We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #4 of 2,754 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Management”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have never seen such a horrible management, they are not able to solve anything.

First they made a mistake as usual again on my breakfast (which spouse to be included) and a person came and said that he is the responsible of front office and told me that I am sorry but you need pay for it WITHOUT ANY RESEARCH on my booking amazing!!!,

and in the breakfast one of the manager came and he introduce himself that his the director or assistant director (don't remember) and he said breakfast will be removed from my bill, SUCH A JOKE OF THE MORNING, after my breakfast OF COURSE I paid the breakfast because management doesn't have any communication between each other.

The best hotel of what? let me tell you "the best hotel of "create horrible customer service"

anyways, when I went my room to take my luggage, I called front office people again to send somebody to my room to take my luggage 10 minutes nobody came, I took my luggage by myself and call a taxi and run out of this hotel.

this hotel should change to name to "self service InterCon Shenzhen" if people doing such a bad service it is not because they don't how to make it better, it is obvious that their managers (General Manager is the KEY) sleeping in their office.

it was my last time in that hotel, I will do my best to tell anybody this experience and I don't believe that, it will difficult if you are working one of the big news paper in UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielC229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We are sorry that you had an unhappy experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology. For the issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department heads, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure such incident not happen again in the future. Many thanks for you to speak it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    399
    57
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
51
48
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This Spanish-themed Intercontinental used to be my favorite hotel in China but the hospitality services provided seems to have slid a notch since my memorable visits in 2009. The guest relations officers can be quite testy, one female GRO even challenged me in English after failing an argument in Mandarin Chinese, so I no longer check-in at the spot reserved for Ambassador program members. To be fair, the front desk did, after some prompting, accommodate me to a suite upgrade and provided the full club lounge benefits on my most recent weekend stay, a PRC points redemption stay no less. Free minibar privileges, 4 pm check-out, and club lounge benefits were always honored for Royal Ambassadors in my experience. There was this one discrepancy amongst the staffs as to if the dry cleaning allowance (which is a part of club lounge benefits) are specifically excluded for upgraded guests, so verify and note who you asked to avoid potential heartburn over the issue at check-out. The indoor pool and fitness center on property is managed separately, so while the facilities are nice (including loaner work-out clothes – but no shoes), forget about hospitality services there, the experience every single time is that the workers there are uniformly unprofessional and work hard to get by doing as little as possible. With many F&B options on-site, I would contend that the food offerings are not as good as three years ago, but still pricey and adequate. If you like bulls, this is the hotel for you, bulls on uniforms, paintings and caricatures of bulls adorned throughout the hotel. The subway station is directly in front of the hotel and there is an art museum adjacent to hotel.

The rooms are spacious with tall ceilings and a large patio, many rooms have great views of the manmade beach on property or of the Galleon Bar, which is an over-sized replica of a historic ship. There is a difference in the décor of the rooms on the East (lighter colored rooms and darker colored/more enclosed feeling bathrooms) vs the West (darker themed rooms with lighter/more open bathrooms) wings, I personally prefer the room décor of the West wing. The 8-story hotel is spawned out in a zig-zag shape, it could be a very long trek to some rooms so confirm at check-in the location relative to the elevators; note many suites are at the ends of the hallways. The bathrooms contain TVs (except in the suite bathroom for some reason) and the shallow tubs in the rooms are big enough for two to spread out together in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We are sorry that you had an unhappy experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology. For the issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department heads, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure such incident not happen again in the future. Many thanks for you to speak it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

5* feeling hotel. Plenty of staff, great rooms, location and restaurants. Cant complain about anything apart from the cheesy mock Spanish "look and feel".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecossebdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you again for staying with us, and we will look forward to your return in a near future. InterContinental Shenzhen is the first Spanish themed luxury hotel in China, and committed to deliver exceptional service and outstanding experiences to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in a deluxe double room with our 2,5 and 7 yr. old kids and loved it. Bathrooms are huge with bath big enough for the four of us. Missing english language children tv channels was sonly minus. Swimming pool outside not open but looked spectacular with the life-size pirate ship and the slides! Indoor pool wonderful and huge like everything in the hotel. Went to close by Window of the World (fun but quite run down) and Happy Valley Amusement park (great rides but bring your own food if you don't like chinese and if your kids are blond like mine they will be one of the main attractions to the chinese visitors). The Brazilian restaurant in the hotel had some of the best meat I ever had. Breakfast is completely over the top and really worth the money. Service is good. Lots of staff everywhere. Will def go back for another weekend to enjoy the outdoor pool and the watermark in Happy Valley.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwendolynHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. It is very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. This further encourages us to keep up our commitments to deliver exceptional service to our guests. Look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Probably one of the two or three best hotels I've ever stayed in. I've been twice for a conference and it hasn't disappointed. Rooms are MASSIVE and beautifully appointed. Bathroom is wonderful, with a fantastic rain shower that's hard to tear yourself away from. The hotel itself is also large, with a funky Spanish ship motif and tons of restaurants. Staff is very nice. A waitress at the bar accidentally spilled a beer on me and the front desk arranged to have it dry cleaned overnight. By the time I came back to the room after breakfast, the pants were cleaned and hanging in my closet. A great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your favorable comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your satisfaction is the best prize to us. Look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

this is i think one of the best luxurious hotel i had evered stay. Rooms were really big and the facilities were superb. I like the horn in each and every room. the food in the buffet area is simply the best. I also like the uniforms of their staff.

being able to speak mandarin. check in and check out was a breeze. as an Intercontinental Royal Ambassador, our rooms are upgraded by 2 notch and we were able to ransack the mini bar. Not to mention they check me in my room and did not get approval from my credit card or maybe they did without my knowledge

it was one of my most memorable stay hotel ever

Room Tip: I am not sure but my room is simply the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasonteh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are so glad that you enjoyed our facility and service. Being the first Spanish themed luxury hotel in China, InterContinental Shenzhen is committed to bring wonders to our guests. Look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I goto shenzhen very often but i have never stayed in such a warm, nice, hospitable hotel in Shenzhen. The rooms are very nice and spacious.

The staff is extremely courteous.

The rooms very extremely comfortable. I would definately recommend this hotel.

The hotels location is also very good. It is located right next to the subway station.

The restaurants in the hotel are very good and the food is great.

Although i didnot have time to visit the hotel spa, but i heard that the spa is one of the best in shenzhen.

Overall a wonderfull experience.

Room Tip: Take a room near the elevators otherwise you have to take a long walk to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your compliment. Meanwile, we are happy to learn that you are satisfied with our facility and service. Look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
836 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#5 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#8 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
245 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#9 of 2,754 in Shenzhen
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Property: InterContinental Shenzhen
Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#48 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing