We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, next to subway station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Ranked #206 of 2,860 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were happy that we found this hotel during our visit in Shenzhen. The guy at the receptionist has a great sense of direction. He helped us in direction to get to the attraction that we plan. Thanks to him for giving us direction. If you have lots of luggage during your visit in Shenzhen, don't worry. This hotel is right on the left of Laojie subway station. No cab required.

Walking in Shenzhen do need a 'covered' shoe but not any sandals as the streets are not clean and you might step on dirty or food water anytime.

Will come back again for food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairey_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Coming from HK, took the MTR and have no issue locating this hotel at Exit D. its more convenient to take the mtr than a taxi if you are coming from luohu. They just change to ZTL

There is a very strong nasty smell once i step into the lobby, dont quite like this smell. There are free Iced Honey lemon right at the reception, and you feel quite good esp in this hot weather. Book the deluxe Suit, so i just pray hard it will be good. Svc is not bad, need to put rmb500 deposit, i felt quite unsafe about local hotel so i prefer to use cash than cc.
The room was right at the end, bell service was prompt but i am kinda worried as in places like this with so many pickpocket and robbery, have to be specially cautious of your belonging.

the entire hotel is with the stale smell, even the room..the room looks ok, not too old but also not new. the carpet was very dirty, dont even dare to walk barefeet, we put on the bathroom slipon slipper. Bed was comfortable. size was like a 3 room flat, bathroom like 2 room size but looks too old that i didnt even dare to use the bathtube.
As there are limited choices of intl hotel around this area, if you want to be in the shopping belt, you will only have to bear with staying in local hotels.
In shenzhen, pickpocket work in syndicate, always ensure impt things in bags are zipped, never put anything in your pocket as they have ways taking it away. Always be cautious of your belonging.
Late check out only until 1pm, eating within the area no issues at all. I was pretty impress when we check out and the bellboy offer to send out lugguage to the mtr with the trolley going into lift and even help us buy tickets and pull our lugguage right to the gantry of entry. Thumbs up for the extra mills which china needed the most!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyndyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

So surprisingly to see the hotel right in front of us when we stepped out the exit D of Laojie subway station. It was incredibly situated at the most convenient location where Dongmen Laojie is the most famous shopping area in Shenzen. You can move around the whole Shenzen using the subway system conveniently at cheap fare. Food can be easily found at the area too.
The hotel lobby was clean and quiet with 2 sets of sofa allocated for customers. Two lifts to the hotel rooms are just opposite the hotel reception counter. The check-in was very well-prepared before we reached. They only need to fill in the guest details before submitting you the room key card. Check-out was done extremely fast too.
The hotel looks new, clean and well-maintained all the way from the entrance till the room. The room is actually quite small. I booked for a superior twin room. However, the bed is quite big and comfortable which could actually accomodate 2 adults per bed if you don't mind to 'squeeze' yourself. The bathroom is very small too, especially the shower room. However, we are very satisfied with the hotel room. The room looks exactly the same like shown in the picture found in website.
During my stay, the hotel was undergoing renovation of their LED signboard on the outside of the building to change their name to ZTL Hotel Shenzen. I will definitely choose the hotel again for my next trip.

Room Tip: Only superior twin room is available if you are looking for 2 beds per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Choose to stay at the business room this hotel just for its location. I think it is only 8 to 10 meters from Laojie station exit D. This hotel is very strategically located. Right in the middle of the busiest area in Dongmen, Shenzhen.In this area, you will spend time savouring the nice food and also look at the thousands of shops.

The room is big whith a separate dining area. All furniture, carpet and every thing in the hotel is old. Since I hardly stay in the room, old furnitures and fittings is not an issue. The only issue I have with the room is the lack of hot water in the shower. When I noticed that there was no hot water in the shower at about 1 am, I informed the frontdesk and the housekeeper came to try out the water but could not fix the problem after about 10 mins.

I was exhausted by then and decided to ask her to leave and took a quick shower with the icy cold water instead of changing room since it will take me some time to pack my stuff.

I had informed the front desk again the next morning and apparently the night shift staff had not informed those in the morning shift. Again a different house keeper came to try and fix it and later offer me the room next to the mine.

The shower in the next room was working well.

Overall, an average experience. Please also avoid rooms near the lift as there is a big smoking area next to it despite it was a level designated for non smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The hotel itself is in good standard with spacious rooms (a bit old already, but ok), great beds and the location is very good (right next to a subway station) and next to an enormous shopping complex in Shenzhen. Unfortunately, we were first given a smokers room, although we explicitly asked for a non-smoking room at the reception. It smelled terribly, and we asked for another room, which wasn't ready yet. So we had to wait 2 more hours. The new room was good, only the view a bit disappointing (right next to another skyscraper). When we left the hotel, we wanted to leave some postcards to be sent by the hotel. Unfortunately the receptionists English was so poor, that we needed a couple of minutes to explain what we wanted. All in all, we are a bit undecided what to think about the hotel. Probably there are better options in Shenzhen for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel is good the size of the rooms good and the restaurants in the same building as the hote are good as well. The location is very good and the srvice the same. However there is need for changing of the carpets everywhere and probably the whole of the hotel need to renovated. The carpets are old and weard out and they smell. Otherwise all good .

Stayed: April 2012
Thank dkrinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights directly through the hotel via email as they promised the best rate through email. And indeed it was. We were given the rate of 320RMB without breakfast! The rooms were quite spacious and at that rate. I have really nothing to complain about. The beds and pillows were comfortable and amenities were adequate.

Free internet was available in the room and free Wifi was available in the lobby and 5th floor, where buffet breakfast was served. There is also a pc in the lobby.

Breakfast costed only 30RMB/person. What a steal! The spread was quite good. Again, no complaints for that price we were paying.

The location is very convenient, only about 2 mins' walk from Laojie MRT station and there were many eateries and restaurants and shops around the restaurant. However, my brother felt that the location was not that ideal as the hotel was not near to any bus stop.

My brother brought us to a Cantonese Restaurant opposite Days Inn (another side, not the main entrance) & Laojie called Tang City. The food is quite good. All Cantonese restaurants charge a 10% service charge in Shenzhen.

Would recommend all to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#59 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
240 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#45 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
299 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#43 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#15 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
334 reviews
Luohu Port
Perthden hotel
Perthden hotel
#1,291 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
33 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhong Tai Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Tai Lai Hotel

Address: No.57 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £34 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zhong Tai Lai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star, 166-room Days Inn Shenzhen is located in the city’s famous commercial center, Dongmen shopping street. It is about 100m away from the subway and about 5 minutes away from the railway station, and about 40 minutes’ drive from Shenzhen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zhong Tai Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing