We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the Best Hotel in SE Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #7 of 2,866 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I live in Bangkok and do a lot of traveling around SE Asia. In my opinion this hotel is one of the best in SE Asia. In fact, it might even get my vote for number 1. Seriously. For comparison....I am gauging it against the Hyatt in Hongkong and Singapore, the Penninsula in Hong Kong and Fullerton/Fullerton Bay hotels in Singapore. I would have to rate this hotel above all of these. Granted the other hotels have major "cool factor", but this hotel has so many things that I think trump the others. I have been staying in the Suite rooms here with my Ambassador club upgrades. For about $225 a night this place is amazing. Better than an $800 room at the Penninsula in Hong Kong. The rooms are fantastic, first class service (even though the language barrier is big here), amazing gym, great spa, fantastic pool. Everything. Also the restaurants are great too. Pippett is first class and uber-cool. Plus there are multiple other restaurants here too including a Brazilian Steak house, Chinese and Thai. The location is also great. This part of Shenzhen is super nice and this hotel is located right next to a major Amusement part. Tons of fun. Trust me, this place is really amazing. Yes, it is a Spanish theme which is a little weird for China, but still its one of the best hotels in SE Asia. Guaranteed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room because the Chinese are big smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your commnets, it's very encouraging and I will share your compliments with our staff. We are honored to provide the best service to every guest to make their journey in Shenzhen extraodinary.
Thanks again! Look forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

It's pricey, and in some areas, the price is worth it. The newly renovated rooms are wonderful (though there are still some rough edges), the fitness center is a dream, and the lobby lounge is a pretty nice place for a coffee or a drink with colleagues.

Some areas still need some work. Check-in took 20 minutes, followed by an hour wait for the room (at around 5pm), avoid the western selections when ordering room service, in China your always better ordering Chinese dishes.

The Spanish theme is a bit much for my tastes, but this is Shenzhen. Nothing is subtle

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your compliment. InterContinental Shenzhen strive for perfection and ensure exceptional stay for every guest. Look forward to your return in a near future. Wish you Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A hotel with no more than seven floors or perhaps eight, surrounded by a fantastic landscape, gives one a market place atmosphere at the lobby lounge and the restaurant downstairs, well-trained boys in the concierge team, an okay front-end team, a good house-keeping team and just an okay executive lounge team....nothing much to complain about except.....prices-oh dear! Extremely high for this hotel. The hotel is just in front of the OCT metro exit C, a very very easy way to travel places in Shenzhen. There is a nice culture park just next door and a very good "Window of the world" just next metro stop; easy access to main train station and airport, that was one great thing of this hotel. Staff are good but need more life in them as they seem to be more plastic. Business center functions well so does the swimming pool indoor and outdoor apart from the fitness center, shops, spa, etc.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Many thanks for your compliment. InterContinental Shenzhen is committed to deliver memorable experience to all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to your return in the future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We made a trip to Galleon to experience the Spanish food this bar has to offer. The bar was difficult to find on our own but we managed to find it with some help from the extremely helpful hotel staff.

Service was a challenge as the staff (one who spoke English very well) could not seem to get our order right and whatever we tried to initially order was not available either a bit frustrating since we traveled out of our way to experience the Spanish food here.

Our table and bench had not been cleaned from its previous customers and was sticky with food crumbs all over. The food itself was okay nothing spectacular. There were some Spanish named dishes and one of our two servers had a hard time with the names of the dishes despite pointing to them on the menu.

There is live music (pop/rap) and the band leader is personable off stage while the rest of the band seems quite socially awkward. There is a DJ that plays between sets with music much too loud for the handful of people that were in the cavernous room.

All in all, I don't think my friends and I are planning to go back to Galleon in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoabliss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your comment. In regard of the point you mentioned, we will take an investigation and make sure further enhance service skills of some of our staff, so as to ensure a smooth and perfect experience at Galleon upon your next visit. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Shenzehn Intercontinental is a very good property and an apt locations for conferences, conventions and meetings. There is abundant choice of restaurants and cuisines. The spa and the two pools are the best feature the property .

Room Tip: The pool facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for compliment. InterContinental Shenzhen is committed to bring exceptional experience to every guest. Look forward to your next stay in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the staff barely speaks english. Those that do are not proficient. They do try to be as kind as they can which is a positive point. The hotel itself is not run down, but I've been here several times and I see that things are not as well kept as before. The club lounge only serves drinks for a very few hours, if you get there after 730 you'll have to pay for any alcoholic drink, even if it's just a beer or wine.

It's an ok hotel to stay at but it seems like there might be better options. Next time I come to Shenzhen I will most likely stay elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Many thanks for your comment. We will take actions to ensure our staff better communicate with English speaking guests. InterContinental Shenzhen is committed to improve every detail to ensure exceptional experience to every guest. Look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I am glad to share my beautiful experience at this property.
Great staff, specially Coco - Assistant Room Manager and Tom- Duty Manager.
Great value. Amazing property. Great Food.

Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred Z, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your compliment. We are glad you enjoyed our service, and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
1,054 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#9 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
1,166 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#20 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
The St. Regis Shenzhen
#5 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
537 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,866 in Shenzhen
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#48 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: £137 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing