We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USA Travelers Avoid at All Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Skylight Garden Hotel
Ranked #222 of 2,829 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We are currently staying at the hotel and I'm a little afraid to write this while stuck here for another 8 days, but we can't take it anymore! This is our 1st trip Shenzhen. The Grand Skylight Garden Hotel had a very nice website, ok reviews, and claimed to have English speaking staff, Western style restaurant, fast wireless internet and phenomenal service. OMG! That could not be further from the truth.
We are paying 1160 RMB a night ( and were supposed to be paying around 800 RMB per night) and feel like we are being hijacked every second. Let me start with a list here that help guide you when making your choice:
1) Most travelers to China from the USA are a little jet lagged. It's always nice to have a cup of coffee when you need a little kick at 5:30-6am. Note there is no coffee in the rooms. Not even instant coffee. When you call downstairs for coffee or room service, their only answer is "we haven't". No help or assistance to even get a cup of Joe. So, you have to wait in your bed until 6:30 am when their "Western Style" restaurant opens. Please note they even get upset if you try and bring the cup of coffee up to your room! Who the heck wants to sit in a hot, humid place with no tv or newspaper ( not even a USA today) to enjoy the morning caffeine kick? Not me!!
2) INTERNET IS TERRIBLE. Put it this way, even writing this review, I keep timing out. The rooms are not wireless. You must plug in via Ethernet. Now, in most cases there would be 2 people to a room. We both have CPU's. That means you both can't have internet at the same time. We had to walk into town and buy a wireless router. Further, this is supposed to be a 4 Star Business Hotel. No way!!!!!! You can hardly log onto the wireless anywhere in the hotel and even when you are on, it is slowest speeds imaginable to human kind.
3) The FOOD is GROSS! One of the great pleasures about booking a world class international business hotel for Americans is that we can indulge in a good ol' hamburger, pasta, BLT or apple pie once the local cuisine catches to ya'. Not the case here. The pasta is so starchy and overcooked it melts on your plate and hamburgers can be used as rocks to break windows. The omelets are runny and the ham tastes like salt sticks. The worse breakfast, lunch or diner I have ever had in any Chinese Hotel.
4) The staff does not speak English. This is a major downfall and a reason they should be downgraded to a 3 or 2 star hotel. USA business travelers book a 4-5 star international business hotel so we can get assistance in English. These people don't even know the words " shower, fan, clogged sink, room to hot, safe does not lock, food no good, internet not working"......It's just a huge downgrade to your productivity and makes life really hard.

Our plan for today is to call the Intercontinental Hotel or Mondrian Hotel and get switched over. We checked them out last night. Food was great, staff spoke fluent English and they were much better located. I'm sure this place works fine for a local Chinese businessman or woman , but all international travelers need to avoid! For the same price, you can get 10 times the service in many other places. If we were paying $75 a night, I had have no right to complain. At $150 a night, I have every right no place an honest review and let these guys know a lot of improvement is needed. I hope my food does not get poisoned now :-) Take care and we hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasndom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hotel is not located in the city (as in near bars, restaurants, shopping complexes) as i thought.

There are things to be improved:
1. the carpets in hotel needs a clean! There is this strong awful smell once i came out from the lift.
2. I requested for a non smoking floor but often smell smokes coming out of the other rooms and there was an ashtray in my room!
3. The hotel does not seem to have any maintenance budget?
4. Carpet and toilet floor in my room seems to be sticky, i could never walk barefooted in the room.
5. There is no wireless, they have a very short cable, free internet.

Will i return? No. The staffs are fairly pleasant but i will not return based on the location and sticky floor/carpet and smelly corridor.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTasteHisTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 29 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed in this hotel for five nights this past May and every aspect was a pleasure. The staff did their utmost to assist me in every way. This is a business hotel and I don't think serves lots of tourists. Except for the few Westerners associated with my conference, everyone else was Chinese. Aim for a room on the higher floors as there is a highway you are overlooking that can be a bit noisey. I have limited diet, but the buffet looked excellent, and the restaurant did their utmost to serve my special dietary needs. The room I stayed in was a corner one on the eighth floor facing a park. Lots of light and well-appointed, though a smell of urine when the toilet was flushed, and only for a few seconds, no doubt from overburdened sewer pipes. The hotel is not in the main business section of town, which was a plus for me as taxis are cheap and I liked the somewhat out of the way location. However, only a few blocks away is a small neighborhood with lots of friendly restaurants and stores, even a small supermarket that I found quite charming. Folks at the hotel speak English, but not always as well as I needed to communicate, but everyone did their best. As a business hotel, expect to pay a lot for internet and other services. I notived that other folks stayed in rooms smaller than mine, so check to see if there a bigger ones before you settle. Mine may have be a pricier one than others, but since I did not pay, I am not sure. Shenzhen offers little other than commerce, though it is an easy taxi ride to the subway to take you to Hong Kong nearby, but you will go through Chinese customs and then Hong Kong customs. It's a pian, but I spent several hours in Hong Kong while still hoteling in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeckel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

March 20 to March 25, 2007,

Free soda and water.
Free local map.
Ethernet cable & service.
Free Breakfast.
Next to HuaQiang Road N subway station.
Local phone call RMB0.22 / minute
Listed standard room RMB880, was charged RMB580.

Next to the largest electronics component + material + products trading mart in the world.

The TV remote control failed numerous times. This remote control indirectly change TV channels & volume, but did not work well at all. The technician came and went behind the cabinet to turn off entire box to reset to make it work. This remote control default volume setting is much too LOUD.

This room has ill advice white carpet which showed stains and spots in well traveled areas.

Staffs are pleasant, helpful and tried to talk in English, well, they tried.

I hated the stupid room light control system. When exit, pull door key card, the entire electrical system are turned off. Then, you have to turn on each lamp manually, every time you enter the room again – much hassle.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Young707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 離地鐵站有一段距離, 大約要15到20分鐘
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ananlovetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#40 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
352 reviews
Huaqiang North
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
#28 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
206 reviews
Huaqiang North
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#52 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huaqiang North
Norinco Hotel
Norinco Hotel
#281 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
65 reviews
Huaqiang North
Shenzhen Fortune Hotel
Shenzhen Fortune Hotel
#81 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
135 reviews
Huaqiang North
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
#149 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Skylight Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Skylight Garden Hotel

Address: F4 Tianmian City Building, Shennan Middle Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518026, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 2,829 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Skylight Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Skylight Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing