We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good... Almost..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #21 of 2,742 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All good... Almost..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Back to this hotel after one year and nothing changed much after my last stay at this hotel. The pain point would still be the checking in. I'd arrived at 2+pm and was told that there were no available non-smoking rooms and was suggested to go out for lunch and be back within an hour. After one hour is up, I was told that the rooms are still not ready and the lady at the counter invited me to take a seat the sofas in front of the reception and will inform me once the room is ready. After waiting for another 30 mins or so, I went back and checked with the very same lady on the room and surprisingly was told that the room was ready. I was taken aback by the nonchalant response in how she told me the room was ready. Didn't she just told me 30 mins ago that she'll inform me when its ready? She doesn't appear to be apologetic on the long wait since I'd first arrived at the hotel. You don't encounter such mediocre service, especially the front desk, at a 5* hotel. Besides this blip, the rest of my stay at this hotel was uneventful, rooms were good, everything in working order, friendier lift attendants (improvement from last year). Altogether, if not for the unexpectedly poorer than expected standard of hospitality from the front desk staff, I would rate this hotel full marks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Jianz,

It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us again and we thank you for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

We are delightful to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the slow check-in procedure and the Front Desk staff attitude issue for which I would like to take this opportunity to convey our most sincere apologies. It is certainly beneficial to receive such constructive comments and we shall continuously endeavor to improve our services commensurate with a Kempinski Hotel.

Dear Jianz, we are looking forward to welcoming you to stay with us, so we may have the opportunity to provide you with the standard of service that hopefully, then, exceeds your expectations. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com at any time of your convenience.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    342
    62
    18
    4
See reviews for
8
15
23
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

kempinski hotel is one of the greatest hotel in shenzhen. the location is great near the underground station which you can get anywhere with. near a big plaza with many stores resturants coffee places. all you need is in 5 minths walking.
the service is very good the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is a buffet with eerything you may want.

Room Tip: club floor rooms are bigger
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank op3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear op3144,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so glad to know that you had such a enjoyable stay with us. I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind encouragement and would like to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear op3144, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

great location ( near shopping center) and the room is very clean and comfortable. the lobby is quite dim but the interior is very classy. however, some receptionists do not understand english. the food served tastes very good too. taking the cab to to the pier was within minutes. the hotel staffs were very helpful in getting a cab for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Cabbie,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to this vibrant city. We are so delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service, products and good location. Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments regarding the language issue of one of the receptionist, for which we assure you that we shall continuously endeavor to improve English level for all staff in order to be commensurate with the Kempinski standard.

Dear Cabbie, we are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We are looking much forward to welcoming you once again to stay with us.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I wanna say this is a great 5-star luxury hotel. My first stay in Kempinski and it impressed me. The room was not that spacious but makes you feel comfortable. And location of the hotel is very good, a shopping center is just next door, along with many good restaurants. It's a good choice for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt66489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments, which it is definitely a great encouragement to us and we wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Matt, we are so happy to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us this time and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

What a grand hotel - the Kempinski lives up to it's name which makes the top 100 hotels in some countries. Service, decor, size of rooms and the ambiance of a big hotel makes it a great choice while in Shenzen. Complimentary wifi, bathrobes and buffet breakfast at the Seasons. This will be the hotel of choice for me when visiting SZH!

Room Tip: Rooms are big and great. Ask for a higher floor, only for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faisal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Mr. Faisal B,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great honor to receive your very positive feedback regarding our products and service. We are so proud and happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

Dear Mr. Faisal B, we look forward to welcoming you to visit us again. If I could be of any further assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com. Once again thank you very much for your kind encouragement and see you!

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My company was recently in Shenzhen for a medical conference. We stayed at the Kempinski. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The food was very good. They offer a laundry service per day. The workout facilites and swimming pool were very nice. It is outside the city near the China border. Cabs are extremely inexpensive so you can get anywhere on a few dollars. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Felice F,

Thank you very much for choosing Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during the Medical Fair period.

It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments towards our products and service. Your nice comments make our day and we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Felice F, Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via lynn.xiao@kempinski.com.

With many thanks and best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is close to some local market places, such as Carrefour, small shopps.
Nice location, good bed on the romm, good bathtube.
Small bar, litlle bit dark, but with some good songs.
Expensive beer, but you can solve this buying at the market close to the hotel.
The service was good as well. The breakfast also very good, with a lot of options for the morning.
The dinner is very, very expensive for the size of the plate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRWanderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Mr. WRWanderley,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

Thank you for your time to share with us your valued comments which are truly appreciated. We are sincerely pleased that you were content with our services and wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

By the way Mr. WRWanderley, we are launching on-going buffet promotions providing our guests with best value for money. You could contact the restaurant for more information, if you stay with us next time.

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
#15 of 2,742 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Shenzhen Bay Port
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
Grand View Hotel Coastal City
#173 of 2,742 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#4 of 2,742 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Futian
#14 of 2,742 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Address: Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen Bay Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#15 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen is located in Nanshan District. The hotel has convenient accessibility to the Shenzhen Bay Bridge providing immediate access to Hong Kong. The hotel design was inspired by a well-known poem by Southern Song Dynasty poet Xin Qiji. To be one of the city’s leading luxury hotels, the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen comprises of 390 super-king comfort bed guestrooms featuring flat screen TV and in-bath television in all suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing