We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but poorly managed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Ranked #26 of 2,744 Hotels in Shenzhen
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    335
    159
    42
    23
See reviews for
65
75
59
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was my first stay at the Oriental Ginza. I checked in very late at night and the check in was smooth. The room exceeded my expectations at this price point. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Unfortunately as I was only in the hotel for 8 hours I cannot rate other aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_UpperWestSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon. Happy New Year !
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. Train station is just in front of the hotel. 1 of the reason that I returned to this hotel is because of the food in their Japanese restaurant kenzo, the food is still great but there were no more teppanyaki buffet at dinner unlike 2yeras ago. Nevertheless I am returning to this hotel on my next stay.
Also, there is a sports bar on the7th floor where hotel guest can play wii on a big screen, play billiard, air hockey and table soccer for free.
If you are coming from hk by train, come from lok am chau mrt station to futian port. Zhuzhilin train station entrance is in front of the hotel. If you want to look for food outside the hotel, there are a couple of restaurant and fast food at the back of the hotel. Getting taxi is not hard. Also I saw bus stop in front of the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon. Happy New Year !
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I've been going to this hotel for a few years already, mostly because of its very convenient location at the heart of Futian, right in front of the "Zhuzilin" metro station, 10 mn by taxi from Coco park and OCT. Rooms are spacious, facilities are nice (gym, yoga room, indoor pool...) and lunch buffet is a rather good value for money (138 CY plus service charges, including sashimis and a selection of fresh seafood). In summer, they also have a nice outdoor grill restaurant serving barbecued dishes and rose wine. However disappointment comes with service efficiency. Ever since there has been a change in management a few months ago, staffs are now seriously lacking efficiency and training: very average English proficiency, rather long check-in procedure, staff getting easily "lost" with modes of payment (we wanted to pay a part of our stay in cash), unable to understand room service orders through the phone etc...
Lobby could benefit from a little refresher too: dusting-off the yellowish-curtains, replacing artificial flowers by fresh ones, removing the completely useless, out-of-date "souvenirs shop" in front of the lifts (green crystal cabbage anybody...??).
While previous Management Team worked very hard to raise this hotel to 5 star standards, it seems to me now that the new Team in place is living on reputation only, and not striving for quality improvement. Unless you have a corporate rate program, I believe there are much nicer hotel options in the Futian area (JM Mariott, the new Langham etc...), much more in line with the "5 stars" standards you are in right to expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction about breakfast and carpets and so on,we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up,we hope to avoid this problem happen again. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at our hotel. We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours faithfully,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

A professionally run hotel deserves high praise. Even after a slight oversight, management was quick to compensate. Don't forget the Metro which is within easy walking distance and just across the highway. Courteous staff... what more can one say? ...maybe an extra white by the glass?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wide-eyed1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#10 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Futian
#14 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Huaqiang North
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
#79 of 2,744 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Property: Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Address: Shennan Blvd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#15 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#18 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing