We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #4 of 2,767 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Va
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, nice location”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The decor is not what you would expect in a business district in China - the Spanish theme seems out of place - but it does add visual interest (the Galleon Bar is actually IN a Galleon!) but does not detract from the excellent service or amenities of the hotel. Rooms are very spacious and well thought out. The bathroom was enormous and the in-room safe and iron/ironing board always welcome. Elevators were amazingly quick, so no issues with what floor you are on. The conference center is also well located, but Wi-Fi at the hotel is spotty. Consider bringing your own - however we were at a business conference so likely all of our attendees were taxing the hotels resources.

The location is close to many businesses but within walking distance to a shopping center but people who went reported there were not real deals available there.

Breakfast is a huge buffet with made-to-order eggs. Sometimes the chef doesn't quite finish the eggs so keep an eye out and maybe ask to cook them a bit longer. Coffee was hit or miss and not sure how to fix that. Sometimes we had coffee right away and other times it took 15 minutes to get a cup. Minor issue however.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if the highway construction is still going on. Drilling/pounding doesn't sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comment, we are glad to hear your compliment about our nice facility, excellent service and amenities. For the Wi-Fi issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure a better services in the future! Thank you again for your precious time and comments. Wish everything goes well with your work and life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    403
    58
    18
    6
See reviews for
75
55
50
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

There are many hotels in China and Shenzhen with good service and 5-star amenities but this one takes the cake. The Gym, pool, dining facilities were all top-notch, and service was unfailingly spectacular. The Galleon Bar was just amazing, the only downside was it was kind of empty on a weeknight - but that didn't stop the band from playing on. The rooms were true 5-star with fruit, water, jacuzzi tubs, balconies, the works.

During Lunch there was a huge rush in the cafe and the head chef himself came out to lend a hand and scoop gelato. They also have decent beer on tap, hard to find in China. I also had dinner in the Chinese restaurant and it was excellent. Expensive yes, but if you want cheap there are plenty of good options in Shenzhen.

It has a huge pool and sandy beach and would be a great place if the family were along for a day or to.

Only downside would be the silly costumes the bellmen wear, given the level of professionalism and attention to detail this is really unnecessary.

Clearly a spectacularly run hotel, puts the Beijing Intercontinental to shame,

Room Tip: Some rooms have a LONG WALK. Request a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your time and detailed descriptions of our marvelous facilities, professional amenities and your observation towards our Spanish styled uniforms. Wish next time when you step into our hotel, you would be inspired by our lobby ambassador in elegant long dress. Wish you all the best with work and life! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chastre
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was really pleased with this hotel
Magnificent place. At first I was turned off by the costumes and the entry decor. Toreros wearing pink pants, and bulls head everywhere.... Am I in China?
The the rest of the hotel is great. Quite expensive drinks, if you want to have wine or cocktails; you see the prices rocketing. Service is good though, and you have plenty of choice when it comes to eat.
I tried three restaurants and they where all delicious. Service always great.
The pool is very nice for families with young children, since their is an artificial beach and area for kids to play safely. There is a a big galion in the middle of the pool, reminding us that this land was belonging to the sea not so long ago. In the galion you find a restaurant and a disco.
The rooms are clean and spacious. Especially the bathroom; I think I never saw something so spacious in my life. The bath is huge. All is new and very well maintained.

I had a massage at the spa and it was a great experience. The personel is professional and kind, the ambiance relaxing has you would expect in that kind of premices. I would recommend it as well.

It is a great hotel for family since there is a lot of attractions for them around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartineVei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comment and we are really glad you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to your return in the future. Meanwhile, we would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy Mother's Day for this coming Sunday on May 13th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have never seen such a horrible management, they are not able to solve anything.

First they made a mistake as usual again on my breakfast (which spouse to be included) and a person came and said that he is the responsible of front office and told me that I am sorry but you need pay for it WITHOUT ANY RESEARCH on my booking amazing!!!,

and in the breakfast one of the manager came and he introduce himself that his the director or assistant director (don't remember) and he said breakfast will be removed from my bill, SUCH A JOKE OF THE MORNING, after my breakfast OF COURSE I paid the breakfast because management doesn't have any communication between each other.

The best hotel of what? let me tell you "the best hotel of "create horrible customer service"

anyways, when I went my room to take my luggage, I called front office people again to send somebody to my room to take my luggage 10 minutes nobody came, I took my luggage by myself and call a taxi and run out of this hotel.

this hotel should change to name to "self service InterCon Shenzhen" if people doing such a bad service it is not because they don't how to make it better, it is obvious that their managers (General Manager is the KEY) sleeping in their office.

it was my last time in that hotel, I will do my best to tell anybody this experience and I don't believe that, it will difficult if you are working one of the big news paper in UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielC229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We are sorry that you had an unhappy experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology. For the issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department heads, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure such incident not happen again in the future. Many thanks for you to speak it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This Spanish-themed Intercontinental used to be my favorite hotel in China but the hospitality services provided seems to have slid a notch since my memorable visits in 2009. The guest relations officers can be quite testy, one female GRO even challenged me in English after failing an argument in Mandarin Chinese, so I no longer check-in at the spot reserved for Ambassador program members. To be fair, the front desk did, after some prompting, accommodate me to a suite upgrade and provided the full club lounge benefits on my most recent weekend stay, a PRC points redemption stay no less. Free minibar privileges, 4 pm check-out, and club lounge benefits were always honored for Royal Ambassadors in my experience. There was this one discrepancy amongst the staffs as to if the dry cleaning allowance (which is a part of club lounge benefits) are specifically excluded for upgraded guests, so verify and note who you asked to avoid potential heartburn over the issue at check-out. The indoor pool and fitness center on property is managed separately, so while the facilities are nice (including loaner work-out clothes – but no shoes), forget about hospitality services there, the experience every single time is that the workers there are uniformly unprofessional and work hard to get by doing as little as possible. With many F&B options on-site, I would contend that the food offerings are not as good as three years ago, but still pricey and adequate. If you like bulls, this is the hotel for you, bulls on uniforms, paintings and caricatures of bulls adorned throughout the hotel. The subway station is directly in front of the hotel and there is an art museum adjacent to hotel.

The rooms are spacious with tall ceilings and a large patio, many rooms have great views of the manmade beach on property or of the Galleon Bar, which is an over-sized replica of a historic ship. There is a difference in the décor of the rooms on the East (lighter colored rooms and darker colored/more enclosed feeling bathrooms) vs the West (darker themed rooms with lighter/more open bathrooms) wings, I personally prefer the room décor of the West wing. The 8-story hotel is spawned out in a zig-zag shape, it could be a very long trek to some rooms so confirm at check-in the location relative to the elevators; note many suites are at the ends of the hallways. The bathrooms contain TVs (except in the suite bathroom for some reason) and the shallow tubs in the rooms are big enough for two to spread out together in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We are sorry that you had an unhappy experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology. For the issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department heads, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure such incident not happen again in the future. Many thanks for you to speak it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

5* feeling hotel. Plenty of staff, great rooms, location and restaurants. Cant complain about anything apart from the cheesy mock Spanish "look and feel".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecossebdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you again for staying with us, and we will look forward to your return in a near future. InterContinental Shenzhen is the first Spanish themed luxury hotel in China, and committed to deliver exceptional service and outstanding experiences to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in a deluxe double room with our 2,5 and 7 yr. old kids and loved it. Bathrooms are huge with bath big enough for the four of us. Missing english language children tv channels was sonly minus. Swimming pool outside not open but looked spectacular with the life-size pirate ship and the slides! Indoor pool wonderful and huge like everything in the hotel. Went to close by Window of the World (fun but quite run down) and Happy Valley Amusement park (great rides but bring your own food if you don't like chinese and if your kids are blond like mine they will be one of the main attractions to the chinese visitors). The Brazilian restaurant in the hotel had some of the best meat I ever had. Breakfast is completely over the top and really worth the money. Service is good. Lots of staff everywhere. Will def go back for another weekend to enjoy the outdoor pool and the watermark in Happy Valley.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwendolynHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. It is very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. This further encourages us to keep up our commitments to deliver exceptional service to our guests. Look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#7 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#6 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#10 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Property: InterContinental Shenzhen
Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#40 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing