We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Ranked #1,327 of 2,862 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serdar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Once upon a time, the Marco Polo Shenzhen was not only my favorite hotel in Shenzhen, it was my favorite hotel in South China. I travel all over China for business and was always happy to stay at Marco Polo Shenzhen. The staff knew my name. They knew what I liked. Everyone was always friendly. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. The service has taken a nosedive and on a good day can only be described as "good enough that I didn't have to scream at someone to get what a 5-star hotel should have offered in the first place." Satisfied isn't even a word I am comfortable using. Cafe Marco is the worst of all. I haven't had a trouble-free dining experience there in well over a year (breakfast excluded). The front desk is slightly better, only because they do have occasional good days mixed in with the frustrating debacle days.

The worst part of it all, is that year after year, the hotel keeps raising prices, especially in the restaurants, while service is falling. Restaurant prices are now on par with Shangri-la and other 5-star luxury hotels. In all fairness, Marco Polo has stepped up its buffet offerings, but it is nowhere near Shangri-la or Ritz-Carlton. Unfortunately, the prices are.

The worst part is, I now dread coming because I don't know if it is going to be one of the pleasant experiences of the past or yet another blow up at the staff to fight tooth and nail to get what should rightfully be offered for the prices charged and the name Marco Polo. Really disappointing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchanlifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is becoming old and worn down. Upon check in, got informed that no more non-smoking rooms available. As we insisted, 2 more non-smoking rooms magically appeared. Bf buffet is ok and good. Otherwise, not like a real luxurous Marco Polo anymore

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Marco Polo Shenzhen is my choice of stay when I needed to be in Shenzhen for work and have stayed here for 3 other occasions previously. Unfortunately the stay this time round wasnt as comfortable as it used to be. I was informed they are unable to provide me a non-smoking room when I checked in (I had requested for 1 when I booked the rooms). I had to 'volunteer' for a downgraded room in order to get a non-smoking room. I started getting nasty bites on my arms from the 2nd night ownards and the bites started getting worse each subsequent night.
I would advise the bed in room 2211 be changed..

Other than that, location is perfect and the cleaniness is always there...Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeroless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Marco Polo is a full-service hotel with large, comfortable rooms. The staff speak English pretty well. It's in a good location in the Futian district of Shenzhen, and is more affordable than some of its nearby competitors.

Downsides:
- The thumping beats from the nightclub across the street can be heard in the rooms until at least 2 AM every night. This is not under the hotel's control, but it could be bothersome, and guests should ask for a room on the side of the hotel farthest from the nightclub.
- On the bill, there were several items marked "service charge" that I was told were actually taxes. If they are taxes, they should be listed as taxes.
- The chair at the desk in my room was too short and couldn't be adjusted upward. Only a problem if you're going to be spending a lot of time working in your hotel room (as I did).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will probably have the least nightclub noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I like the Marco Polo if I stay in Shenzhen, it is in a good location with plenty of life on the doorstep, decent restaurants, some nie bars.
The neighbourhood is good, even though quite a bit more expensive than other areas in Shenzhen, but you will feel like you are in any other major city if you stay here.
I was a bit shocked at the hotel check in as I had travelled a long way to be told my room was booked for the next week, it turned out they were wrong, i recieved no apologies, but this did not deter from a good stay in Shenzhen. You will not get hassled here like many of the other areas in Shenzhen, you will feel entirely safe here.

Room Tip: You will be shown to your room by a bell boy, make sure you tell him if you are not happy with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Marco Polo hotel in Shenzhen is very well located, close to Metro station and main shopping malls. It is also close to lively nightlife. The hotel itself is impressive, the room is rather good but not exceptional. For those 'nightlifers',saw an Asian customer, fighting with security guy who told him that he cannot bring guests at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SENIUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendamin W, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Shenzhen and taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#10 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
1,124 reviews
Huanggang Port
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
#63 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#20 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
2,257 reviews
Xiangmi Lake
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
#12 of 2,862 in Shenzhen
1,053 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Shenzhen

Address: 28 Fuhua 1st Road, Futian Cbd, Shenzhen 518048, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#70 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#197 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £83 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Shenzhen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Shenzhen is located in the heart of Futian Central Business District, with close proximity to the Shenzhen International Convention & Exhibition Center and Metro Subway Station. It is only 15 minutes to the Lowu Railway Station and Shenzhen Bay Port, 20 minutes to Shenzhen North Railway Station, 35 minutes to Shekou Ferry Terminal and Shenzhen Bao'an Airport, and 10 minutes to Futian/Huanggang Checkpoint. The 391 well-appointed rooms and suites are equipped with broadband Internet access, luxurious bathrooms, state-of-the-art communications and entertainment facilities. Situated on the 35th to 41st floors of the hotel, The Continental Club provides the most luxurious accommodations for travelers. The 31 function rooms including Marco Polo Ballroom and one auditorium, can accommodate up to 3000 people and provide the ideal Shenzhen venue for meetings, seminars, and social events. The hotel has 5 restaurants and bars, including the Cafe Marco, serving a fusion of "Euro-Asian-Chinese" cuisine, Margarita Bar, Connect (Lobby Lounge), Carrianna Chiu Chow Restaurant, Nishimura Japanese Restaurant and Wine & Cigar Bar Le Cru. The hotel's fully equipped Fitness Center includes a gym, sauna, and outdoor swimming pool, and hotel guests can indulge in relaxing spa treatments at the internationally renowned Pure Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marco Polo Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Marco Polo Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing