We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Ranked #27 of 2,860 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 19 November 2013

One night went well at Grand Mercure went okay. Room was clean, nice and big. Not totally quiet as close to some nightlife.

I didn't do much walking around, but there does not seem to be any interesting restaurants or bars near the hotel. Had to settle for a depressing, not-so-clean KFC for a late night snack.

Breakfast was okay, but not as good value as other places. It was also very crowded with most sharing tables with people they did not know.

Be careful of concierge. When I asked about going to nearby Foshan or Guangzhou they kept telling me to take their limousines instead of the bus or train. Said they were unconfortable and crowded. I found that the train to Guangzhou is very fast, clean and quiet. Concierge must be getting a nice 'rebate' for the customers he brings in.

One thought...Shenzhen is hard to get around without a car. It was hard to find taxis. Especially at night. (Admittedly I was too lazy to figure out the subway though).

Room Tip: I stayed at back of hotel which was a bit noisy from the street. Not sure if front is better or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza!
I am glad to share that we have just enhanced our breakfast area to ensure customers' breakfast experience, you may have a better feeling on your next trip to our hotel. Actually, hotel is located just next to the METRO station that it will bring you to some interesting places within a few stops, and you can figure out on the hotel map. For the concierge staff, we will certainly enhance the training for them.
Looking forward to meet you soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PLLeehk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank IanBat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spatious and clean room; unfortunately the swimming pool was closed before official closing time (11:00 pm). I didn't have breakfast but the (seafood) dinner was quite nice, the price a little bit to the high side regarding the quality.

Minibar offers half bottle of wine (read and white) for reasonable money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bert512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza!
For your comments on the swimming pool, we have passed to the relevant department to follow up. We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I can't remember how many times I was hosted in this hotel. Since I discovered is my first option in Shenzhen. Western style hotel, well located near to a metro stations that gives you freedom to go anywhere in Shenzhen, either to Lohou or Huaqiang Rd for shopping and Shekou for have dinner and listen to good music.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jajao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza!
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service.
We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've recently spent few nights at the Oriental Ginza during a biz trip to Shenzhen. As there were no more non-smoking rooms available, my colleague and I both got upgraded to a superior room. The bed was AMAZING. Never seen such a huge bed! Really confy! The room was well equipped, but the carpet was quite stained, and seemed dirty.

Really good breakfast, with loads of choices (from Western food to Asian).

The swimming pool isn't as great as it seems...and be aware to bring your own swimming cap, otherwise you have to buy one from them.

No wifi in the room. only in the lobby. In the room, you just have the cable.

Nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoMnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza!
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hi-capa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandMercurePR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#15 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
334 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baolilai International Hotel
#24 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
448 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Haijing Jiatu Hotel
Haijing Jiatu Hotel
#39 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Address: Shennan Blvd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £57 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing