We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, but better can be had. Very noisy at night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaili Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaili Motel
Ranked #836 of 2,754 Hotels in Shenzhen
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good value, but better can be had. Very noisy at night.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Summary: The hotel is in an excellent location being near the GuoMao metro station, Downtown and the Louho border crossing. It is relatively clean, the rooms are large and the condition decent. The noise at night was pretty bad for a number of reasons: 1. It is right next to the crossing and the pedestrian crossing beeper bangs on all night like a jack hammer in a nearby building site (exactly what I thought it was on the first night) 2. The crossing is on a main road and the buses pulling away constantly from the lights make a hell of a roar from their engines and 3. There is evidently some sort of night club next door as the thump of music coming through the building went on every night past 1am. (We were on the 7th floor of 9 so do not imagine we were right down close).

Detail

Location: Excellent. We were visiting on business and the metro is close and extremely good. The area has all the shops and restaurants/bars you could hope for and the streets are well lit, clean and felt very safe.

Hotel: Run of the mill business stop. The rooms are large but tired and the aircon loud. Communal areas are tidy and well kept. The safe in the room is excellent and large (2 lap tops and 2 iPads secure plus papers, passports etc. The associated sauna is a total rip off with the staff essentially bullying and begging for tips. I had a massage and it was adequate but the staff put me off going again for sure. They demand tips throughout yet the establishment also charges a 'service charge'.

Conclusion. You can find better. Choose this area for sure but spend a bit more and go upmarket.

Room Tip: If you do stay here go for a room as far from the crossroads as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dysonsphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    103
    42
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
10
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

For those of you who are considering to book KAI LI HOTEL in Shenzhen (Add: No. 2027 Jiabin Road,Shenzhen City, China.), BEWARE they will just take your money and do not care if you have encountered any disturbances or inconveniences while you are checked-in. After we complained regarding the noise disturbances we had encountered, they just kept on transferring us on different person and each person cannot offer any assistance/resolution until they hanged-up on our phone call. The worst of all was when we complained in front desk they were speaking in fine English language and the hotel Manager was around, but pretended she cannot hear us until we raised our voice regarding the huge disappointment we have encountered during our stay. The front desk lady kept on saying the Manager is busy, but the Manager was just on phone right beside her and does not seem to be talking to anyone but probably hopefully waiting for the other line to pick-up so she will not have to deal with us. After waiting for the Manager to hang-up the phone, she was just giving us this stupid smile and said “I charge you this much only, is this OK? Since you enjoyed most of the time anyway and disturbance started only for few hours.” We were shocked with what she said, and after arguing that no one has informed us when we checked-in that there will be any repairs during our stay and loud noises will be heard intermittently - we could have refused to accept the room then and the fact that it was a Deluxe Room and charging us with very steep price! They just kept on saying sorry and the Manager left leaving us with unresolved dispute. The front desk lady who initially attended to us, just kept on saying “Manager said you pay this much since there was no disturbance yesterday when you checked in only started today so you have to pay” then she looked away and started attending another guests. We were stunned with how rudely they all acted towards our complaint. I HOPE THIS CAN BE A WARNING TO EVERYONE TO THINK & CHOOSE WISELY BEFORE BOOKING THIS HOTEL. THEY WILL PRETEND THEY ARE NICE AND AMICABLE, BUT ONCE THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY, THEY WILL NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR STAY ANYMORE OR WHATEVER DISTURBANCES OR INCONVENIENCES YOU MAY ENCOUNTER.

Room Tip: Always confirm with them if there are any scheduled repairs as you do not want to take a room that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yeahsure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLX, Manager at Kaili Motel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to misunderstanding. Hope you can understand, we seriously apologize again.

We want to take this unfortunate opportunity to thank you for your constructive criticism and apologize for your unpleasant stay. We intend using your criticism to improve our services by improving the knowledge of the English language by our receptionists and all staff on the lobby floor there by improving our customer relationship.
In future we will advise all our guests, at check in, of any impending maintenance work that might be planned. We will also reschedule all future works to be done from 10.30 to noon and 14.30 till 19.00
Our receptionist was on the phone to our Ceo trying to reach an amicable solution to your problem by offering you a discount of RMB80 per night of your stay and also supply you with vouchers for 2 free breakfasts per night of your stay. We also offered you a very late checkout time of 18.00. At no time was her intention to ignore you or play dumb towards you.
We again apologies for any inconvenience caused and hope to see you again the next time you come to Shenzhen.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is generally ok but the bed is very hard. Walking distance (30mins) to the walking street. The hotel is right next to the MRT station and shopping mall. However, the shopping mall is no place to shop for cheap stuff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Right opposite a large shopping mall, surrounded by lots of restaraunts and other shopping areas. 5 mins walk from the Friends centre where big named brands are stocked. Free usage of computer in rooms and wifi in the lobby. 10 mins to walk to Lou Hu port and the boarder crossing from Hong Kong. Lots of bars around for a great night out.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I chose this hotel because of its location. In this aspect it is very convenient to everything. However, the rooms are nondescript, and the service is indifferent. Overall the experience is ok but disappointing as I expected better based on reviews on this site.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We chose this hotel for 3 reasons:

- Situation, very good, close to shops, restaurants, etc.
- Swimming pool, it was supposed to have a pool but in fact it doesn´t. You can go to the Spa and stay in something similar like a pool but you CAN´T SWIN.... and it has one place for men and another for women, you can´t stay with your partner if you want.
- Internet, it has but it is very slow.

Another dissapointing point is that the personal barely speak English.

In conclusion, very dissapointing for us :-((

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerea_Gar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel is located in louhu, just outside goumao mtr station, exit B.
The hotel has all that you need, at a simple way. No fancy, no luxourious.
Havent tried breakfast there.
Towels could use an upgrade...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#44 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
223 reviews
Luohu Port
Guangdong Hotel Shenzhen
Guangdong Hotel Shenzhen
#48 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
130 reviews
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#160 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Panglin Hotel
Panglin Hotel
#74 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
422 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#47 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
282 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaili Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaili Motel

Property: Kaili Motel
Address: No.2027 Jiabin East Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#78 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaili Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaili Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaili Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing