We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and location excellemnt lacking a proper bar to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #28 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rooms and location excellemnt lacking a proper bar to relax in”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a great value hotel five star service and rooms in an excellent location near to great shops restaurants and night life.
Only thing I can find negative to say about the hotel is that it lacks a real bar and the food choice is limited on western options.
However to balance this the staff are good and attentive and overall well trained

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Mr. MalcolmR52,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to China. It is our great pleasure to know that your enjoy your stay with us.

It is certainly beneficial to receive your kind suggestion regarding the food choice in our restaurant. Our culinary team shall continue to work hardly to further improve the food variety.

Dear Mr. MalcolmR52 many thanks for your valuable patronage. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Bets regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    345
    65
    19
    6
See reviews for
8
17
23
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is an excellent business hotel in an optimal location. A very short walk to many good shops and restaurants. My stay here was pleasant, problem free, and relatively inexpensive. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would stay here again if business brought me back to Shenzhen.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Mr. Alex,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your February trip to China. We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and your valuable time to share with us your nice feedback.

We are looking much forward to welcoming you come to our hotel once again in the near future. If I could be further assistance in anyway, please do not hesitate to contact me via email: Lynn.xiao@kempinski.com.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The staff is very friendly and tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you plan to stay more often in a GHA hotel you should ask for a GHA membership which gives you advantages like i.e. room upgrade, late check-out, daily newspaper in your room. If you find an oportunity for improvement, just let them know and they will be glad to implement further improvements to make your stay even better. The gym in the 5th floor is very well equipted; sometimes you need some patience with the software of the machines.
The breakfast buffet is just great; it has western food as well as chinese food. Several cooks are waiting to prepare you soups the way you want it, eggs or pancakes or....! Calculate some extra time for breakfast to make sure that you can enjoy it without running around.
After that breakfast you don't need any lunch, but dinner you can have also in the hotel's restaurants. The food is very good, but the menue and the buffet never changes and you will get bored very fast. Don't worry, in the neighborhood you will find a huge shopping mall with a lot of restaurants and at the right side of the hotel you will find a metro station. The metro is very easy to use; everything is written and anounced in English.
For sure I will come back to this fine hotel!

Room Tip: Chosing a room you should take in consideration the constructions around. Even with very good sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lausbub49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Mr. Lausbub,

It is indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen.
I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing with us your very kind and positive comments, which is a best gift after our Chinese New Year holiday.

Naturally, we are sincerely pleased that you were content with our services and wish to express that we shall endeavor to improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future. Hopefully, when you stay with us again, we have more selections in buffet as well as the A La Carte menu.

Mr. Lausbub, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I keep trying other hotels whilst in China but always come back to this one. For the price it compares well with more expensive options and the staff are great. The rooms are good and the food is generally a high standard in all restaurants.

Afternoon tea is really nice if you feel like indulging a little

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Mr. Mike,

It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen and we thank you for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your very positive comments towards our staff and our products. We shall endeavor to continuously improve in the future.

Dear Mr. Mike once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

With many thanks and best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have stayed in many Kempinski Hotels all over the world and they are always operated to a very high standard. The cleanliness is never a concern, the food delicious, and the furnishings are always elite and of a high quality. The property at Shenzhen met my expectations on these criterion. My only concern with this property is the abysmal internet sped and quality of the internet, which due to the location, may be out of their control. The wireless was < 40 kbs and the ethernet was < 60 kbs, a reminder of the 1990's. Doing business as a result with this internet speed is frustrating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobPhiladelphiaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Mr. Bob,

Thank you so much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to China. It is our great honor to receive your very kind and positive comments to our hotel and to the Kempinski Group.

Thank you so much for raising your concern regarding the slow WLAN and LAN access. We are now working closely with our service supplier. And try to solve the issue by the end of February.

Dear Mr. Bob, we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com.

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

in the last four months. I stayed at this hotel two times for many weeks. Overall, the Hotel is good: rooms are clear, staff is affable, restaurant is appreciable. But something is still missing for a 5 stars hotel: rooms are without wifi connection (the service should have been available since last december 2012 but on January 2013 is still not working), room TV remote control doesn't work (I had the opportunity to try this in more than one room), swimming pool has cold water...Little details that makes a good hotel an excellent one.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe rooms are spacious and well lighted with a beautifull city view (OCT area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Mr. piktor,

It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen and we thank you for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of long-staying accommodation in this vibrant city.

Your kind comments therein are truly appreciated yet we are naturally concerned regarding the no stable wifi connection and malfunction of the TV remote control for which I would like to take this opportunity to convey our most sincere apologies. We are now working very closely with our internet provider to improve our WLAN and LAN speed. Meanwhile our management team is looking for a good solution to solve the malfunction TV remote control issue. Dear Mr. piktor, we can assure you we shall endeavour to improve our hardware and service.

When it comes to the issue of the low swimming pool temperature, we would like to ask for your kind understanding that according to the Chinese National Standard of Swimming Pool, the swimming pool temperature should be around 24 to 26 degree, it is for the environmental friendly concern. As a Corporation with Social Responsibility, we always follow what government propose.

Dear Mr. piktor, thank you so much for your valuable patronage. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is located one minute from a subway station, few yards for a surprisingly large and modern shopping center (Costal City Mall) and in a middle of a futuristic and very clean neighborhood of imposing skyscrapers. The rooms are immaculate and spacious, the bathroom opulent and the amenities unexpectedly abundant. The breakfast is varied and takes into account the needs of all guests, Chinese and not. I eat at both restaurants (Seasons and Haitao) in the hotel and was impressed. The first serves mostly grills and seafood and features a rich buffet. I was lucky to sample what was called a Mediterranean evening (s) and the dishes were authentic, varied and well prepared and included grilled seafood, ham, salami, cheeses all imported from Italy. The Haitao is labeled as "a refined restaurant for the ultimate experience in Chinese dining"; while the food was excellent I missed the Chinese experience. The prices are not for the faint of heart but they are not outrageous. I will be back in Shenzhen quite often and will definitely make the Kempinski hotel my home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Mr. Gsol,

It is our great pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. We are so happy to know that you are content with our product and service. Thank you so much for your kind compliments regarding our good location as well as your positive feedback to our F&B outlets. We shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Mr. Gsol, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via my email address: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,
Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
Holiday Inn Shenzhen Donghua
#30 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
352 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
#13 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#7 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
1,283 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#9 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
695 reviews
Shenzhen Bay Port
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
#227 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Address: Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen Bay Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#52 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen is strategically located in Nanshan District overlooking Shenzhen Bay and set in the heart of the city's new CBD area. It has easily accessibility to Shenzhen Bao'an Airport. The Metro Line No. 2 and No. 11 Hou Hai Station is adjacent to the hotel. The hotel comprises of 384 super-king comfort beds guestrooms. All guest rooms are equipped with brand-new LCD TV set of 50 inches. It also offers the ultimate dining experience: Seasons Restaurant, Hai Tao Chinese Restaurant and The Lounge. Other hotel facilities include a Kid’s Play Ground, Business Centre, a Wellness Center, and conference facilities for your privilege events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing