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Arrived at the boarder train station....be aware that the touters will come at you from all sides with inflated prices to drive you to your hotel....say a firm NO and find a metered taxi on the rank. Cost to hotel via legitimate taxi is around 20 yuan, less than $4 AUD. Metropark Hotel is in the busy shopping district of Dongmen. Helps to have the Chinese written name of the hotel and the address as most taxi drivers don't speak English or read English words, as we soon found out !!
We were upgraded to a Business suite which was enormous by hotel standards. 9th floor overlooking the city and distant views of Shenzhen. Reception staff speak very little English, but enough to be understood. Other staff in the hotel don't speak any English. Beds was very hard, which didn't worry us, but may not suit everyone. Pillows were great. Separate lounge area with coffee table, couch, armchair and television. Very spacious with a small table and 2 chairs. A kitchen, but no cutlery or plates. Mini bar in fridge, but no milk which was a shame. Two bottles of water provided each day of our 3 night stay. Bathroom was good, great shower and nice decor. Room staff were discreet and made the room up when we were out, in our 3 days we didn't see anyone come or go. Subway station Shaibu within 3 minutes around the corner from the hotel. We took the train to DeFan and visited the Artists district which is a 5 minute walk from the station. You need the correct change for the ticket machines, they only take 5 yuan notes. Once on the street level, walk towards Walmark and then continue along until you see the sign post to the Artists streets. Well worth the visit, and the coffee at the unique little collectable cafe is perfect. Had brekkie one morning at the hotel which was buffet style with plenty of Asian & Western options. Good value. Ate at the Japanese restaurant on the main street behind the hotel.....excellent food and staff are friendly and try to communicate with you as best they can....lots of hand signals !! Also ate at the Sushi Train which was delicious, it is down the arcade behind McDonalds...yes McDonalds are everywhere in China. Shenzhen doesn't cater for the Westerns and you will struggle on the street with language and directions....but do your research and know where you want to go and have maps with both the English and Chinese translations. Visited the market streets at night which was fun, the buzz and the lights are entertainment enough, even if you buy nothing. Some people like the haggling, but we prefer to just look and soak up the atmosphere. Shenzhen Dongmen district is not for the faint hearted....extremely busy, crowded and constantly on the move day and night, but certainly worth a visit and the Metropark Hotel is the best place to stay for a good reasonable budget price, far below the grander upmarket hotels. We were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street at the back of the hotel, it has the best views from the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seremban
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I used the Trip Advisor reviews to choose this place and it was well reviewed as the location is just beside the Shaibu subway and a mere 3 minutes walk leads you to the lobby. Check in was quick and paid a deposit of ¥500.00 which will be written off the credit card transaction.The hotel was very spacious yet not busy due to it's management so even though you can see seminars going on but the atmosphere is very quiet. My business suite room was on the 8th floor and it was huge.. with everything that I need without asking for help. The room was very very clean, the floor was paraquet and also carpeted. Two television sets, wifi and a spacious bathroom, no bidet though so need to have a bottle of mineral water after visiting the toilet. There is a Muslim shop selling halal food right across from the lane facing the lobby and you can eat your breakfast until dinner there as the food is cheap and yummy. Just exit the lobby, look at the lane facing you, that shop is opposite The China Tobacoo Company so you should not miss it. Dongmen street is just a few minutes of slow stroll and the other subways are just one or two stops away. It was indeed a great stay and I have decided to stay here again rather than pay the more pricier rates in Hong Kong. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb but different rates apply for rooms with a washer/drier and microwave oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Really front desk staffs are very help full . A private car driver from border trying to cheat i called the hotel staff . They argued with the driver immediately stop the car and ask the driver to transfer us to meter taxi . ( a boy driver told that was meter taxi after we getting in we saw there is no meter some device looks like meter. we ask him to stop the car but he was not stopping the car and ask 200rmb for 4 kilo meter drive instead of 15rmb) otherwise they will give a police complaint against driver then the driver suddenly stop the car and ask 50 rmbs and transfer to meter taxi this was the only incident for us in china in our 6 days tour . shenzhen meter taxi is the best for travel (it is in red colour) hotel peoples helps us from the first step .check in was smooth we already booked via online rooms are really big 2 Televisions one is Big LED , we have not tried hotel foods one of our friend is pure veg so we have not booked breakfast along with hotel, lot of food joints in the morning and evening even i get food at 2 o clock in the midnight 10 steps from the hotel . good massages are avilable in house fifu a old women pressing is so great. 24 hours massage persons available , house keeping really good no sugar packs for tea bags inside the room but after we asked with house keeping girl she gave me .one issue plates we asked with house keeping was not consider at all by phone whenever we ask yes ,yes,yes upto last day staying it was not came to my room. i think it was language problem may be who knows. just opposite 2 more 24 hours stores are there for bread,jam,cakes, curd no problem to get. just 60,70 steps opposite side of the road kfc and mcdonalds are there. from the hotel turn left (car entrance u turn)turn right lot food joints we ate regulary in the area may be 30 ,40 foot steps , go stright with the same lane and turn right on your 2nd turn sea food market live restaurants opened upto late night. and turn right parallel road to hotel behind departmental store having fruit shops,vegetable shops,liquir shops,(liquir shops are available just front of the hotel also) some times taxis come regularly upto hotel lobby , but most of the time we got taxi from the hotel few times we got taxi from near the circle opposite to kfc just 30 ,40 foot steps. dong men pedestrian street is half a kilo meter walk seg electronics market is around 6 kilometer taxi ride,taj indian restaurant around 3 kilometer taxi ride taxis mostly ask 13,to 15 yuvan maximum 30 rmb we used.
ok bed no noise,help full but busy staffs, big room,room safer,good bathroom facilities,2 lifts to floors like 1,3,5,another one 2,4,6 like , smiling staffs enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsownson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is right next to a subway stop. It's a safe area right next to the dongmen shopping district. There are lots of restaurants in the area too. The hotel staff are very helpful. In sum, great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moumou199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
714 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Third stay in past 8 months - checked in for 10 days - 6th Dec to 16 Dec 2013 although had two nights away to visit Zhaoqing for three days.

This is a really good hotel, large rooms - not much noise at night. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful - breakfast has a good selection and the evening menu has some interesting dishes. I particularly liked the Mushroom Soup in a claypot with a nice touch of spicy pepper... could be a meal by itself.

While I have ventured around the neighbourhood on previous visits, I do recommend the "Jajaz" cake shop in the same building on Dongmen Rd, just near the basement exit. They sell milk, juices, cakes, sandwiches and other western style foods. Just right for keeping in the fridge in your room.

Also try the Barrel and Three Kingdoms restaurant, turn left onto Dongmen Rd - walk under the overpass and you will see a number of pink bicycles used by the restaurant for local deliveries. The restaurant is the first in a group of shops after the cool drink/newspaper vendor. The meals are tasty, quick and good value - give it a go.

The hotel had a number of business conferences which had many attendees although you would never have known - normal guests weren't disturbed at all.

My room was well maintained by housekeeping and reception were helpful at all times although we did have a few laughs when we were stuck on words.

This hotel is well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#46 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#79 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#12 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#39 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Address: No.2088 Dongmen Middle Road, Luohu District,, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Metropark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing